We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ferienhotel Sonnenhof
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Zell im Zillertal
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Hotel is friendly, cosy, home from home atmosphere, with great food, lovely rooms with balconies which is a first for me on a skiing trip, and also the facilities were great including a lovely pool and spa extras. I had a massage and this was so nice! Hotel is overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 38 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful week staying at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the facilities were excellent. We stayed half board and the evening meals were wonderful - we all put on weight during the week!!! Every other night they have a "themed" menu e.g. Italian, Barbeque, Austrian etc. There were plenty of things to see and do in and around the are and I would recommend the hotel to anyone thinking of a holiday in Austria.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank britguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We were on vacation for 10 days in this hotel.

The stay was very comfortable. The food was very well and pricing for drinks were at the average level. Whole off the staff were very friendly for guests and the kids.

To be short: we had a very nice holiday thanks to this hotel and all the accomodations in the area.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Koen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We had to stay overnight because my car broke down. The garage in this city found a hotel. I was there with my family, (wife, three small kids, mum). The hotel had one room left and put all of us in it with some extra beds. The next day morning our car was fixed and we checked out. I had expected a pretty expensive price but was not prepared for this. I.e. to my surprise the bill exceeded 500 euros, 514 to be exact. They charged per person so that they were able to get this ridiculous price. This was the most expensive room I ever stayed and I have stayed in some pretty nice places around the globe. I did not dare to tell my wife how this hotel robbed our salary and took advantage of our emergency situation. Shame on you hotel Sonnenhof. You are our black page in our beautiful book of Austria, a beautiful country. Upon return I tried to do some research on the normal hotel prices for this "hotel". Apparently however it is always sold out, so no prices can be checked. This is probably how they can rip off more innocent tourist who do not expect to get abused. To be sure, this hotel is nothing special. It is just an old place, with some friendly staff and the food is relatively ok. It is just the rip-off culture of the management that is atrocious. I will never stay there again, even if I would have to sleep in the garage itself.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel and you cannot go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PopeyeCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

This hotel is one of the best in Tirol! Great place to stay, friendly family-style reception and beautiful surroundings accompany you on your relaxing holiday. The kids will love it! The location in one off the most beautiful valleys in Tirol adds up to the experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin_Wauters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017
Thank 8kiki10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias W, Inhaber at Ferienhotel Sonnenhof, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank andreatschernisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias W, Inhaber at Ferienhotel Sonnenhof, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zell im Zillertal
0.5 mi away
Das Posthotel
Das Posthotel
#2 of 10 in Zell im Zillertal
90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lieblingsplatz, mein Tirolerhof
Lieblingsplatz, mein Tirolerhof
#5 of 10 in Zell im Zillertal
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Alpenhof
Hotel Gasthof Alpenhof
#6 of 10 in Zell im Zillertal
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
THERESA Wellness Geniesser Hotel
THERESA Wellness Geniesser Hotel
#1 of 10 in Zell im Zillertal
236 reviews
3.4 mi away
Das Kaltenbach - ApartHotel
Das Kaltenbach - ApartHotel
#1 of 6 in Kaltenbach
74 reviews
2.8 mi away
Romantic Hotel Alpenblick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferienhotel Sonnenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferienhotel Sonnenhof

Address: Rohrerstrasse 47, Zell im Zillertal 6280, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Zell im Zillertal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Zell im Zillertal
Price Range: $171 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ferienhotel Sonnenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ferienhotel Sonnenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing