We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawltyesque”
Review of Hotel Neuwirt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Neuwirt
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Zell im Zillertal
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fawltyesque”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This is a family run hotel and I can attest to the fact that their barely concealed rudeness and unhelpfulness makes Fawlty Towers look like the destination of your dreams. The hotel itself has shortcomings; no soap in the rooms, no hairdyer, one small mirror in a postage-stamp of a bathroom but none in the main room, no bedside light for one of the twin beds and having to sleep with my head away from the window because of the draught. Other rooms were bigger, but if you get one of the smaller ones, then swinging a cat could be a messy business. Breakfast never varied from cereals, with ham, cheese and boiled eggs and dinner was served early, between 6 and 7.30pm. We tended to eat around 7.15pm and the starter salads were often empty and the staff liked to remind us that they had been working since 6.30am and wanted to depart, so would we leave the table as soon as we had finished our meal. Dinner was without any choice and similar to uninspired school dinners. If you need only calories for skiing and a roof over your head, then this is the place for you, but if you are looking for a warm and friendly, cosy, Austrian welcome, then it's to be avoided.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath or a balcony as these are bigger on the whole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
11
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I travelled with a group of friends to this hotel and for the cost it is value for money, the hotel is well positioned with ski bus a very short walk as well as bars and the supermarket.
Be aware for those liking the apres ski it is a bus ride away and evening meal time is very strict at 18:00 to 19:30 which we found restrictive especially if using other ski areas. Food is satisfactory, whilst appearing to be lean portions you can ask for more and it is readily supplied.
Some rooms are small and basic, the better rooms are on the front and also away from the very loud church bells at 7.15 every morning.
3 of our group had skis stolen from the boot room, not the only hotel to suffer in this way, and the management allowed us to take skis to the rooms, very rare! A note on this, go straight to the ski hire shop if you are hiring and let them take it up with the hotel insurance, you will also need to get a police report. For your own skis, get the police and hotel involved together.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony room or away from the church side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

We travelled with Crystal ski and arrived at the hotel by midday Saturday. This allowed us to get a half day skiing on the Saturday so all in all we managed to get a good 7 days of skiing. The decor of the hotel is typical for this region and the hotel is kept immaculately clean. The rooms are slightly tired and basic but are large and clean. The beds were comfortable with good quality pillows and duvets. The rooms were warm with a good supply of hot water and a really high pressure shower.

The food was good quality Tyrolean fare, though the portions were a little bit small. Some of the other guests found the food quality to be poor but all 4 of us in our group always felt that the food was very tasty. There did seem to be some issues with trying to get some tap water. We were initially refused tapwater but were then given some after we bought a bottle of wine, which we did each day. Some of the other guests were refused tapwater; the management need to realise that this causes a lot of resentment amongst guests who are not prepared to pay £5 for a bottle of water. People are more likely to stay around in the bar and drink if they create a bit of goodwill here.

The staff are lovely here and work really hard to make sure that you have a great stay. Andeas is a wealth of knowledge when it comes to the skiing and there is a nice family atmosphere to the hotel.

The breakfasts were made up of cold meats, bread and cheese plus cereals and yoghurts; a really good start to the day. The skiing was excellent. The ski bus leaves from just over the road and there is easy access to several ski areas using the train as well. The apres ski isn't huge but mayerhofen is nearby if you need a night out. Zell am Ziller is a place for couples and people wanting a nice relaxed beer or glass of wine in the evenings.

All in all, a really good stay. We would definitely go back here for a low cost, good quality, no frills stay. The staff do go out of there way for you and they were really kind in providing breakfast for us at 0500hrs on the day we were catching our flight home.

A highly recommended place to stay for some great skiing and a quiet nightlife.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FeelgoodLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

We stayed here for a week with Crystal Ski holidays after booking last minute.(package for under £400) The Gasthof Neuwirt is in the centre of Zell am Ziller, close to the small selection of bars, restaurants and a well stocked supermarket. Pro Zell ski hire shop is just round the corner and VERY helpful. The ski bus stops virtually opposite the hotel (the stop is called DORFMITTE on the red line - took us a while to work that out!) The main apres ski is at the base of the "blue" gondola with the last bus back about 5:30pm. (or get a cab, it's not far)
Without exception the staff at the hotel were delightful. They are hard workers too. Often we saw the same people closing up the bar at night and serving breakfast in the morning. We even got served a little breakfast in the lobby before our 5am coach home. Andreas manages the lounge in the evening and has a great sense of humour. The drinks were reasonably priced (you will need to settle in cash at the end of your stay - no cards). The food was nice. Typical fare for this type of hotel. Something different every night with a soup course and a dessert. (plus help yourself salad) Breakfast was plentiful with cheese, ham, eggs, cereals, yoghurt, breads, toast, jams, spreads, juice, tea coffee.
Room was basic with austrian twin, feather duvets/pillows, wardrobe, small table and stools, juliet balcony (enough to leave a few bottles of drink outside in the cold) Bathroom had generous shower (always hot water), sink and loo. Room was well heated and double glazed, but you can open the top of the door for ventilation.
Note the hotel allows smoking in the bar and rooms.
The ski room is warm, with overnight heated boot holders and lockable ski rack (though crime is low here evidently)
We found the hotel quiet after about 11pm and before the church bells ring at 7:30am to get you out of bed for that first lift!
There were some large groups here but I would recommend this hotel more for smaller groups, families and people who aren't looking for a big apres ski party but are more in to skiing and being looked after like you are family. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonKazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Neuwirt with my wife and another couple during a weeks skiing. Whilst the slopes in the Zillertal were great and the buses and trains made getting to and from the slopes very easy it was the charm and hospitatlity of the Egger family that completed our successfull holiday. I had seen reviews stating the hotel was tired and needed refurbishing but the interior and decorations were inkeeping with the culture and very comfortable; the staff took pride in cleaning the public areas every day. The food was good and although the main portions were not large they were sufficient when combined with the fresh salad. Some other guests complained about not being served tap water, but we were always given free tap water during our meals though we often ordered beer or wine with our meal. Since their profit margins must be slight I certainly don't begrudge them hoping customers will order beer and wine. I would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DM77_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

We stayed at the hotel Neuwirt for the first week in February, we were two couples and 2 teenage boys, (14 & 16). We arrived late in the evening due to the coach having to wait in the airport car park for a delayed flight, something that Crystal havn't yet managed to work around! We were served a bowl of soup and a cheese toasty as dinner had already finished.
The rooms were very basic, though ours did have a telephone & who needs a tv on holiday? Bathroom a little dated but clean, separate toilet with no sink other than the one in the bathroom! We were on the church side but the bells didn't bother us as we used them as our "alarm call".

Breakfast: very basic, yoghurt, cheese, ham, cornfakes, muesli, toast, juice, tea, coffee, boiled eggs & bread rolls etc but no fruit....fresh or canned, we bought some from the Spar which is about 100m away to take into the dining room with us.

Dinner: Soup, salad, basic main course, (Weiner schnitzel & chips, stew with rice, lasagne, ) dessert a bit weird some days.....yoghurt??? stewed apple????

The problem we had with the food was that we always seemed to be having to ask for the bowls to be re-filled, both at breakfast and dinner, there was only 6 very small slices of thin bread at dinner to eat with the soup as well (for the 6 of us), the boys did ask for more but the waiting staff were reluctant to bring them more .We by passed this by taking some of the breakfast rolls back to the room and bringing them down again for dinner.

The one thing that really annoyed us was that when we asked for tap water with our evening meal the lady of the house insisted that we paid €5.20 per bottle for mineral water. As we were drinking 3 litre between us each evening this would have cost us about £140 for the week! We only bought one bottle at the start of the week ( you should be able to guess what we did then?) Our bar bill for the 6 of us came to £430 as it was!

Ski room: this was in the cellar, you have to walk around the central heating system of the hotel but it was lovely and warm.

On a final note: Andreas and his father are lovely hosts, we had a fabulous time on superb ski slopes, the weather was excellent and we all came back with nothing broken. This hotel is a good place for a budget break but could be vastly better with a few "tweaks".

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzysue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2010

Two enthusiastic skiing ladies in our mid-fifties, we stayed at the Hotel Neuwirt as the result of an internet search for a good value budget holiday. Which is exactly what we got. The hotel is a little outdated with no frills (forget the tv, telephone or hairdryer in the room) but it is very clean, our beds were comfortable, and the Egger family are congenial hosts. Food may be basic but it is plentiful and good value. The bar area has lots of tables and guests congregate there after skiing to enjoy the best gluwein in the resort and after dinner for coffee, drinks, to play cards, read a book or just chat.. The ski bus stops virtually outside and the Zillertal area is only 5 minutes away. Be mindful that the church next door rings its bell at 7.30 every morning except Wednesday when the early call is 6.45!

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skilady56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell im Zillertal hotels
0.1 mi away
Das Posthotel
Das Posthotel
#2 of 10 in Zell im Zillertal
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lieblingsplatz, mein Tirolerhof
Lieblingsplatz, mein Tirolerhof
#4 of 10 in Zell im Zillertal
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Alpenhof
Hotel Gasthof Alpenhof
#7 of 10 in Zell im Zillertal
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ferienhotel Sonnenhof
Ferienhotel Sonnenhof
#5 of 10 in Zell im Zillertal
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant  Brau
Hotel-Restaurant Brau
#3 of 10 in Zell im Zillertal
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apart-Hotel-Garni Strasser
Apart-Hotel-Garni Strasser
#1 of 38 in Zell im Zillertal
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neuwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neuwirt

Property: Hotel Neuwirt
Address: Unterdorf 12, Zell im Zillertal 6280, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Zell im Zillertal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Zell im Zillertal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Neuwirt 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
gemütlich und zwanglos - Wir freuen uns Sie bei uns zu begrüßen und wünschen Ihnen einen angenehmen Aufenthalt. Wir sind direkt im Zentrum von Zell am Ziller und kann im Winter ohne Übertreibung als Herz der Zillertaler Winterskipisten bezeichnet werden. Der ideale zentrale Ausgangspunkt zu den Pisten von Zell, Kaltenbach und Mayrhofen. Im Sommer erwartet Sie in der Zillertal Arena das Fichtenschloss und zahlreiche andere Sommeraktivitäten wie Mountainbiken oder Golf auf der 18 Loch Meisterschaftsanlage von Kaltenbach/Uderns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Neuwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing