We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, the cleanest hostel seen in Thailand!”
Review of Salsa Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salsa Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

On my way to Koh Tao, I stopped over in Salsa Hostel for one night. The hostel in general was a pleasant surprise! The receptionist was extremely nice & helpful, and spoke remarkably good English. During my brief stay I asked him probably a thousand questions, yet he would always give me a thorough, information-packed answer with a smile on his face.

In addition, Salsa hostel was probably the cleanest I ever saw in Thailand! I was almost embarrassed to walk around with my bare traveler feet, as every corner of the hostel seemed spotless. It literally meets the Scandinavian standards in every way - unexpectedly amazing! The air-con dorm came with a wide, comfy bed and a big blanket to catch a good night sleep.

There is great value for money not only for the previously mentioned reasons but also for the fact that an all-you-can-eat buffet breakfast is included in the price!! I was so happy to wake up in the morning, walk down to the open-air lobby just to find the reception desk filled with fruits, toasts, muesli, eggs, coffee... everything you need to get your morning started before you take off on a boat towards the islands!

Salsa Hostel is THE place to stay in Chumphon!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalsaHostel, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Hi Elisa,

Thanks for your review. It was more than a pleasure to service a guest like you. Thanks and look forwards to your return.

Cheers!
Sood : D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 158 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

Definitely a wonderful choice: the owner is very friendly, kind, helpful and warm-hearted, he speaks very good English and he is truly willing to help his guests with just about everything! The rooms and toilets are very clean, you have all the facilities you need, and a very nice breakfast is included in the cheap price of the rooms! We really had a very good time and we do recommend this hostel to everybody! Thank you Sood, best wishes from Romania!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalsaHostel, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Hi Stefi,

Thank you very much for review. You are also excellent and wonderful. Thank you again for spending you time in Chumphon before heading to you next destination. I hope our path may crossed again.

Cheers and best regards from Chumphon

Sood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stayed in the dorm for one night in order to be able to catch the morning ferry.
The dorms are of a good size, 8 people per room. The beds are very comfortable and everything was clean. The AC however, cools the room way too much and apparently can't be adjusted. There are enough toilets and showers which were very modern and clean. Small lockers are provided in the hallway but they are pretty tiny so that a laptop probably won't fit. The dorms facing the street are quite noisy at night, make sure to bring earplugs.
Upon arrival you're provided with some blanket/towel like thing, but only one. So unless you bring your own towel you'll have to use it for both showering and sleeping.
There is a very nice common area upstairs. In the morning they provide a good breakfast starting at 5 am so you can eat something before you are taken to the ferry.
Unfortunately the whole building is full of mosquitoes, even the dorms.
The location is great. Walking distance to the train station, night market, restaurants and 7-eleven. The owner is very nice, speaks good English and can also arrange bus, ferry and plane tickets

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank Annika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalsaHostel, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Hi Annika,

Thanks for review. I really appreciate it. I am terribly sorry to learn that my air con was too cold for you. The default room temperature is set at 25 degree celcius which in fact the real temperature is warmer than the temperature when there are more people in the room.

Unfortunately that I don't leave an a/c remote control in the dorm (except private room) because there was a problem in the past that different guests in a same room preferred their own adjusted temperatures; one preferred 18 degree, another preferred 27 degree and another preferred 24 degree. I therefore set the room temperature at 25 degree which I believe it is the most comfortable temperature. However, guests can ask for extra blanket if they still find it is too cold for them.

The small locker that we provided fits a normal size of a computer notebook unless you have a super size one. However, I am looking for a chance to replace a new bigger locker that could fit the whole backpack so that all guests can store their whole stuff in there.

Thanks indeed. Every feedback counts and I will bring those negatives to improve my service.

Cheers,
Sood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I spent 3 nights at Salsa Hostel in the dorm room, and really enjoyed my stay. The hostel itself is immaculately clean, and has a couple communal areas throughout the building to hang out. The breakfast buffet (included in the price) is the icing on the cake. Sood was super friendly and was more than willing to help me explore Chumphon and plan for my next destination. Khop khun krab Sood!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbg0927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalsaHostel, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Hi Cameron,

Thanks and wish you a good journey through. Cheers/ Sood (owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I recommend the Salsa Hostel to anyone looking for a great, clean, cheap, central place to stay with really helpful staff.

If we find ourselves passing through Champun again, without a doubt we'll be checking into the Salsa!

Room Tip: All rooms are quality depending on ones budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalsaHostel, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Steve,

Thanks for your review. I appreciate it and my door is always open to welcome you. Cheers/ Sood (owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Location
It's a 10 minute walk from Chumphon's train station and five minutes from the station where minivans arrive from Surat Thani. It's also located on the street where the night market's set up, perfect to get meals. There are two restaurants about 100 metres from the hostel that have English menus. Cheap and good food.

Service
Wonderful service. Front desk is extremely helpful, I regret not asking his name, he helped us with train times, checked availability of tickets and recommendations. He's always open to feedback so he can update his information and help future travellers with their questions.
Bar is stocked with a wide range of beer, and wifi in the lobby and across the floors are good.

Value
We couldn't ask for more with what we paid for a room (700 baht), immaculately clean, comfortable and has all the facilities of a hotel, at a hostel price. What else could you ask for?

Room Tip: Request for a room at the back of the hostel (it's in a shophouse) if you want to avoid the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalsaHostel, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thanks for a review. Unfortunately I could not recognize who you are either. However, thank you very much for liking my work and I wish you Merry Christmas & Happy New Year. / Sood (Owner & Receptionist guy that you mentioned)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I arrived here with my brothers last night after a long train journey from Bangkok. If you walk with the station behind you, down the street which has Papa Seafood on the right hand side of the street, on the corner, and keep going, under an arc with Thai Royal family images, over the mini crossrads, keep going and Salsa Hostel is on the left hand side. There are loads of places to eat on this street, some still open towards midnight, which is when we arrived.

The guy on the front desk speaks great English and is very helpful. The hostel is immaculately clean and the big showers are great for this price range of hostel. We are staying in a dorm room, which has 3 bunkbeds, and at just under £5 per night it is really good for this money. There's a wifi box on each floor, so the signal is strong in every room :) on the second floor there is a tv and sofa and a desk with loads of tourist leaflets about Chumphon and the surrounding area.

If you're looking for a base, to move on from to get to Koh Tao, Phangan or Samui, this is great. We're staying here for a few days before going on to the islands, because it is really cheap to live and eat here, there are beaches nearby (a 30Baht taxi ride away) and loads of food choices, even vegetarian restaurants or KFC and a Pizzeria in the Mall on the opposite street if you're craving western food.

I recommend the Salsa Hostel to anyone looking for a clean, cheap, central place to stay with really helpful staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheaptraveljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalsaHostel, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Hi the Moxham,

Thanks for your review. I appreciate it a lot and wish that you guys Merry X'mas. /Sood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chumphon hotels
1 mi away
Tanisa Resort
Tanisa Resort
#3 of 21 in Chumphon
94 reviews
0.5 mi away
A-Te Chumphon Hotel
A-Te Chumphon Hotel
#1 of 21 in Chumphon
173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suriwong Chumphon Hotel
Suriwong Chumphon Hotel
#12 of 21 in Chumphon
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Euro Boutique Hotel
Euro Boutique Hotel
#2 of 46 in Chumphon
106 reviews
9.7 mi away
Chumphon Saphli Villa Beach Resort
10 mi away
De Sea Almond
De Sea Almond
#4 of 33 in Chumphon
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salsa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salsa Hostel

Address: 25 / 42 Krommaluang Rd, Tatapao | Tatapao Subdistrict, Chumphon 86000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chumphon Province > Chumphon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Chumphon
Price Range: $15 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Salsa Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salsa Hostel is a newborn hostel in Chumphon. It is the only hostel in Chumphon that offers a range of services; lodging, tours, cafe & bar. All guests can enjoy facilities provided; common room, kitchen, rooftop terrace, free wifi, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Salsa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing