We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and well located hostel for reasonable price”
Review of Salsa Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Salsa Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed only for a one night stop during our way north. Had a twin bed private room which was acutally a four bed room just for us. Hostel was found to be extremly clean and very new. Very fast WiFi everywhere in the building. Location in the middle of Chumphon is nice. Mini bus terminal is just across the street. Night market where you can buy some small snacks is along the street every night. Staff in the hostel was able to speak very good English (not usual in Thailand) and very friendly and helpful. Payed 600THB for two persons including breakfast which was fair.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stivn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoodSalsa, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2017

Hi Stivn,
Thanks for your review and hope to see you again.

Sood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Salsa Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 156 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

Nice newer hostel with a great private room on the busy main street within walking distance from the train station (unless you're carrying large bags, then you may want to take a taxi). I booked the private room online for a reasonable price (just under $20/night). Breakfast wasn't included but was included for my son who booked a bunk in a shared room (around $8 night). The private room was on the third floor (lots of stairs), was very large and was surprisingly quiet considering it was at the front of the building on the main street. It had a high ceiling, air conditioning, flat screen TV (I couldn't bring in any English channels, though), large private bathroom, fridge, large closet, and WiFi (but the WiFi didn't work very well on the third floor - I had to go down to the reception desk area to get a signal). People there were nice and recommended a modest outdoor cafe with good food on the train station side of the 7/11 (very close by). I recommend the baked rice in a clay pot with chicken and scrimp if you eat there. Street food stalls set up at dusk and a lot of it looked delicious. "Taxi" (truck with three long benches in the back and a rack on top for luggage) came around 5:30 or 6:00 in the morning to take us to the ferry - after stopping at 5 or 6 places it had more than 25 people loaded inside and on the back bumper!

Room Tip: The shared rooms with bunk beds can be noisy with people coming and going during the night. The pri...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ambersantacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoodSalsa, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2017

Thank you very much!

Sood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Salsa at the very end of Jan, and were very impressed - got a lot more for our money than we expected. The room was large, clean and the bathroom in good condition. Towels, soap, free water all provided and changed/replenished. Best of all were that they were extremely helpful: I e-mailed them before we arrived to book our visa run to Burma and our tickets to Ko Samui. These were ready to collect from reception as soon as we arrived. Nice central location. Free wifi which was ok. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kieran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoodSalsa, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2017

Hi Kieran,

Thanks /Sood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

There is no need to look for alternatives when staying in Chumpton.
Nice new place with good location, excellent staff and super breakfast.
Your needs for information about the area and the islands and bookings are also catered for.
Can easily be used by others than backpackers. Am a senior myself.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatuFredensborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalsaHostel, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you :-)

Cheers,
Sood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Chumphon seems to be a stop off town for travelers heading to the islands or national park so the town it's self in not too exciting. I arrived on the 5.50 train from Bangkok. salsa is about a 10 min walk in a straight line with a heavy Pack on your back but more like 5 without.
The owner is possibly the friendliest, most organised and hardworking person I have ever met with a mind of local information and he can arrange local bus train and ferry transfers in minuets.
The hostel its self is just under 1 year old with fresh, clean and modern bathrooms, comfy beds and nice fresh smelling bed linen and the cleaner did seem to be in action non stop. the lobby was the perfect place for beer, breakfast and eating the nearby streatfood and snacks from the hostel bar and mixing with the other guest who were all so friendly.
I ended up staying for 5 nights in total before heading to Koh Pangnan with a friend I made at Salsa but I could have stayed for even longer.
all in all the facilities, staff and location were fantastic and even after I left the owner sent me an email to ensure I got to the island OK as I messed up the transport booking.
Thanks for the Breakfast and Christmas Party Salsa, Hope to be back one day!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becco84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalsaHostel, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Hi Barbara,

Thanks for your comment and also for spending nights in Salsa Hostel. I hope to welcome you again in the future.

Cheers,
Sood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

So I got to chumphon and didn't really know what to expect. But when I arrived at the hostel it was amazing right from the start. The owner is absolutely wonderful! Funny, helpful and very friendly. He is one of the main reasons I would come back here. Also the room are spotless so clean, same with the bathrooms and the common areas. The beer is cheap and the company I met here have been wonderful. I would rate it way above excellent in all aspects. Thank-you so much for a wonderful 5 nights :)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hopsa970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalsaHostel, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear guest,

Thanks for staying at Salsa for 5 nights and I hope that I would see you again some day. Cheers/Sood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

If every hostel would be like this the world would not need hotels...

When we got there we were warmly welcomed. After checkin which was a fast and easy process we got lots of information about Chumphon and a map of where we are and what we can do in town.
They also organized the pickup for the bus to the pier to go to Koh Tao for us without any extra cost.

Pros:
- Nice clean rooms
- Clean and spaceous shared bathrooms
- Cool TV area
- Good working free wifi
- Breakfast from 5.30 am (great when they pick you up at 6 am for the boat)
- Close to trainstation (10 min walk), night market (5 min walk)

Cons:
Nothing from what we saw. I only would like to mention that we ran the AC for a bit to get the plastic smell from the bed covers out of the room.

It is a hostel you can stay in for more than 1 night and still enjoy it.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Berickus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalsaHostel, Owner at Salsa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2016
Google Translation

Big Thanks !!!

Cheers,
Sood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chumphon hotels
1.0 mi away
Tanisa Resort
Tanisa Resort
#2 of 21 in Chumphon
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Suriwong Chumphon Hotel
Suriwong Chumphon Hotel
#9 of 21 in Chumphon
34 reviews
0.5 mi away
A-Te Chumphon Hotel
A-Te Chumphon Hotel
#3 of 21 in Chumphon
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Novotel Chumphon Beach Resort&Golf
0.2 mi away
Retro Box Hotel
Retro Box Hotel
#2 of 30 in Chumphon
53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chalicha Resort
Chalicha Resort
#1 of 21 in Chumphon
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salsa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salsa Hostel

Address: 25 / 42 Krommaluang Rd, Tatapao | Tatapao Subdistrict, Chumphon 86000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chumphon Province > Chumphon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Chumphon
Price Range: $16 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Salsa Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salsa Hostel is a newborn hostel in Chumphon. It is the only hostel in Chumphon that offers a range of services; lodging, tours, cafe & bar. All guests can enjoy facilities provided; common room, kitchen, rooftop terrace, free wifi, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Salsa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing