We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Farang Bar
Nearby Hotels
$27
$24
Booking.com
View Deal
$17
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tanisa Resort(Chumphon)(Great Value!)
$22
$16
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$35
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$64
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$24
$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$74
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalicha Resort(Chumphon)
$22
$19
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$12
$11
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveler rating
9
10
4
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
10
4
2
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 29 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I recommend the farang bar guest house, I felt at very at home and chilled, very well run with clean rooms, the owner is a character, lovely staff and friendly folk in the bar. i ate a curry in the restaurant which was delicious and a must if you come. Will definitely come back to the farang bar if passing through Chumphon again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DouglasI231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Farang Bar has very very basic rooms. For a twin room we paid 250 Baht. Yes, sounds cheap but what do you get: Two beds without a real mattress. Very thin and hard to sleep on this matt. Only a small fan in a really sticky room. That`s it. You can have a better value in Suya Guesthouse for nearly the same price or at Salsa Hostel.
We had a two cocktails at the restaurant/bar. They were totally overpriced neither strong nor tasty.
I would noct come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stopped here whilst on a visa run to Ranong. The room was perfect for me as i anticipated a late-ish night and an early start. The room was a bed (clean) with a tv and a fan... perfect! Everything was clean and was safe enough to leave my laptop in the room whilst i chilled at the bar with a few beers and a burger! Toilets/showers are shared but were perfectly fine... total cost under $10... met with the owner and he is quite a laugh... also parking is available outside on the main road... would use again in the future!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I'm currently living and teaching in Chumphon and The Farang Bar has become my favorite hangout. The atmosphere is great and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. The owner is a well traveled Englishman who has lived in Chumphon for years and who is very knowledgeable and helpful- he's had a satisfactory answer to every question I've had about the area (and I've asked a lot of questions). They act as a travel agency as well, and can help you book a ticket to the nearby islands, or help with you with just about any traveling questions you may have.

If your there to stay a night or two, the rooms here are very clean and cheap. If you're in Chumphon only a little while waiting for a train or boat it's a very comfortable and welcoming place to just chill out and relax . There's even a cute little patio area in the back if you need a few moments to just get away from it all. The location is excellent- around the corner from the train station and walking distance to lots of local Thai food shops. They serve food at the bar as well, which is absolutely delicious! My favorite dishes are the chicken fried rice, which is full of flavor, and their awesome hamburger.

So if you're passing through Chumphon I definitely recommend stopping by The Farang Bar. Maybe I'll see you there!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Amberblue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

we had a great experience in chumphon due to the farang bar, we only intended on staying for one night, we stayed for 8 nights as it is such good value for money, cheapest room we have had in thailand, all of the staff are lovely, the owner from london made us feel at home and spent many nights giving us advice as he is a well travelled man, met many other travellers here who fell in love with the place. the farang bar is a great location for the night markets, day markets, pharmacy, train station, internet cafe's. the food in the bar is a great, combination of thai and western food for nights when all you fancy is a steak n ale pie n chips!!
all round a safe clean and friendly environment :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chalotte f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews