We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No cow in Flying Cow ranch”
Review of Flying Cow Ranch

Flying Cow Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Subang
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“No cow in Flying Cow ranch”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were there for a few hours (part of a tour package). Reached approx 11.30am. Waited for lunch i.e. milk steamboat. So so lunch only and they didn't top up the Chinese tea. Then ushered to do DIY ice cream. Very chaotic DIY session. Unhelpful staff and got to do the cleanup of the utensils ourselves. No cow, no duck, no goose, no rabbits, no nothing except a few very big mosquitoes.

Lousy place to go. Left at 2.45pm.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Myspaghettimonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    92
    23
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place for family holiday with children”
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 days 1 night. To me it's a bit rush. I'll definitely stay for 2 nights in my future trip. The accommodation is nicer than what we've expected. It gives us a really warm feeling. We joined 2 queen size beds. The children n myself enjoy rolling over the bed. Night activities are included such as cookies baking session. Day time activity - squeeze milk, feed the cow and duck are FOC. However, there are activities that u hv to pay such as can painting, ice cream making & etc.
Overall, it's a nice and enjoyable stay for us n the children.

Helpful?
Thank Bihfang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun farm”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at the Flying Cow Ranch in early October 2012. It's a large farm park which is run much more on a 'theme park' basis and very different to the personal, rustic and peaceful experience we had at Toucheng Leisure Farm, which is about a three hour drive away on the east coast.
The children, aged three and five, loved it at Flying Cow. We fed calves, sheep and goats and milked cows. You have to pay for animal feed, either 10 or 20 TD. The room was basic but comfortable. Lots of people come for the day and in the evenings it's quieter.
I wasn't impressed by the food, we tried all the three restaurants and didn't like any of them. Staff directed us to a nearby roadside restaurant which was excellent though. We hired a cab and went to the nearby beach park in tong siao which was a strange, derelict place with a decrepit aquarium. The beach itself was windy and deserted. We then went to a hot springs resort the Hou Yen hot spring resort which was bizarre, a fake castle, massive statues and a monkey island all very odd but fascinating. Again it was almost deserted but we spent three hours or so at the hot springs and met some very friendly locals who come there almost every day. Back at the ranch we used the good wifi and all the staff, especially Kate, were friendly and helpful. The children also enjoyed the playground and ice cream making. Worth a two night visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Fivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The farm was our 1st stop in Taiwan. Our room was very cosy and spacious with 2 double beds and 1 single bed which is perfect for our family of five. There are 2 computers in the lobby and a vending machine that sold drinks and instant noodles. Their milk and milk pudding tasted very nice and not to be missed is their milk base steamboat in one of their restaurant. There's a complimentary DIY class at 8pm every night too. During the day, their DIY classes come with a small fee.

We went there in August and the weather was hot and humid. A mosquito repellent is a must!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mei Li H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay with the activities being the highlight”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This was our first stop on a round-island tour of Taiwan. The ranch buildings were clustered around a central core, with the accommodation block being on the higher part of the hill. It was a short walk bringing our luggage up. Being higher up on a plateau, there was quite a good view of the surrounding countryside from an open area on the ranch. There were also some cheesy decorations in this area.

The air felt very fresh and unpolluted. A short loop walk around the farm would take about 20-30 minutes, and would pass by the Jersey cows from UK and the black-and-while cows from Holland. These are all reared for milk, and there is a milking session every morning. There are also goats, sheep and ducks on other areas of the ranch. One particular view near the start of the walk looked like it could be in the farmlands in UK or Australia.

The DIY activity on our night after dinner was making pastry - like a Japanese mochi. While this was baking, the host led a few party games, mainly for younger kids and the young-at-heart.

The room was adequate, with enough space for a triple. There was free wi-fi in the lobby area, and also 2 computers with internet access. Vending machines in the lobby also sold drinks and instant noodles for late-night hunger pangs.

If you have younger kids (age 4-11) this would be a nice place to spend about 2 days. There isn't much in the immediate area so you would be limited to the ranch if you didn't have your own transport.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank kspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Cow Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Flying Cow Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing