We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view!”
Review of Grand Ella Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Ella Motel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing view!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We came here only to have a few drinks and something to eat, which was all very average, but the view was amazing and is worth coming here only for that. We did not sleep here although the reception hall looked very nice. When we left there was this hotel staff member trying to sell us quartz hehe

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uka86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    31
    42
    20
    37
See reviews for
32
74
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I haven't stayed in a hotel this bad in years. The place is run down, rooms not clean, bathroom had mold and was dirty, it is not anyplace I could recommend.

The staff at the hotel were nice people and tried to help, but, with good intentions they could not do much. The hotel also has a very nice small grassed area where kids can run around, and has a magnificent view.

As bad as our room was, our driver who stayed in the accommodation provided in the motel told me it was the worst place he had ever stayed in. I asked to see it, and he showed it me me, and it was terrible. He could not get sleep due to bed bugs and the room was not acceptable under any reasonable standard for habitation.

I would recommend avoid staying in beautiful Ella, rather than stay at this place.

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeinsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ella hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We arrived in Ella without having booked anywhere to stay and looked at about 10 different places. This one was by far the best, and the best value for money. The view from the front lawn is amazing, the breakfast was fresh and huge and the rooms had everything we needed.

The place was hard to fault, with one small exception. The booking websites all said the hotel had a room available for two nights but when we got there they lady at reception said the hotel was fully booked on the second night - despite the fact that I could have paid and booked for the second night online right in front of her. She said it was some sort of disconnect between head office and the booking websites. Hopefully they get that sorted so travellers aren't stranded.

Room Tip: The top rooms have the best views, some with a large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKT_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

We're a German couple but are writing this review in English in the hope that the hotel management will read and act on this.

The only positive point about this hotel is the view but honestly you can see it from other parts of Ella too.

The whole hotel, especially the rooms are in urgent need of renovation. Take a look at the pictures we uploaded, they say it all! It's a shame the hotel management leaves this beautiful spot in such condition. They only have some 10-15 rooms all in the same bad state.

Breakfast was okish but after sleeping a night in an unpleasant bed you're really not up for food.

Hopefully management will realize. Ella is a great little village and the Grand Ella Motel could be 'the' spot if they did some renovations.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank maddin1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Having seen great scenery shots of famous Ella gap from this hotel I always wanted to stay a night. It was a breathe taking scenery exactly the same like in famous photos unfortunately I have nothing much to say about the hotel. Grand Ella Motel is just an ordinary hotel but over priced because of the location. We stayed in a triple room with kids & it was not value enough for the price we paid. The standard of the bathroom was noway near to a quality hotel. Dinner was in set menu & choices could even be found in an ordinary eatery of remote Sri Lanka these days. Staff was friendly but lack of professionalism. This hotel definitely need a renovation & price cannot be compensated only to the view.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bodi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
115 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

In the hotels defence,I agreed to take the room after having been shown it but after walking in to a room with the curtains drawn and not yet readjusting your sight from bright sunshine I guess you don't look for the finer detail. Most things that need saying have already been posted.When we arrived the gardens were full of visitors enjoying the views which are magnificent despite having a line full of washing on display in the hotel garden. It soon became apparent that there were few actual residents in the hotel, and not surprisingly either. At a cost of £60 for full board it's not very cheap.The evening meal was forgetable but edible,as was a very limited choice breakfast. We should have eaten elsewhere, well we should have stayed elsewhere if truth be known.
Our room was very grubby,there was not only stained walls but layers of dirt on some fixtures. The mini bar was a disgrace and hadn't been cleaned in months. I tackled our room cleaner who stated he has to clean all the rooms himself and simply doesn't have time to do the job properly so I tacled the manager to point out the state of our room as a result. His attitude was amazing,totally dismissive of criticism and despite pointing out ill fitting shower doors,filth ,grime,broken furniture you get the impression he doesn't give a damn.
This hotel has seen much better days,it's also likely to be facing increased competition as there are some new builds going on locally.If they want to survive they have only one option and it must happen soon.
Sack the arrogant and incompetent manager.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you can avoid it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveinNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
197 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had morning tea here during our road trip and it was well chosen. The toilets were clean. Friendly staff. The morning tea was tasty and good value. On a clear day you can see all the way to the ocean. It was a welcome break from the road. Have a look at the helicopter and wind vane made from old drink bottles.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.0 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
0.0 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#4 of 11 in Ella
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#9 of 11 in Ella
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#5 of 11 in Ella
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Ella Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Ella Motel

Property: Grand Ella Motel
Address: 411 Galle Road | Bambalapitiya, Columbo 4, Ella, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Grand Ella Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Grand Ella Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Ella Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing