We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as expected”
Review of Grand Ella Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Ella Motel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Colombo
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
“Not as bad as expected”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Expected the worst after reading the reviews on TA and was pleasantly surprised! Chose the Motel as the other budget places in Ella were similar to home stays and could be dodgy - after reading a few reviews of overbearing owners and managers who offered massages!

The Motel is in the best location one can find. Its easy walking distance (2min) to the town where there is a strip of shops/ restaurants and an abundance of massage centers!

The room was polished with solid furniture and clean linen. The pillows and mattress was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. The walls could have used a lick of paint and the toilet definitely needs refurbishment. I didnt use the towels and took my own. The toilet smelt of stagnant water and the door of the shower cubicle could not be shut tight. Apart from this, it is value for money (Rs.8600 for BB triple). The room had a mini bar, coffee making facility,TV, cupboard, counter for the luggage and 2 dressing table areas. The toilet has soap, shampoo, cream, shower cap etc.

The food was in large portions and the typical Hotel Corp grub. The waiters were polite and the room boy came up more than twice to clean the toilet as there was water due to the shower cubicle door being ajar.

We stayed in room 301 which is on the 1st floor and 5 steps up from the reception with a small balcony and view of the Ella Gap from the bed!

All in all a pleasant 2 night stay.

Room Tip: Room 301 (Rama) is close to the reception and on the 1st floor with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1LifeStand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    31
    44
    20
    37
See reviews for
35
75
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I think most of the reviews do not provide the justice to this place . I was reluctant to go here after reading the reviews. It is not bad as mentioned here. The place is old, but clean and tidy. It is the best location to see Ella gap. Rooms are equipped with satellite TV, hot water and tea and coffee making facilities. They did not surve buffet hence the choice was limited but the Food was great.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelakaamarasiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We arrived here late at night and checked in as our driver recommended the place - big mistake. We found the conditions appalling - dirty rooms, filthy bathrooms, mould, holes in the sheets and covers and cockroaches!! The filth is remarkable. The dour waiter over dinner also added to the experience. I didn't eat dinner but my wifes feedback was "fine". Breakfast was good but the table cloth was also filthy - might not have been changed in a week. We left to go to another hotel at 8 the next morning. On my very polite and honest feedback to the management on departure, I got a grunt at most. On the positives........they had a great view and lawn - might be nice to pop down for a tea. The most expensive dump I've stayed in

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianmaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ella hotels

Eghezee, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This old hotel clearly needs renovating. Everything is old, food is just acceptable. The only reason to stop here is to enjoy the view: A coffee/tea in the garden is enough. The management probably believes that the location can make up for all the other shortcomings but they are wrong.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We arrived after dark, having caught the train from Kandy. As it was late we decided to dine in the hotel, which was a big mistake as the food was barely edible. Our room was shabby and not very clean. The saving graces were that we woke to a gorgeous view of the sun rising through the Ella Gap and then watched a troop of monkeys making their noisy way through the trees in the hotel grounds (which were surprisingly well-kept). The hotel's situation is fantastic but the facilities are in urgent need of an upgrade.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueHCTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We could not believe the state of the room, and have never stayed anywhere in the world where we have been so appalled at the condition and filth, the place is a disgrace.

The room had not been cleaned for months, the sheets had holes and the tablecloths in the dinning room had not been replaced for several days judging by the food stains.

The quality of the furniture is not necessarily an issue but cleanliness is essential.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is definitely a hotel to avoid. Despite all its potential due to its position, it is dirty and the rooms very poorly maintained. We arrived in the evening and were shown our sparcely furnished and poorly decorated room. Their focus was on showing us the view from the window, maybe to distract us from the poor conditions of the room. When we went into the bathroom however, things really went downhill. The ceiling and upper walls were covered in black mould. We complained and were shown an alternative room which was hardly any better. It was peak season and no alternative local accommodation was available so we drove a further 100kms rather than stay in these awful conditions. It really was that bad.
Bill Chellingsworth, Shorne, Kent, UK

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.0 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
0.0 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#9 of 11 in Ella
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ella
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 11 in Ella
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Ella Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Ella Motel

Property: Grand Ella Motel
Address: 411 Galle Road | Bambalapitiya, Columbo 4, Ella, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Grand Ella Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Grand Ella Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Ella Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing