We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average place to stay service great location fantastic but rooms need updating”
Review of Grand Ella Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Ella Motel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average place to stay service great location fantastic but rooms need updating”
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

The bathrooms need updating the bedroom was ok food good. Breakfast wonderful and the location fantastic. Stayed for one night in October raining so felt damp but that's not hotels fault

Very quiet late at night and not easy to find but gardens and views were great

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol210660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    31
    44
    20
    37
See reviews for
35
75
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

A great location.enchanting view in sri lanka.i didnt stay in this place.just attended to a wedding party with some of my best friends.we enjoyed a lot.food is also good.lot of people come to this place due to its location nothing else. no idea about rooms or quality.you can check it and stay but try to come to this location at least for a Tea.you can taste the natural environment view.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uditha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were on a quite a budget holiday but Ella was half way through our trip so we treated ourselves to the Grand Ella Motel for one night. Although the standard of the hotel was not necessarily what you would expect for the money, it is absolutely worth staying there at least one night for the incredible views - from sunrise to sunset! It was a lovely peaceful stay. We didn't think much of the food though - so maybe worth heading out into the main street of Ella (really close by) to have your meals.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diana w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celje, Slovenia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2012

briefly I can confirm other guests reviews that cleanlinesss of the room or foamy bacon do not meet standards of a 110 dollars per night hotel.

but what I am really disappointed is their attitude after we left. my girlfriend got scratched by the hotel cat on our last day in Sri Lanka. later home she saw her personal physician because of the possibilitiy of getting rabbies. he wanted to know in what state the cat was in order confirm/dismiss possibility of the rabbies.
she wrote to the hotel an email with a simple question: is the cat OK. no response.
she sent them fax. no response.

after they get money you are no longer their client. I wrote this for all those who are not willing to support this kind of unprofessional attitude.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gorazd r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We went through Ella, while going to Yala from Nuwara Eliya. We stopped for lunch at this place. The food was average, and we didn't have much cause we had quite some travel to do. The view however was amazing from this place. Would have stayed here for atleast 1 night, if we had stayed at Ella. Seeing the amazing view we really wanted to have dinner here with the beautiful mountains as background and the star-lit sky.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahul_Birla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

As all other reviewers say, the view is fantastic. The room we were offered was not. It was moldy, dingy and pillows badly stained. We didn't stay. We had lunch there and that was poor too. Really one to avoid until there has been some major refurbishment and improvement in standards.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ella hotels

DC
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have visited this hotel several times but quality of service getting worst during the last three years. The glamor of this hotel is no more may be due to poor maintenance. Front office staff is superb

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bandu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.0 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
0.0 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#9 of 11 in Ella
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ella
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 11 in Ella
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Ella Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Ella Motel

Property: Grand Ella Motel
Address: 411 Galle Road | Bambalapitiya, Columbo 4, Ella, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Grand Ella Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Grand Ella Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Ella Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing