We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Sri Lankan food!”
Review of La Ella Breeze

La Ella Breeze
Ranked #37 of 73 Restaurants in Ella
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Italian, Israeli, Sri Lankan, Minority Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: La Vista This large and busy restaurant and bakery has a long menu of Sri Lankan and Chinese staples, a few lacklustre Western offerings and some ‘healthy’ salads & soup’s La Vista serves classic bland English & Italian cuisine, such as lamb chops with mint sauce, and an increasing number posh stakes from many of the other town-center restaurants. It is popular with families. La Ella Roti Hut & Indian Cuisine For a step up in class from your traditional rice and curry, this atmospheric place offers delicious Sri Lankan meals that are varied and flavorful with lots of choice. A flaky flatbread is stir-fried with eggs and spices and finished with a curry sauce. Don't let the long list of spices deter you from making the dish. You can omit a few and still experience its fantastic depths of flavor. Featured in, Sri Lankan Roti. Far and away the town's favorite restaurant, so much so that in the evenings you often have to wait for a table. The food here is the rich, delicious fare of India. The service is fast and efficient, and there's an energetic buzz about the place. La Cheers Ella is laden with too many bars claiming to be of the pub variety. Sorry lads, but over here at the La Breeze we really know how to create and sustain the perfect ambiance, all the time. The low murmurs and loud cheering of a crowd watching a match, the wood and felt finishing, and the delicious pub grub have always created first-class fun at Cheers. The multiple screens across the space also allow for viewing various matches from many vantage points. If the game’s a heated one, it’s bound to be playing at Cheers. Many tables order our specialty sri Lankan Beers, G&T and Cocktails while digging into a combo or fish and chips platter or a crunchy salad. Sometimes even a burger, for the most decadent of you.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding Sri Lankan food!”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

I am sat here using their free wifi to write this review about how good their rotti and kotthu are! Some of the best we have had in Sri Lanka and we have travelled all over! Worth coming to ella just for this place! First class service and speaks great English as well!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank aidasnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinuka J, Manager at La Ella Breeze, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear valued Guest, Many thanks for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    57
    27
    20
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Sri Lankan Food for a good price!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Been traveling to Sri Lanka for one month now and this is best place I've found for my breakfast, lunch and diner. The restaurant is on a balcony with great nice chairs. The boss speaks good English and is extremely helpful about everything. The food is amazing. Is comparable with the food you get served at people's homes. It's well presented rich of different flavors and veggies. I've tried the banana chocolate rotti, egg rotti, bannaleave curry, yellow fish curry, and the hoppers. On top of that the service is also really good. I stayed in Ella for like a week. When I found this place I went 4 times because it was so good. They also have rooms, for me it was to late but next time I will stay with these guys. Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Renjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinuka J, Manager at La Ella Breeze, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear valued Guest, Many thanks for your review and its very helpful to me develop my services and food quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Ella Roti Hut is well worth a visit if you're in Ella. Very good local food and they also have western food on the menu if you feel like it. Reasonably priced and very friendly staff. Loved it :)

Helpful?
Thank Linn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinuka J, Manager at La Ella Breeze, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear valued Guest, Many thanks for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Ella Breeze also viewed

 
Ella, Uva Province
Ella, Uva Province
 
Ella, Uva Province
Ella, Uva Province
 

Been to La Ella Breeze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing