We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing views and a wonderful welcome”
Review of Ella's Edge Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ella's Edge Resort
Ranked #28 of 149 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing views and a wonderful welcome”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile


Ella's Edge is a small, newly built, family-run guest house, situated just five minutes' walk along the main road out of the village centre, down the fairly steep hill towards Rawana Falls, Wellawaya Junction and the south. It has five rooms, all set on one floor of a south-facing terrace which offers spectacular, uninterrupted views through Ella Gap towards Sri Lanka's south coast. Looking out, on the left you can see Little Adam's Peak; above, to your right, towers the breathtaking Ella Rock. Rooms 1 to 4 have enormous, full-length panoramic French windows. Watching the sun rise while reclining in bed is just astonishing.
For our first two nights - booked through Agoda for £65 - we stayed in Room 3. It is huge, with a massive bed, marble-effect tiles throughout (note to owner: a couple of these are a bit wobbly and need re-setting) and a great big bathroom with modern fittings and excellent water pressure.
We extended our stay by one day and were offered room 5 at the far end of the terrace for 6500 rupees with breakfast, and they even generously threw in a free dinner for two (probably one of the biggest and best Sri Lankan curry banquets we enjoyed during our three-week trip). This was no doubt to compensate for the fact that the room was a lot smaller than room 3, with normal windows. However, the view was still fantastic, and you had the advantage that no other guests or staff could look in on you as they walked along the terrace.
As for the staff, they were all amazingly friendly and eager to please; nothing was too much trouble. On the day we wanted to hike to Ella Rock (an absolute must while you are in the area), their 62-year-old resident chef (forgot his name, sorry!) got up to prepare us tea and a packed breakfast at 5.30am, then - without being asked - accompanied us through the back roads and jungle paths for 20 minutes to show us the short cut to the railway line, where you pick up the Ella Rock trail. What a lovely man he was.
Damith, the owner, and his wife and three young sons were lovely hosts, and arranged everything to perfection. They are in the process of building an extra two floors on the guest house. The first will be a restaurant, the second will house more rooms. Thankfully, when we were there in February 2014, any building work seemed to be progressing at a very leisurely pace, and there was no early-morning noise disturbance we could hear.
At present, meals and refreshments can be enjoyed at the cafe tables at the end of the terrace, or in the small, recessed area halfway along the terrace (directly adjacent to the bathroom of room 3, which I suppose could prove embarrassing for noisy ablutions!).
Overall, our brief stay was one of the highlights of our Sri Lanka holiday this year, and we would definitely recommend a visit to Ella's Edge.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vinylrichie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    97
    29
    12
    8
See reviews for
48
142
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

I loved it. We stayed 3 nights and the rooms and views were great and good value. The owner was lovely and the cook was amazing! Make sure you stay for diner, the vegetable curry was the best we had. Highly recommended! Esther and Bas

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Ella Egde was one of our very nice stay in Ella. After taking the 3 hours train, we arrived in Ella Edge, a smal hotel facing the montain. For each and every room you have a beautiful view on the montains. Rooms are clean and well decorated. Bathroom clean and efficient. Nice welcoming and good food.
City is a 5 minutes walk

Thank you Ella Edge!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexisscheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Amazing view and familiar atmosphere. The great chef made the best Rice and curry and roti. Clean and spacious rooms with panoramic windows. They helped us arrange taxiservice to Ella the day before arrival, fast and convenient. Highly recommended!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hatang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We found this hotel by accident - just came to Ella, started to look for place where to stay. We checked about 10 locations round Ella, but decided for Ella´s Edge because of beautiful view and new clean rooms in continental style. The owners - nice couple, took us to hotel with private car and even gave us time to check other locations and decide - all that without any pressure (!!!) They were very very helpful in any case during our whole stay, gave us many recomendations for trips, even made many phone calls for us to organize visit in tea factory, to make a reservation for hotel in our next location, to find a train or bus, etc...
The food was excellent, I loved typical Sri lanka´s rice&curry, rotti and kottu. Rooms are brand new, clean and quite luxurious (hot water included). In touch with that beautiful vista of Ella´s Gap with Little Adam´s Peak on your left and Ella´s Rock on right - this was one of our best stay in Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MisoVeslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Clean, new small hotel which has amazing views (floor to ceiling windows). Cheap for what you get but there are a few bugs given your in the mountains. Helpful staff. Breakfast wasn't so good but the welcome smoothie was great! For £30 a night it's a steal!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hox_Team
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2014

For a budget hotel this was quite spectacular! Great views and very clean rooms with panorama windows. Food was lovely. Minor problems: Lack of interior such as coat hangers, etc. The staff was not always available or attentive.

Tip: Remember a torch as the hotel is a ten minute walk outside the city centre and the path not lid at all. It can be pretty dangerous without as big trucks run by.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanishStudent85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
3.8 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#4 of 11 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ella Nature View
Ella Nature View
#20 of 149 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ella Jungle Resort
Ella Jungle Resort
#5 of 97 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ella Rock House
Ella Rock House
#8 of 149 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Hill
Green Hill
#27 of 149 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zion View
Zion View
#13 of 149 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ella's Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ella's Edge Resort

Property: Ella's Edge Resort
Address: Peramas Ella, Wellawaya Road | Ella, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ella's Edge Resort is uniquely placed site in full view of 'Ella Gap', and the salubrious climate of Ella. Ella' Edge Resort guarantees guests a pleasant stay whether in Ella for business or pleasure. The hotel lies 600m from the city center and provides accessibility to important town facilities. A well-kempt environment and its proximity to Bandarawela the commercial capital of Uva Province. Take advantage of a wealth of unrivaled services and amenities at this. Guests of the resort can enjoy on-site features like smoking area, family room, Wi-Fi in public areas, 24hr room service. Guests can choose from 5 rooms, all of which exude an atmosphere of total peace and harmony. Throughout the day you can enjoy the relaxing atmosphere of the Hill Country of Sri Lanka ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ella's Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing