We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come as a guest, leave as a friend”
Review of Samadhi Guest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samadhi Guest Inn
Ranked #55 of 153 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Come as a guest, leave as a friend”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We planned to stay 2 nights, but stayed for 3, because we really liked this guesthouse and the lovely family who runs it. Right at the start we received a very warm welcome with tea and a lot of information about activities and sightseeing in the area. We had a comfortable and very clean room with private shower and toilet. There are also rooms with shared bathroom. Breakfast was included and very nice: fresh fruit, fried egg (or Sri Lankan style omelet) and toast. It is also possible to have lunch and dinner in the guesthouse. We had dinner twice and the Sri Lankan curry was very good! At Samadhi guesthouse, you start as a guest and leave as a friend!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Arianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    31
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
29
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salmon Arm, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

to date this is the best food, shower and hospitality we have had in Sri Lanka. Jagath, Samantha and Tharindu are very welcoming, friendly, helpful and full of information about the area, sights, ativities and can help find your way to onward travel. the ginger tea and jack fruit curry are both a must try.
you will struggle to find a better combination of location, price, food and hospitality. truly a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wonderingcanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydney, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

From the moment we walked in the door we were made to feel very welcome. We were always greeted with a pot of ginger tea when we arrived back after a day out. The food we had each evening was authentic Sri Lankan and we experienced dishes we had never tasted before such as jak fruit curry. Jagath and Samantha also made us a packed breakfast when we left early to catch a train. When we left they even gave us a dish of curd to take with us for the journey. They are such kind people. They were also able to help us with trips in the area, and were very good at short cuts to get to places which made the walks we did more interesting.
The bed could have been a little more comfortable. We had a room without en suite, but the other rooms do have bathrooms.
The guest house is about a kilometre outside of town, but very conveniently situated for the walk to Little Adams Peak
A great place to stay to experience Sri Lanka at its best

Room Tip: Choose a room with en suite
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Samadhi guesthouse 5 min walk from Ella town centre is the best choice! Unbelievably cheap and clean rooms, wonderful authentic sri lankan food freshly coked by Samadhi every day and a wonderful caring and lovely family! A truly wonderful experience. We cried on our departure and we already came back there once! Truly recommended!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anamcga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bioule, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The area around Ella is just lovely - but the small town itself seems to have more foreigners than locals, and signs for fish and chips, cappuccino and cornflakes with milk etc. Perhaps thats your thing - but if its not - do what we did and head for Samadhi Guest inn. Its 1km up the road, but culturally miles away........ The family could not have been more welcoming, and our original idea of staying one night turned into a three night stay as they - and Samantha's cooking - were so wonderful. The rooms were clean, the showers were hot, Tharindu is a wizz with the wifi, and definitely stay for dinner! :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xavdebioule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We have nothing but positive things to say about this lovely guest house, perched near the base of mini Adam's peak amidst lush greenery and tea plantations.

The owners are a lovely family who made us feel very welcome so we instantly felt at home here. We had a spacious room that had a double bed with an attached bathroom with a good shower that had hot water.

The breakfast (fresh fruit and eggs) was good and filled us up til lunch. The price was beyond reasonable and we would highly recommend this as a base in Ella.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rekawa, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed for two nights at this place. Jagath, his wife (Samantha) and son (Tharindu) are very friendly and helpful people - and their guesthouse is spotless and clean. We received a very warm welcome. Breakfast is lovely (choice between continental and Sri Lankan) and lunch or dinner are also possible. they were providing helpful tips for the various sights in and around Ella. Wifi is available. I highly recommend staying at this lovely family - excellent service and rooms for a very decent price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
28.8 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#5 of 11 in Ella
151 reviews
29.1 mi away
Ella Rock House
Ella Rock House
#7 of 153 in Ella
199 reviews
28.3 mi away
Ella Nature View
Ella Nature View
#21 of 153 in Ella
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.7 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
28.5 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#9 of 11 in Ella
136 reviews
28.7 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#4 of 11 in Ella
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samadhi Guest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samadhi Guest Inn

Property: Samadhi Guest Inn
Address: 3rd Mile Post, Passara Road, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide best accommodation for visitors - come to our place. This place is located at homely environment. We can supply Western / Eastern foods for your request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Samadhi Guest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing