We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable!!!”
Review of Samadhi Guest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Samadhi Guest Inn
Ranked #55 of 165 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Samadhi guesthouse 5 min walk from Ella town centre is the best choice! Unbelievably cheap and clean rooms, wonderful authentic sri lankan food freshly coked by Samadhi every day and a wonderful caring and lovely family! A truly wonderful experience. We cried on our departure and we already came back there once! Truly recommended!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Anamcga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 101 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

The area around Ella is just lovely - but the small town itself seems to have more foreigners than locals, and signs for fish and chips, cappuccino and cornflakes with milk etc. Perhaps thats your thing - but if its not - do what we did and head for Samadhi Guest inn. Its 1km up the road, but culturally miles away........ The family could not have been more welcoming, and our original idea of staying one night turned into a three night stay as they - and Samantha's cooking - were so wonderful. The rooms were clean, the showers were hot, Tharindu is a wizz with the wifi, and definitely stay for dinner! :-)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xavdebioule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We have nothing but positive things to say about this lovely guest house, perched near the base of mini Adam's peak amidst lush greenery and tea plantations.

The owners are a lovely family who made us feel very welcome so we instantly felt at home here. We had a spacious room that had a double bed with an attached bathroom with a good shower that had hot water.

The breakfast (fresh fruit and eggs) was good and filled us up til lunch. The price was beyond reasonable and we would highly recommend this as a base in Ella.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed for two nights at this place. Jagath, his wife (Samantha) and son (Tharindu) are very friendly and helpful people - and their guesthouse is spotless and clean. We received a very warm welcome. Breakfast is lovely (choice between continental and Sri Lankan) and lunch or dinner are also possible. they were providing helpful tips for the various sights in and around Ella. Wifi is available. I highly recommend staying at this lovely family - excellent service and rooms for a very decent price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

I Remember my Russian friend and me reaching to Ella railway station...It was a Tuesaday 16, july 2013. Mr Jagath came to early to the railway station with his friend pick up to our home stay. He was welcome me and my friend Ms Oksana full of the happyness. He was very happy to see us, because of we had only several telephone calls for the homestay arranegments. Never not known people we were. But his very kind and helpfully life never foget us really. Even ella motel holiday management told us " sorry no rooms" , he was the man of the match came to providing us his homestay. That's why I mentioned here top of this ad headline" home away a home for us! !!!
Nothing waiting and mr jagath picked us hurry to their home because he understood Ms oksana, my friend wad so much tired. It was more than 8 Hrs we were in the Badulla Express " Rajadhani" compartment. Once we reached to our homestay in ella, nice to see the Mrs Samanthi & her lovely son.
Actually we were so much happy how we were meet...??? I Remember Mrs samanthi hurry and came with Very big teapot with milk. And also some bananas & sweets.
Room arrengements were very excellent. We asked a small room. But mr jagath & Samanthi gave us a large room. Wash room very excellent. Every thing excellent. Foods so much nice. What we were asked Mrs samanthi gave us. I think no mistaken for us them. Real srilankan hospitality we were having there. I am very proud of because as a srilankan me,Mr jagath & his wife Mrs Samanthi gave very good service for my friend Ms Oksana. It should not foget to keep here, that 2nd day we left from 07:05 night mail train from ella. Mrs samanthi arrange us a very tasty planty of sandwitchs. We gave some sandwitchs to the 2nd class staff of the Railway Guards too. I thisk Mr jagath's family maintaing "samadhi guest inn, for us feeled as a home away home in ella for me and my friend oksana.we paid very little. But you gave us your service very excellent. Once againe we wish to come and staying with you soon! !!!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank dennissrilanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Though we've only spent one night in this inn while passing through ella it's safe for me to say this was the nicest place we saw during our journey. The 2 rooms are spacious and equipped with 3 beds (2 doublebeds, 1 single) and a very clean bathroom each. Breakfast will be served if, when and how ("eastern" or "western") you like it.
The tips for the various sights to see in and around ella were quite helpful while the family's hospitality created a very friendly atmosphere.
A very nice place for a very fair price.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Florian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

On our way to Ella we had the misfortune of ending in some horrible GH and were determined to ignore tuktuk drivers and LP and just knock on different GH and see what we found.
However the owner of this place was pretty convincing and we quickly agreed to see his GH. It was clean(very clean), rooms spacious and toilets fully equipped. We welcomed the honesty of the family owning the place who provided useful tips and suggestions and gave you the liberty to do as you wished.
Food was provided if wanted and at an adequate price.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
28.9 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
99 reviews
29.1 mi away
Chamelia Inn Ella
Chamelia Inn Ella
#56 of 165 in Ella
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Peak View Resort Ella
Peak View Resort Ella
#75 of 165 in Ella
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.0 mi away
Shadow Inn Guest House
Shadow Inn Guest House
#57 of 165 in Ella
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ornateview Hotel
Ornateview Hotel
#7 of 125 in Ella
22 reviews
29.0 mi away
The Blue View Inn
The Blue View Inn
#50 of 165 in Ella
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samadhi Guest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samadhi Guest Inn

Address: 3rd Mile Post, Passara Road, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range: $17 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide best accommodation for visitors - come to our place. This place is located at homely environment. We can supply Western / Eastern foods for your request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Samadhi Guest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing