We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must Try.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Laura

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Laura
Ranked #11 of 146 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must Try.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Lovely setting with the best views of Ella Gap from your room/balcony. Family run with only 2/3 rooms currently. Their property continues to develop and it will be interesting to see how things take shape over the next 12mths but the rooms available are lovely. The family cannot do enough to help you - dinner/breakfast/tea/beer/routes for local walks/taxis etc. You currently can't book through major websites so check out the website directly and book up!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke_Creighton_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    50
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
34
132
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dandenong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

A really nice place to be or probably the best location i have ever seen in Ella area. Got a scenic view surrounded by little Adams' peak from one side and the Ella rock from the other side which gives really a calm and a quiet feeling. Food is awesome. 5 mins walking distance from the town. Had an awesome weekend in there with my mates and wish go back there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anjula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Laura for one night and regret that we did not stay any longer.

Ella is a fun backpacker town. The most import element however cannot be seen from the town itself or most of its hotels. The view over Ella gap. We loved this so much more than the promising World's End. The view from Hotel Laura is probably the best possible!

Next great thing is the hosts! They are so welcoming and mother of the house will cook a perfect dinner.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielAmsterdamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Had a nice weekend stay at HOTEL LAURA.Experienced the true form of hospitality.Enjoyed the wonderful view.
Food was delicious n craving.The place is maintained well and Cleanliness of the hotel made my holiday more interesting.
Suranga and the crew respect the privacy of the guest very well. It was fun staying in a friendly environment.

I recommend Hotel Laura for a well spent holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Beautiful little Hotel with a stunning view in a calm location!! The rooms are newly built with small private terraces and very nice bathrooms. The food is really delicious. Perfect place if you want to escape the touristy touch of Ella.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B_M_L_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

One of our favorite guest house we had in Sri Lanka. There is only 2 rooms, so it is really really quiet. Every room has a private balcony, and the view is amazing.

At the end of the afternoon, we can take the afternoon tea. The food was amazing. We had a rice-curry and it is one of the best we got in Sri Lanka. The Sri Lankan breakfast are great.

A nice place to relax. We just had climb the Adam's Peak the night before, and was had a really great time relaxing in Ella.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gyohm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Århus, Danmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Ella is an extremely beautiful and relaxing place to stay.

Hotel Laura only makes the stay better with a location high on the hill (follow the rails and you are in the city in 2 min), perfect view through Ella gap, surprisingly nice rooms for SRI standards, you get treated very nice and the family serves you both dinner and breakfast on your own private terasse.

The view from the rooms are the best in town.

A little hard to find but it is next to "the view" hotel - follow the signs.

I can def. recommend - both for young and old.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
1.2 mi away
98 Acres Resort
98 Acres Resort
#1 of 11 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
3.9 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#4 of 11 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ella Rock House
Ella Rock House
#5 of 146 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ella Nature View
Ella Nature View
#20 of 146 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ella Jungle Resort
Ella Jungle Resort
#4 of 92 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laura

Property: Hotel Laura
Address: Kithalella, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Laura is situated in Ella,Sri lanka..It takes only 5min to reach our hotel from Ella town. And it is a one of place that having a most amazing scenery.Luxurious double rooms for all your needs.Fully comfortable king size mattress.Hot water supply other facilities for your comfort. Delicious Sri Lankan food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Laura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing