We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing tea plantation accommodation and great value!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ella
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amba Estate Farmstay
Ranked #6 of 152 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing tea plantation accommodation and great value!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed 4 nights and just loved every aspect of this place.

Accommodation is in a cozy and quaint converted plantation workers house. With only a few bedrooms, you really get personalised and dedicated service. Siri and Gamini, who run the house, are amazing and cater to your every need. You will be sad to say goodbye to them, just as we were!

I've now stayed in many places where tripadvisor reviewers have said "this is the best food we had in Sri Lanka". Well at Amba it really was! There is no menu but with the personalised service you can have the food tailored to your tastes, western or Sri Lankan. Don't go past the homemade papaya, passion fruit and vanilla jam, either with your hoppers or on some freshly baked bread or cake.

Once you are at Amba, there is nothing to do except unwind. Eat, drink premium teas, relax in their garden, do a guided tour of the plantation, learn about their tea making process, or go on some great walks without the crowds and some of the best views in the country!

Stay here. We are already jealous of you:)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LivingTheDream_KN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
59
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I had the great pleasure of staying at Amba on my recent trip to Sri Lanka. The bungalow is wonderfully designed, spacious and really comfortable. The staff is lovely - fantastic cooks and they are happy to help you in any way they can. The setting is magical. The scenery is spectacular - the views of Ella rock and the surrounding hills are incredible. And you've never seen so many stars from the patio at night. Amba is dedicated to and passionate about tea. Do a tasting and take a tour. It will change the way you enjoy good tea forever. Amba is a special place - I already miss it and am planning my return!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Reflecting on my visit makes me smile... the location (best traveled to during daylight) is beautiful. Set on a tea estate made complete with fruit trees, spice plants, exotic birds, colourful flowers and rescue cows, I was able to completely relax. I spent my time sitting outside reading, taking short hikes to admire the amazing views, and chatting with Neil and Simon to learn about the history of the estate as well as the good work Amba does for positive social impact and community development. The bungalow was comfortable, clean and attractive, the staff were helpful and friendly, and the food was fantastic! Egg hoppers, fresh baked breads with the most delicious jams (try the mango ginger!!!) and delicious vegetarian curries. Not to mention the artisanal teas AND coffee. I fully enjoyed my stay and look forward to future returns. Thank you Amba Estate!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smilintraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Amba Tea Estate is absolute paradise. Beverly and Neil have done a fantastic job is setting up the guesthouse and establishing a siesta unable working tea farm.
We were lucky enough to have the entire bungalow to ourselves and felt spoilt. The house is furnished very comfortably, with great beds and a real bathroom (a rarity in Sri Lanka). The food was amazing - proper home style Sri Lankan cuisine. My only 'complaint' Was that there was too much food!!! (But tastes soooo good).
There's lots of really nice hikes around with great views, and best if all you will probably have the view to yourself, unlike the busy ella rock or little Adams peak. Be sure to do a tea tour too. This is the only place in SL which hand rolls the tea leaves and the process is really interesting.
I highly recommend a few days here and hope to return again,

Room Tip: They're all perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew_lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

7 of us had the luxury of taking the entire bungalow for a great price in October. Even better was the warm welcome and the personalised service we got from both Neil and Beverly, Manager and Business Development Manager of Amba and their staff, Neil would would be seen quietly in the kitchen at meal times ensuring that the meals prepared were a culinary delight. The house was absolutely clean. Perfect place to walk to the top of the Ravana Ella falls, hike to Ella Rock and temple, drive upto Lipton's seat, and a 45 drive away towards koslanda to a half hour hike to the top of Diyaluma Falls - an awesome hike, and long held dream come true, he lemon grass tea has to be tasted and Beverly is only happy to take you on a tour of the little tea factory.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shamani F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I had the very good fortune to stay at Amba Estate Farmstay in November 2013. Situated in a magical verdant mountain location, the property is lovely and well cared for, the views unparalleled. Surrounded by gardens, and lovingly tended tea, Amba is a beautiful and peaceful place to relax into. Graced with the personal touch of an artist, each room was unique and comfortable. The
Sri Lankan food specialties were cooked with care, delicious and tastefully presented. I especially liked the jackfruit and beetroot curries and don't miss the lemon grass tea!! We were warmly welcomed by the staff and taken on a delightful tour of the tea estate by Beverly, Amba's manager, who was enthusiastic and very informative. Walk out the door, and the hiking possibilities are endless, and don't miss the nearby Rawana Ella cave temple!! I do hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minety, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Truly magnificent location at Ambadandegama albeit a little remote. We had a little difficult finding it but it was worth the difficulties. We had a wonderful welcome and probably had the best choice of room.
Although somewhat remote, we were welcomed very well and an excellent lunch was prepared for us at short notice by the excellent and very polite staff. Because of the remote location about 16 km from Ella it is probably necessary to eat at the Guest House. The food produced was truly excellent in quality and quantity and the table and service excellently presented.

We had a tour of the tea plantation by our host and this was truly superb. He explained all about the history, the tea plants, coffee, all the other fruits and hers grown there and how they were processed.

The staff also arranged tuk tuks for various trips and eventually our reluctant departure to our next destination. We will return to do some of the serious walking that is on offer.

Had a great chat with the development manager of Amba (Beverley) who is passionate about the Amba tea and products and doing everything possible to enhance the wellbeing of the estate workers and the local populace. Thanks for everything

Room Tip: Front left hand side is probably the best room as you approach but all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
2.6 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
2.8 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
3.0 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 11 in Ella
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#4 of 11 in Ella
222 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#5 of 11 in Ella
142 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chamodya Home Stay
Chamodya Home Stay
#1 of 152 in Ella
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amba Estate Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amba Estate Farmstay

Property: Amba Estate Farmstay
Address: Ambadandegama, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amba Estate is a working organic farm in the Uva Highlands of Sri Lanka. The farm is approximately 30 minutes drive from Ella, perched in a small valley above the Ravana-Ella Waterfalls, with views of Ella Rock and Lipton's Seat. We produce a range of artisanal teas, coffees, spices and preserves, and we work with the local community to support a variety of educational, economic and environmental initiatives. We offer guests the opportunity to stay in the Estate farmhouse, learn more about organic farming and artisanal tea-making, and enjoy our little corner of paradise. Built 100 years ago by one of the first local families to develop their own tea estate, the bungalow has 4 double guest bedrooms, as well as a small study, where we can set up 2 extra single beds. There are two shared bathrooms. For larger groups looking for the ideal place for a group retreat, we can also make arrangements with a couple of nearby guesthouses - offering up to 12 rooms in total. Meals are eaten together, and food is mainly vegetarian, using as much of our own organic produce as possible (including of course our famous Amba tea and coffee!). We offer B&B and half-board rates, and can also prepare sandwiches for a picnic or a simple farmhouse lunch. We are not licenced, but guests are welcome to bring their own beer, wine and spirits.We recommend staying at least 2 nights so that you have time to enjoy the excellent hikes and stunning sunsets and sunrises in the valley. There are a variety of hiking trails in and around the valley, including gentle walks around the estate and more strenuous climbs - up Ella Rock or St Catherine's Mount, or down to the secret pools atop the waterfall or through our own mini forest reserve. The valley is home to a wide variety of birdlife and wildlife, including deer, wild boar, mongoose, porcupine, peacocks, kingfishers and much more. We also have a couple of bikes, binoculars and a big selection of books and board-games that guests are free to use. For guests with a vehicle, there are number of lovely spots just a short drive away: spectacular views at Lipton's Seat and Pilkington Point, the monolithic Buddha statues hidden in the forest at Buduruwagala, and the wild elephant pools at the top of Diyaluma Falls. And Arugam Bay, Yala and Udawalawe National Parks, Nuwara Eliya and Horton Plains are all within 2-3 hours drive. Please note: due to increasing popularity, tours of Amba's artisanal tea-making operation are available for outside guests only at 11am on weekdays; the factory is closed on weekends, poya days and other holidays. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing