We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of a Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Freedom Guest Inn Ella
Ranked #39 of 184 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2014

After reading glowing reviews on this site, I was disappointed with my stay. I was given the room whose only window opens to the porch, about 3 feet from where people tended to sit. Thus the choice was either opening the curtain for daylight or keeping the curtain closed for privacy. Worse - and I assume this was a temporary event - the first morning I was awakened at 6 am as a truck dumped an entire load of bricks in front of the porch. I stayed 2 nights and each morning I was asked to whisper my breakfast request so as not to waken other guests who were still asleep in rooms directly off the breakfast area. Now all this said, the location is good - although absolutely no view in a place where views are a dime a dozen. It's an easy walk into town in daylight; not quite so easy once it's dark as the road is unlit. Nelson, the owner, really is nice and the breakfast (eaten silently) was good. But all in all I'd wished I had stayed at some other place.

Room Tip: Definitely avoid the front room; noisier with no privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ber357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreedomGuestInn, Owner at Freedom Guest Inn Ella, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you for staying here in your travel and excuse us for those faults...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 129 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

We only stayed 1 Night at the Freedom, this was a late booking. When we arrived at the railway station we phoned Nelson the owner, who picked us up (free of Charge).
The accomadation is very clean and comfortable, Breakfast was nice Location quite, all in all for the rate we paid,it was very good value for money.
Thanks Nelson for a nice stay.
John & Pat

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreedomGuestInn, Owner at Freedom Guest Inn Ella, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you for staying here.... Thank you for this great review and hope to see you again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

If you have a driver, make sure you negotiate the nicer room for him with the owner. At first I had made a reservation for our driver for (750 rupee/night) but when I saw where he should sleep I said no. After talking some more, he ended up giving him a normal room for (1500 rupees/night) and I was pleased with how he ended up resolving this conflict. The room was ok, but there wasn't much space for 2 adults and a child. The shower as most of them in Sri Lanka gets everything wet in the bathroom which is quite annoying. The wifi was pretty fast and the owner himself is a nice man. The location is a short walk to the downtown, and it was peaceful place to stay. I can't say as a family that I would recommend this place to other families. If it would have been just my husband and I, it would have been a nice budget place to stay in.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karabedell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreedomGuestInn, Owner at Freedom Guest Inn Ella, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Thank you this great idea about FREEDOM GUEST INN - ELLA... Thank you for choosing here to spend your valuable times in Ella..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at freedom and enjoyed our stay tremendously. The accommodation was clean and comfortable and only a few minutes walk from the main road through ella.

The real highlight of our stay was the owner Nelson, who provided great advice regarding sights and walks in the area surrounding the town. He told us the accurate price we should accept for tuk tuk trips to aid our price negotiations, and even drew a map by hand to help make our way to udawalawe by public bus. He is a genuinely nice guy, and it is clear he puts a lot of effort into his business.

The breakfast was great for the price of the room, and to keep things fresh we were given a delicious Sri Lankan breakfast on our third morning.

The one negative was the lack of hot water pressure, as a hot shower would have been nice after a days hiking. But this really did not bother us as the overall experience of staying at freedom was so positive.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dooallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreedomGuestInn, Owner at Freedom Guest Inn Ella, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Thank you so much to staying here on your valuable holidays in Ella, and the hot water pressure was corrected after few days, HOPE TO SEE YOU AGAIN......... Thanks for this great review..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 days with Mr Nelson and his family and everything about our stay was fantastic! He picked us up from the bus stop and made us feel at home right away. Our room and the shared living area with dining table and sofa was super clean and comfortable. The bed was great. We had everything we needed and just had to ask if anything else was required . Mr Nelson was the perfect host - he suggested lots of things for us to do but was never pushy. He also recommended a great restaurant in town which was delicious and cheap -Jade Green. Each morning we had the most epic breakfast courtesy of Mr Nelson and his wife. Loads of fruit , a lovely omelette and as much toast as you could eat, and on the second day a Sri Lankan breakfast which was one of the best we've tasted. We ate at Freedom one of the nights and were overwhelmed by the feast that was given to us. It was absolutely delicious! If you're in Ella, look no further than Freedom. Although it's not on the main street it is only a five minute walk away. Mr Nelson and his wife are the perfect hosts and we have already recommended him to others heading that way on their travels. Nice one Mr Nelson! Loads of love, Jen and Nick xx

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JennyLees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreedomGuestInn, Owner at Freedom Guest Inn Ella, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Thank you for choosing FREEDOM GUEST INN - ELLA, to spend your valuable holidays in ELLA, so thank you again for this great review that helps other to make this their own comfort , Hope to see you again in future....... All the best !!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We were welcomed by Nelson, the very friendly and helpful owner who picked us up for free at the bus station 5 minutes away. He drew us maps of places to visit during our stay! The rooms were spotless and odourless (no mould!!) which was a nice change. Everything was modern and fully functional. The free breakfast was also appreciated. This is a great address close to town with a super helpful owner, I can only recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTravelsForAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreedomGuestInn, Owner at Freedom Guest Inn Ella, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Happy to see your excellent reviews witch makes FREEDOM GUEST INN - ELLA super place in listing. Thank you so much and always welcome again....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in Freedom Guest Inn: We were totaly satisfied! You don't get the view, but Ella town-centre is only five minutes walk away. If you are lazy the owner, Nelson, gives you a ride for free (he owns a TukTuk which he only uses for his guests). Nelson is a great host. He e.g. arranged a "shared taxi" for us down south to the beaches, drew a hiking map and told us where to go to have a drink (local prices).
Try the Sri Lankan breakfast, it is worth it!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tanja_and_Markus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreedomGuestInn, Owner at Freedom Guest Inn Ella, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for your great ideas about here and we need to give our best help to our guests as they always remember to leave a valuable review like this that helps other travelers to choose here. So thank you again and hope to see you again.............

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.2 mi away
Green Hill
Green Hill
#37 of 184 in Ella
298 reviews
0 mi away
Holiday Homes Guest Inn
0 mi away
Mama Cottage Ella
Mama Cottage Ella
#34 of 150 in Ella
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chamelia Inn Ella
Chamelia Inn Ella
#47 of 184 in Ella
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ella Rock House
Ella Rock House
#10 of 184 in Ella
229 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chamodya Home Stay
Chamodya Home Stay
#1 of 184 in Ella
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freedom Guest Inn Ella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedom Guest Inn Ella

Address: 131 / 1 Passara Road Ella, Ella 2143, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range: $29 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice Place To Stay Just 300 M Away From Ella Townhot Water. Wi-fi, Taxi Service Olso Provided ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Freedom Guest Inn Ella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing