We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and quaint”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dream Cafe & Guest House
Ranked #45 of 184 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here for five nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The vibe was chill, the rooms were large and spacious, the showers were awesome, the deck was sweet. The only problem was the barking dogs but this is Ella! I have no complaints, the price was right for right in the middle of town, considering the cleanliness and presentation.
Dream. Cafe also offers great meals, i strongly suggest their salad in a coconut shell. Pardon me for not remembering the exact name of the dish but it was over two weeks ago..however the staff will know what you mean or you will recognise it on the menu. Bon appetite!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loumac22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 213 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in February and enjoyed our time there. We had a room at the back and it was still a little noisy late and night and early in the morning. You should consider staying off the Main Street if this is a problem for you. The rooms were very good but the bed was a little too hard for my better half. The food was super in the cafe and service was very good.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank RedRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We booked this room on our way back from Adam's Peak and were so happy with our choice as the it was delightful. It was tastefully decorated with nice furniture, very spacious but also cosy. There was a small balcony too. Yes the glass in the windows is incredibly thin so try to reserve a room at the back of the building otherwise the road noise might be intrusive.

We ate dinner here and had an excellent curry. The breakfast in the morning was delicious too.

Yes the wi fi is a little slow but it's free unlike in some other countries so can't really complain. Driver accommodation was good too.

We would definitely stay next time and for longer than one night.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room at the back as it's less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeuxCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We ended up spending more than we wanted in ella ($50per night althiugh that included alltaxes etc) but the room was amazing with a huge seating area and 2 sofas to lounge on. We were extremely happy to have this when it rained heavily for an entire day so we just sat about reading books and watchin the world go by. And there was loads of hot water, and a truly great shower.

others have mentioned noise, but it all dies down by 1030 at the latest and comes from next door I think, it really isn't a big problem.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bena34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Good food and wide range of dishes. Had both lunch and dinner here and was impressed with both the variety and quality of food. The pizzas were especially good. Lovely outdoor setting as well. Reasonably priced and efficient service (although not with the biggest of smiles!).

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Angel_Delightful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

After arriving in Ella after being on safari for 48 hours Dream Cafe and Guest House was like an oasis in the mountains.

The rooms are awesome! Super clean, huge, great lounge area and really comfortable beds...the best so far in Sri Lanka. The best part is the amazing hot powerful shower! A welcome treat after the endless cold drizzles that we've had so far on our trip.

The food in the cafe downstairs is delicious. Decent coffee and COLD beers! Very exciting for us as we're all about our beer being cold which is rare over here! Pizzas and hoppers are also to die for.

Can't fault this place, on the Main Street in Ella so good location. Our room was at the back of the building so traffic noise was not too bad but the kitchen was below our room so the smell of wood fired pizza was seriously enticing!

Room Tip: Room 103 at the back of the building is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thefreedomtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Lovely big rooms which include a bedroom with comfortable bed and a separate lounge area which was a lovely addition. Very good hot shower, which was very welcome after a 7 hour train journey. Good location in centre of Ella. Only downside was noise from street which was enough to disturb sleep. Surprisingly noisy road. Also had similar experience with howling dog which added to noise! Breakfast was good - nice to have proper coffee! Enjoyed our 2 night stay but would suggest ear plugs if a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.2 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ella
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 12 in Ella
120 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 12 in Ella
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lucky Star
Lucky Star
#8 of 184 in Ella
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilltop Guest House
Hilltop Guest House
#54 of 184 in Ella
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Hill
Green Hill
#34 of 184 in Ella
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Cafe & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Cafe & Guest House

Address: Main Street | Badulla District, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range: $40 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream Cafe & Guest Houses provides a brand new construction for accommodation which was done recently in addition to the famous restaurant. It offers spacious rooms with wooden floors and attached bathrooms with ultra modern design.These comfortable bedrooms are tastefully decorated and furnished, each with its own individual style. We look forward to your company whether you're staying in the guest rooms, or experiencing the famous food of the restaurant. One thing is for sure, you'll be sure to come back. Accommodation Stay in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Our comfortable 8 bedrooms which are newly constructed are tastefully decorated to highest standards when compared to other places in Ella and fully furnished, each with its own individual style. All rooms are having attached bathrooms designed with latest accessories and rich with elegant design ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dream Cafe & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing