We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream cafe Ella”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dream Cafe & Guest House
Ranked #41 of 157 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sultanate of Oman
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dream cafe Ella”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Freindly staff food good rooms appalling. Stayed one night on a tour. Room no. 2 & 4 were dirty with a makeshift shower and electrical socket hanging off the wall. Rooms upstairs possibly better but not seen

Room Tip: Ask to see room before accepting
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trailblazer53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dreamcafe e, Owner at Dream Cafe & Guest House, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
There was certainly a mistake here - The driver/guide approached us and asked for the cheapest rooms - he was told that the standard rate was 5500Rs for our guest house rooms. He then asked if we had cheaper - he was told that we had two rooms but just for drivers.Then he showed his elderly guests these rooms telling them it was a bargain. We insisted that they view the guest rooms and would never have considered any body but drivers using the rooms in question.
There are enough reports on our new operation supporting our high standards - we cannot control or divert the manipulations of drivers/guides who often have their own agenda!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    84
    23
    12
    4
See reviews for
35
90
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here earlier this week.

The owner, Samy was very hospitable and offered a map of sights/attractions nearby. He sat down with us for a chat about sights that'd be worth seeing. room & ensuite were spotless. Wooden floors & ceiling - a nice touch.

Very centrally located, close to everything. But the downside was the noise from the main road early in the morning and at times the kitchen downstairs.

Foodwise, they had the best Sri lankan omelette we'd tried, for breakfast - which is included in the tarriff. Very cold beers too.

Great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JStorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The room was a twin room, one with mosquito screen but the other was sofa beds so had to deal with the mosquitos. The bath window was permanently open so they could come in easily.
The people were very nice and the food was really good and way beyond our expectation.
Overall nice place...

Room Tip: have a dinner there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wranglerAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This place had the best guest rooms of all the guesthouses during our stay in Sri Lanka. The room was new and spacious, with an attached lounge room and verandah overlooking the creek at the back.
Beds were comfy and plenty of lockable storage.
The shower was amazing!! so much hot water.
Downside was the wifi was intermittent; and being on the main road was sometimes noisy.
Breakfast was included in our rate and was decent. A little more fruit would be good though!
We ate at the cafe a number of times - the pizzas were tasty and the eggplant curry was so good. The owner Sam was a lovely guy and is continually working to make this place even better!
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMAC84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

At first, we planned to stay a day in Nuwara Eliya and then another day in Ella. On the way, we decided to skip Nuwara Eliya and go straight on to Ella, still with the plan to stay there for a day.
We ended up staying 3 days! :)
The rooms are very very spacious, clean, with comfortable beds and a perfect shower, with nice warm water.
Sam, the owner, is a great guy, who informed us about many nice places to visit in the area. He's doing a great job.
The restaurant is very good as well, both the rice & curry as well as the pizza (according to Lonely Planet, he serves the best pizzas on the island!). Breakfast was really good too.
It was one of the first places we visited where we met a lot of people in a warm and relaxed atmosphere. We had so much fun and liked the area so much that we decided to stay 2 extra days.
Sam, keep on the good work! We reccomend this place to everyone visiting Ella!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Very helpfull and friendly staff, the food is delicious which you can eat in a lovely garden in the center of Ella. The rooms are very nice, some with a great view.
The owner helped is with our questions. We really liked it here. Next time we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirs2184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Lovely place, friendly service, large, clean, comfy room, great food, close to railway. Will for sure stay here again! Our train was an hour late, and the owner of Dream cafe picked us up in pouring rain without us even calling in advance...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1inka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.3 mi away
Misty Hills Ella
Misty Hills Ella
#17 of 157 in Ella
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
The View
The View
#27 of 157 in Ella
326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunnyside Holiday Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Rock Face Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
Ella Mount View Guest Inn
0.6 mi away
Ella Nature View
Ella Nature View
#22 of 157 in Ella
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Cafe & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Cafe & Guest House

Property: Dream Cafe & Guest House
Address: Main Street | Badulla District, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream Cafe & Guest Houses provides a brand new construction for accommodation which was done recently in addition to the famous restaurant. It offers spacious rooms with wooden floors and attached bathrooms with ultra modern design.These comfortable bedrooms are tastefully decorated and furnished, each with its own individual style. We look forward to your company whether you're staying in the guest rooms, or experiencing the famous food of the restaurant. One thing is for sure, you'll be sure to come back. Accommodation Stay in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Our comfortable 8 bedrooms which are newly constructed are tastefully decorated to highest standards when compared to other places in Ella and fully furnished, each with its own individual style. All rooms are having attached bathrooms designed with latest accessories and rich with elegant design ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dream Cafe & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing