We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Guesthouse, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dream Cafe & Guest House
Ranked #41 of 157 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Broadbeach, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Guesthouse, great location”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Had a lovely two night stay, well located, fantastic food and clean and spacious rooms. Sam was very accomodating especially with our three year old. Little Adam`s Peak is accessible via foot from the guesthouse. Sam also advised us of thee best Tea Factory to visit, accesible via tuk tuk. We can highly recommend the Dream Guesthouse, especially with children.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank FCREAM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    84
    23
    12
    4
See reviews for
35
90
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Love the cafe ambience & food, good & reasonable...room was well design but need to maintain the cleanliness as the bed sheet was dusty & saw a cockroach staying with us for two nights. Location was great right at the center of the town.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley Lizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willoughby
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Right in the centre of Main St., really central, but doesn`t have the great views that outlying guest-houses have. Yes, it is noisy, dogs and traffic in the small hours, but in every other way, it makes the grade. Excellent large modern rooms, some with separate living room, wonderful bathrooms, good lighting, universal sockets and a lockable drawer. Narrow balcony where you can sit with a drink and watch the world go by. Food fair to good, if rather more international than local. A prawn cocktail in a coconut (naff, I know) was so large that two of us couldn't finish it ($3) All beautifully and very professionally presented. Licenced, which not too many places are. Staff friendly and very efficient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterthegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

The rooms at Dream Cafe are great; spacious, thoughtfully designed and finished with good quality materials. Sadly, what with the lively bar next door being noisy til late and the barking dogs and bus horns going on all night and loud enough to be in the room with me, I didn't get the sleep I needed to enjoy my short stop in Ella. It was also one of the most expensive guesthouses I stayed in at $55 for a night, and the only place I met in SL that added a surprise service charge to the room charge, making the bill $62 for not a wink of sleep. Maybe they could invest their service charge income in some sound-proofing! Stay here with good earplugs and I'm sure you'll be happy enough.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We just spent one night in the Dream Cafe Guest House, but I loved the decoration of the room we stayed in. It was neatly done with light in a painting. My boyfriend was ill, so he definitely enjoyed the room to the fullest. The food is excellent. It's an easygoing place. The only disadvantage is, is that it's close to the main rood. Some rooms are set in the back where you won't be bothered by the traffic noise. Our room was on the ground floor and two little dogs guarded our door with their lives. They were cute.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vibster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

A very nice, clean, large and modern rooms and bathroom - very much in European style, nicely arranged. Soft, new, big and nicely smelling bath towels. They have really hot water! :)
Good breakfast with real coffee :) and service staff was nice. The only problem was noisy street - windows on the side of the main street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank syla2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray Leics
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The rooms are very good, with a large bathroom, bedroom and another room with two futons which could be used as a lounge.Rooms are very modern and clean. Sam the host is a great guy and the food is quite good. The main problem is the traffic noise which continues until at least 2am with large trucks rumbling past and tooting their horns. If you can sleep through noise you should have no complaints about the accommodation alternatively wear earplugs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.3 mi away
Misty Hills Ella
Misty Hills Ella
#17 of 157 in Ella
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
The View
The View
#28 of 157 in Ella
326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunnyside Holiday Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Rock Face Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
Ella Mount View Guest Inn
0.2 mi away
Morning Dew Hotel
Morning Dew Hotel
#34 of 157 in Ella
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Cafe & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Cafe & Guest House

Property: Dream Cafe & Guest House
Address: Main Street | Badulla District, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dream Cafe & Guest Houses provides a brand new construction for accommodation which was done recently in addition to the famous restaurant. It offers spacious rooms with wooden floors and attached bathrooms with ultra modern design.These comfortable bedrooms are tastefully decorated and furnished, each with its own individual style. We look forward to your company whether you're staying in the guest rooms, or experiencing the famous food of the restaurant. One thing is for sure, you'll be sure to come back. Accommodation Stay in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Our comfortable 8 bedrooms which are newly constructed are tastefully decorated to highest standards when compared to other places in Ella and fully furnished, each with its own individual style. All rooms are having attached bathrooms designed with latest accessories and rich with elegant design ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dream Cafe & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing