We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location and house, warm but chaotic host, noisy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ella
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morning Mist Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 183 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Morning mist guesthouse is located at a magical place. Absolutely stunning. Pat is a wonderful and warm host and a good cook. Her staff is excellent. The rooms are extremely clean, although the showers could be improved. We had high expectations give the raving reviews, but they were not entirely matched. There were three points of improvement. First, we came with our own car (no driver) and the house was absolutely impossible to find. We asked beforehand for clear instructions. Pat said it would be easy, but it really wasn't. If we didn't have GPS we would have never arrived. Second, Pat is chaotic. Although we had email contact the day before she was surprised by our arrival and we had to wait for 1,5 hours before we could enter our room. The next day we asked for a nice trip but here directions were so chaotic that we got lost, ruining our day. That was a surprise for us, because we are very active hikers and have a lot of experience hiking in the wild. Third, the walls are paper thin and do not reach to the ceiling. We could literally hear the guest in the room next to ours breathing and that is hardly the fault of the person breathing :) So all in all, I think we were just a bit unlucky. But if you do not come with your own transportation, if Pat is relaxed and you do not have to rely on her chaotic directions, and there are no guests in the room next to yours, this guest house is absolutely perfect. Pat is so nice and kind that we feel bad for not giving her a better scoring, but this is just how it was for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the corners and not the one in the middle. It has twin beds and the bathroom is ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lennart V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 247 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a super time at Morning Mist. Pat's food and hospitality was heartwarming, the view amazing (especially from the new bathroom, with a top to bottom windows with views of the mountains and valleys) and Pat arranges everything perfectly. Many thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTDJassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Wauw, great homestay like experience. Pat is a great host and most of all a awsome cook. Loving the diner with all the guests, what a nice people we have met. The lime room was exeptional because of the bathroom! Not so good for our budget, otherwise we would have stayed longer. Thanks pat!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hes86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Morning Mist - sits on a plateau in the most beautiful valley.Be prepared for a bumpy tuk tuk ride over steep mountain roads to get there - the house is mid way between Ella and Bandarawella. Pat and her helpers spoil you with amazing Sri Lankan food and lovely spacious clean rooms.
Plan to spend at least 2 nights - if only to enjoy the food and hospitality. It is easy to access the tea estates, other hill country towns as well as local walks from here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

After all the complications which happen when you try to book at the last moment (my fault)... Pat moved heaven and earth to fit me in somehow... and I just stayed on, the result of cancellations... thank goodness! After all my frantic calls, Pat was there, with her arms stretched out wide for the best hug I have had in a long time! And I stayed until the place was booked to bursting and sadly moved on.

Where to start? The food... to die for.... The area... stunning... So lucky...all five days were rain free. Adventures....? Plenty! The walk over Ella's rock was really something - I walked it with another lovely guest from MM... We went swimming in the waterfalls, clambering up jungle strewn hills...through beautiful Tasmanian woodland... and walked along the railway track, just missing a train that came from behind us! Loved it! There are several other lovely walks besides with stunning views. Just ask...

Remember to have one meal at the Dream Cafe (the only way I could do it was to have two dinners instead of lunch so I could still eat Pat's food!).... Also lemon cake at the Follies is essential.... Pat makes a different breakfast every day and each one is beautifully presented and mouth-wateringly delicious. Make sure she cooks you her aubergine curry as well.... soooo good! She also sweetly cooked and fed me pasta at lunchtimes when needed.

Pat's place is lovely, welcoming, clean and comfortable. I feel privileged to have stayed there, there was nothing too small or big that Pat couldn't do... I still miss it.... my favourite guesthouse in Sri Lanka... Pat is an absolute star - as is her little team.

Another must... go to see Beverley at Ambra, I think it is - the tea plantation just next door to Morning Mist... I didn't bother to visit a tea plantation elsewhere in Sri Lanka after going there... Beverly recounted the history of tea... very, very interesting...! And her tea is the ONLY handmade tea in Sri Lanka - and she only sells it to the very best: Fortnum and Mason in London - you can't get better British tea experts than Fand M... The tea sells for 350 pounds a kilo there, but you can pick it up... the best tea in Sri Lanka for a smidgen of the price if you pop round to Ambra... and it's beautifully wrapped. I'm still hauling the tea, coffee and jams I bought from Beverly around Malaysia with me! The marmalade is out of this world... as is her tea.

Thanks for introducing me Pat! You're the best! I'll be keeping in touch!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelAsiaAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We loved our stay at Morning Mist,a wonderful setting, very comfortable and well appointed rooms with stunning views. Pat the proprietor is delightful and could not have been kinder nothing was too much trouble, excellent food - really delicious. Lovely and interesting local walks. All in all a very enjoyable stay in a beautiful and tranquil place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prudence s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We spent two lovely nights here after deciding we needed a bit of peace and quiet before continuing our three week holiday and this was the perfect place. Picked up by Sampath (Pat's driver) in his tuktuk, even the journey to the guesthouse was an exciting adventure! Pat is half italian, half french and has had a truly international upbringing. Staying here was more like staying with a family relation and we felt very welcome and comfortable. The house itself is beautiful, very clean with modern furniture. All the guestrooms are at the top of the house and we have no complaints. Only advice would be to read in the lounge and then get into bed - first night we read in bed and attracted a fair few moths and their friends into our room.
The food was out of this world, and Pat knows her cooking! We went half board, and Pat also made us a yummy pasta salad for lunch. All meals were three course and the portion sizes very generous. As an example, avocado and tomato salad with french dressing and crumbled walnuts, followed by three types of curry with rice and poppadams, followed by homemade ice cream!
We walked the garden and the tea plantation and walked the village. We also went on a hike to the top of a local hill.
It was great to chat to Pat and hear her stories and we really enjoyed talking to Madu and Sampath (a local couple that help around the house) and their 6-year old daughter.

This place is an absolute gem. After seeing Nuwara Eliya, we decided to forgo Ella town centre and stay here instead and I'm so glad we did. Book it!!

Room Tip: peach or pearl recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8cdinsdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
2.8 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
2.9 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ella
197 reviews
2.7 mi away
Chamodya Home Stay
Chamodya Home Stay
#1 of 183 in Ella
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lucky Star
Lucky Star
#8 of 183 in Ella
221 reviews
2.8 mi away
Waterfalls View
Waterfalls View
#6 of 183 in Ella
224 reviews
2.8 mi away
Zion View
Zion View
#11 of 183 in Ella
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morning Mist Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Mist Guesthouse

Address: Laksirigama | Ambadandegama, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range: $20 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an organic tea plantation in the hill country of Sri Lanka, near both Bandarawela and Ella, Morning Mist offers 4 spacious & very clean double guest rooms, with bathrooms (with hot water), and a family cottage, sleeping up to 6/7 person and a new separate Family Suite, sleeping up to 4 person (max.). Breakfast is included. We also serve lovely local and international meals on request. You will enjoy a restful and refreshing stay on this beautiful location, great for hiking (Ravana Ella Falls/Rock/Cave, Lipton Seat...), Bird watching, visiting nearby tea factories (in particular Amba's artisanal organic teas)... For those who stay over 2 nights, cooking lessons are also available, on prior request.Transportation and touring can be arranged. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing