We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will be coming back...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 98 Acres Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
98 Acres Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ella
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We will be coming back...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here this week - a truly unique location for a hotel.

If for nothing else - you have to stay here for the views. I challenge you to find a hotel with a better view in the world, it really is that good.

The food is pretty good, the service is attentive (the guys ran and found us umbrellas when we went back to our rooms just before a rainstorm).

I'd recommend breakfast on your balcony,unless you somehow get to experience a similar view at home!

Wish we'd stayed for longer and chilled out by the pool... But we can do that next time!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the splendid views and were able to have a wonderful experience at our resort. We will make sure to let the staff know you appreciated their efforts to make your stay a comfortable one. Thank you so much for the lovely comments and the review on Trip Advisor. We hope you do come again and enjoy a longer stay. It was pleasure having you stay at 98 Acres Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    272
    78
    35
    18
See reviews for
234
736
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with my wife in August 2014 as part of our tour of Sri Lanka.
There is no doubt that the hotel location is stunning. The view fom our balcony was spectacular. The room was small but clean with a double bed surrounded by a large mosquito net which was great to have around us in the evening. The hotel and the location combined give off a very rustic romantic feel to your stay. The dining area is a lovely open sided wooden hut that also shares amazing views of the surrounding mountains. Judging on these things alone I would rate the hotel as a clear 5 star unfortunately this is very quickly spoilt as soon as you have to deal with any member of the staff.
Our first issue came when after travelling Sri Lanka for a couple of weeks we were glad when we arrived to our room and the welcome book stated that the hotel offered a laundry service. We called the laundry manager whose personal number was in the book only to have the call answered by somebody with no grasp of the English language, after trying every variation of, "we need to do some laundry, we have items to wash, we have dirty clothes" and received only confused grunts in response we finally got him to send someone to our room. When the staff member eventually arrived he seemed just as confused as the person on the other end of the phone giving us only a blank expression in response to our laundry request. When we eventually handed him an arm full of dirty clothing he seemed to understand and went off on his way. 10 minutes later a different member of staff returned our clothing to us stating that the hotel offered no such laundry service and that we should contact the reception to help arrange such a thing. We contacted reception to be greeted with more confusion and the eventual snubbed response that we should ask our guide who brought us to the hotel to deal with our laundry issue. Eventually we sorted the laundry ourselves after a 20 min walk into town at a laundry in the village. After I got my clothing returned I requested the reception to bring an iron to my room. A staff member brought us an iron and ironing board into our room but after ten minutes it had completely disappeared beneath the 10 million ants that had crawled out of it. I grabbed the infested iron and placed it into the shower to rinse off the ants and when I finally thought it safe I filled the steam section with water and plugged it in. The smell of fried ant that filled our room was difficult to get rid of and the first 3 jets of steam to come from the iron fired a further 10 million boiled ants into my newly laundered clothing.
On our first evening we went to dine in the hotel restaurant where the service was incredibly slow but the burger that I ate was rather nice. Whilst in the restaurant we were asked to fill out our choices on a menu for the next mornings breakfast which seemed a bizarre way of doing things, is it so difficult to simply order my breakfast in the morning??
When we went for our breakfast the next morning there were 3 staff members in the restaurant who completely ignored us and let us choose our own seats. After being seated for around 15 minutes and completely ignored by all 3 waiters we approached them to ask if it was possible to get some coffee to which the reply was 'it's coming'. We finally received our breakfast order completely incorrect however we ate what we received as we thought we would probably be in there until the evening if we ordered something else. It's definitely worth a mention that the food that we did eat was lovely.
The next evening we decided to go and eat in the town to get some better service, which we did.
The next morning I was disturbed from my peaceful slumber at 0640am by a staff member knocking on my door to remind me that I hadn't filled in my breakfast order the night before, after a few choice grumbles from me about the ridiculous hour to be knocking on my door he quickly scarpered. When we eventually made it to the restaurant at 0830 am we were greeted by more ignorance for around 20 minutes before requesting some coffee and being told that we hadn't filled in a request. Instead of simply taking our order the waiter brought us another request sheet on which we ordered 2 eggs, some toast and a pot of coffee. 15 minutes later we received some fresh juice, a bread basket and a plate full of pancakes. 10 minutes after questioning the food we received our eggs and coffee eventually arrived which again were very nice.
The third evening we ate in the restaurant again as I wanted to have another of the lovely burgers I enjoyed on our first night. When we arrived we were again ignored for 10 minutes by 3 waiters who we eventually asked for some menus and 2 drinks, we chatted amongst ourselves for around 25 minutes before we realised that we hadn't yet received our drinks, we turned to the bar to check on the waiters to see that both of our drinks were out on the waiters service tray at the end of the bar but all 3 of the waiters were stood watching the TV completely oblivious to our presence. When we asked is it possible to get some service and receive our drinks and order some food they seemed to be annoyed that we had disturbed them.
When my burger eventually arrived, having ordered the same as the first night, it was a very different experience from my first. The burger was horrible this time and full of very large lumps of fat. I quickly paid my bill and looked forwards to leaving the next morning.

All in all the rooms and views were wonderful the breakfasts were very nice but the staff were amongst the worst I have ever encountered. Such a shame.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have amazing views my only tip would be to enjoy the room and views and try to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for deciding to stay with us. Thank you so much for appreciating the ambiance of our resort. However we would like to sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences you experienced. There is no doubt about the fact that the entire fault is ours, and there will be immediate measure taken into action to correct every mistake you have mentioned. The staff has been informed and we have organized staff trainings for each and every member of the staff, and they will be given adequate training to avoid these kind of situations from happening in the future. We will make sure the chef knows you loved the burger that was served to you on the day of your arrival. Again we cannot apologize enough for the experience you endured. We do hope you come again, and we will promise to provide you with a pleasant experience. Thank you again for staying at 98 Acres Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the 98 Acres Resort in August 2014.

The bungalows were spacious and well equipped. The shower / bath room was all natural stone - it reminded me a bit of the Flintstones.

The view from our balcony was just stunning; you saw straight to Small Adams Peak. All surrounded by tea plantation.

The food was very good, too. A modern / fusion take on Sri Lankain cuisine. We had the best Sri Lanka breakfast in the restaurant / cafe of the resort.

The small swimming pool amidst tea plants was like a little gem. We would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina_M_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for deciding to stay with us. We hope you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed everything we had to offer. We are so glad you enjoyed the views, the tea plantation and the pool. Thank you for the wonderful thoughts and the review on Trip Advisor. We will make sure to let the chef know you loved the food, especially the Sri Lankan Breakfast. It was a pleasure having you stay with us, we hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

We have recently returned from a tour of Sri Lanka. We chose this place in preference to the one our tour company suggested in Ella and we were absolutely delighted. It is an enchanting place, beautifully designed with a incomparable views of Little Adam's Peak and Ella Rock and on down to the hazy plains below. We stayed half board and were delighted that this included a five course menu in the evening - all good food, not elaborate but well prepared. The Sri Lankan food was excellent. We're dreaming about coming back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newtrimalchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We are so glad you had a wonderful and a memorable stay and appreciated everything we had to offer. Thank you for the thoughtful comments and the review on Trip Advisor. We will make sure the chef knows you loved the food, especially the Sri Lankan cuisine . We do hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort, it was a pleasure having you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Having stayed in a number of top class hotels both on business and on holidays, 98 Acres is up there as one of the best. The location and views from each of the rooms were spectacular, you are within a tea plantation and can see the tea pickers as you are having breakfast.

The staff were very attentive and very friendly. The food is also top class, we choose the Sri Lankan curry meal which was lovely.

The only criticism was we were only here for 1 night

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garycoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We are delighted to know that you loved the stay and everything we had to offer. Thank you for the lovely comments and a great review on Trip Advisor. We will make sure the staff knows you appreciated their efforts and also would let the chef know you loved the food. Maybe next time you could stay for more than a day. We would love to have you stay at 98 Acres Resort again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

stayed at 98 in a August 2014 with my wife and it was awesome. Love the friendly service, nice room setting and good foods served. View from the little adam's peak in the early morning was great.
thank you all staff, management for making our stay a memorable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manoj-Handapangoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for opting to stay with us. We sincerely hope we were able to provide you with a wonderful and memorable stay, and hope you enjoyed everything we had to offer. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the views from Little Adam's peak, it sure is wonderful there. Thank you for the lovely thoughts and the review on Trip Advisor. It would be our pleasure to pass on your appreciation to the staff and the management. Thank you so much for the lovely photos uploaded. We hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Me and my wife stayed there for a day on 25th July 2014, its a wonderful property and all employees were very friendly and specially Mr. Sachitha was very helpful. The cottage was awesome and the view was amazing. We will visit once again

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony over looking the valley is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sajit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We are very much delighted to know that you had a splendid time at our resort. Thank you for all the wonderful thoughts and the review on Trip Advisor. We would make sure to pass your kind regards to the staff and let them know their efforts were apprecaited, especially Mr Sachitha. Please do come again, we would love to have you stay at 98 Acres Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ella
1.1 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
0.4 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 10 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
3.3 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#4 of 10 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#8 of 10 in Ella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
17.8 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,397 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ella Jungle Resort
Ella Jungle Resort
#4 of 86 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 98 Acres Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 98 Acres Resort

Property: 98 Acres Resort
Address: Passara Rd / Namunukula Rd | Uva Greenland Estate, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 98 Acres Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, Eco Friendly Boutique Resort built in a 98 acre tea estate with panoramic views.....12 villa type rooms, Large swimming pool, Restaurant serving Western and Sri Lankan food, Specialty tea menu, Heli Pad, Wifi Access, Bikes for Rent, Hiking and Biking Facilities, Wonderful Treks and Right in front of Ella's Main Attraction - Little Adams Peak. We do not provide Driver / Guides Accommodation but we are happy to provide you with contact numbers and information of guest houses / hotels in a very close proximity to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your 98 Acres Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing