We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,896)
Filter reviews
1,897 results
Traveler rating
1,280
414
129
51
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,280
414
129
51
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tea plantation adams peak premium deluxe room golf buggy sri lanka honeymoon suite amazing views restaurant staff stunning location set menu hotel is situated arch bridge amazing place hill country large balcony stayed longer tuk tuk
Filter
Updating list...
1,301 - 1,306 of 1,897 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I must say we loved staying here. The view is amazing and its a special place generally. The hotel has a great restuarant and the pool is fab. We only stayed one night and wished we had stayed longer. You can walk up to Little Adams Peak from the Hotel. While we ate breakfast there are tea pickers all around us. The resturant and bar are spectacular. I cannot recommend this place enough.

Room tip: They are all amazing
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toldham001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Hello
Thank you so much for opting to stay with us. We are glad that you had a wonderful time at our resort. Thank you so much for the wonderful thoughts and glad you enjoyed the trek to Little Adams Peak and the views from the restaurant. Please do come again, hope to see you at 98 Acres Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Wow - what a setting - amongst the tea and clearly a lot of investment setting up a real utopia - also down to many little details.

We only stopped for tea at the main covered area above the pool but we were wishing we had stayed here.

I would say however that despite it being fairly quiet and well staffed, the service (pleasant though it was) was a bit slow and my pot of tea was luke warm. Also having read a few other reports - it sounds like the management need to sharpen the pencil to make this THE place to stay in Ella.

Date of stay: April 2014
Thank DavidLong99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Thank you for visiting us, we are so glad you did. Hope you enjoyed the visit. Thank you for the lovely comments and the review on Trip Advisor. We will make sure to take into account all your suggestions. Maybe next time you can come and stay with us, it would be a pleasure having you. Hope to see you at 98 Acres Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night during our honeymoon in Sri Lanka, and loved it. We both wished we'd stayed longer. The accommodation is tree house style with modern amenities, and has the feeling of a luxury Eco village. The views from the balconies are spectacular. The only thing that disappointed me was the attitude of one member of staff. The book in the room says that you need to be appropriately dressed for dinner. We went into the place just to see what was on the menu and the waiter looked my husband up and down - indicating that he didn't look up to scratch. We weren't planning on dining at that time, and it would have been a lot more polite to save said something to us, rather than acted in this manner. We are there later on and the food was good. We weren't offered the Sri Lankan menu, which was a shame, but all in all it was lovely. Yummy papaya juice and a lovely fruit platter. The rooms were all clean and we got a great sleep. Would I recommend this place to others? Absolutely.

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank AnonyWozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Hello

Thank you so much for opting to stay with us, and we hope you had a wonderful honeymoon and so glad we were able to make your stay unforgettable. Thank you for the thoughts and comments. However we do apologize for the inconvenience caused by the staff member, we have advised the staff and made sure incidents such as this will never happen in the future, we apologize again. However please do come again, it was a pleasure having you. Hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Set amongst a tea plantation at the top of the mountain overlooking the gorgeous Ella valley, this boutique resort gets its 5 stars just with its setting. Rooms were nice although the bathroom was a little basic. The chef was great - personable and very capable, but the rest of the staff have room for improvement. The morning walk was a real highlight. Would love to visit again!

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priyan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Hello

Thank you so much for opting to stay with us, we are so glad you had a wonderful time at our resort. Thank you so much for the lovely thoughts and the review on Trip Advisor. We will make sure to pass on your kind thoughts to the Chef. Thank you for the suggestions with the staff, we will take that into account. Hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We enjoyed our time here. The rooms are basic but functional - air conditioning is not really necessary up in the hills and the fan worked well. The view from the balcony is simply beautiful.
The dining hall is lovely, airy and spacious, and the cooking is good. The pool looked lovely, tho we were too busy birdwatching and walking round the hills to use it.

But - this is not a property for those who struggle with steps. I counted 70 from the path to the rooms up to the dining hall; it may be a few more or less depending on which route you take but you cannot avoid steps. The pool is at this level too. If you take a lower level room, there are about 25 steps down (and up!) from the room to the main path.

Room tip: See comment re steps above!
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ama2012374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Hello

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We hope you enjoyed the stay at out resort. Thank you
so much for the lovey comments and the review on Trip Advisor. However we do apologize if the steps were a bit of an inconvenience, although those steps are part of the appeal of the resort. Nonetheless thank you again for staying with us, we do hope to see again at 98 Acres Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews