We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite Hotel in Sri Lanka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
98 Acres Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night during our honeymoon in Sri Lanka, and loved it. We both wished we'd stayed longer. The accommodation is tree house style with modern amenities, and has the feeling of a luxury Eco village. The views from the balconies are spectacular. The only thing that disappointed me was the attitude of one member of staff. The book in the room says that you need to be appropriately dressed for dinner. We went into the place just to see what was on the menu and the waiter looked my husband up and down - indicating that he didn't look up to scratch. We weren't planning on dining at that time, and it would have been a lot more polite to save said something to us, rather than acted in this manner. We are there later on and the food was good. We weren't offered the Sri Lankan menu, which was a shame, but all in all it was lovely. Yummy papaya juice and a lovely fruit platter. The rooms were all clean and we got a great sleep. Would I recommend this place to others? Absolutely.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank AnonyWozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Hello

Thank you so much for opting to stay with us, and we hope you had a wonderful honeymoon and so glad we were able to make your stay unforgettable. Thank you for the thoughts and comments. However we do apologize for the inconvenience caused by the staff member, we have advised the staff and made sure incidents such as this will never happen in the future, we apologize again. However please do come again, it was a pleasure having you. Hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,434)
There are newer reviews for 98 Acres Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

917 - 923 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

Set amongst a tea plantation at the top of the mountain overlooking the gorgeous Ella valley, this boutique resort gets its 5 stars just with its setting. Rooms were nice although the bathroom was a little basic. The chef was great - personable and very capable, but the rest of the staff have room for improvement. The morning walk was a real highlight. Would love to visit again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priyan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Hello

Thank you so much for opting to stay with us, we are so glad you had a wonderful time at our resort. Thank you so much for the lovely thoughts and the review on Trip Advisor. We will make sure to pass on your kind thoughts to the Chef. Thank you for the suggestions with the staff, we will take that into account. Hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We enjoyed our time here. The rooms are basic but functional - air conditioning is not really necessary up in the hills and the fan worked well. The view from the balcony is simply beautiful.
The dining hall is lovely, airy and spacious, and the cooking is good. The pool looked lovely, tho we were too busy birdwatching and walking round the hills to use it.

But - this is not a property for those who struggle with steps. I counted 70 from the path to the rooms up to the dining hall; it may be a few more or less depending on which route you take but you cannot avoid steps. The pool is at this level too. If you take a lower level room, there are about 25 steps down (and up!) from the room to the main path.

Room Tip: See comment re steps above!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ama2012374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Hello

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We hope you enjoyed the stay at out resort. Thank you
so much for the lovey comments and the review on Trip Advisor. However we do apologize if the steps were a bit of an inconvenience, although those steps are part of the appeal of the resort. Nonetheless thank you again for staying with us, we do hope to see again at 98 Acres Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

If I was to review this place on the view then it would get top marks...
However, the hotel itself is slightly lacking. The rooms are of a nice standard, but not the best. I think over time they're going to become a little shabby.
The actual reception is a bit of an up hill trek to get to, which was difficult at 7pm with luggage and no staff to be seen!
We eventually sorted out our rooms and were asked to choose our evening meal and be there for 8.30 pm which was a tad rude as we were told at reception that dinner was till 10.30pm
We did as we were told and had a lovely meal with friends in the open restaurant. However, while still eating we were asked what we wanted for breakfast....never had that before, but we went along with it... Then at 10 pm a waiter told us we had to go to our rooms because they were closing! VERY STRANGE. After a good night sleep and an amazing view of dawn breaking we went for breakfast, and were given completely different things to what we ordered the night before!
All in all a mixed stay!
Staff definitely need training.
However, if we return to Ella we would stay here just for the view!

Room Tip: All rooms have magnificent view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anntte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Hello

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and thank you for rating us Very Good. We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. You can actually take the vehicle up to the reception, you don’t have to walk all the way up to the reception, sorry you didn’t see the signs. We will make sure the staff knows your concerns about the time of dinner and we apologize on behalf of the waiting staff, they should not have disturbed you during the meal. We will make sure the staff have adequate training here in on. Thank you nonetheless for staying with us. We hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We travelled all over Sri Lanka and this was one of the two best places we stayed in. The setting is unbelievable - staggering views across the mountains. We did some modest trekking into the surroundings, went down into the village a couple of times but mostly stayed around the hotel. We stayed an extra night we liked it so much so three nights in all. The food and the service were excellent - we ordered specific dishes from the chef - just a very beautiful place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnReading2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Hello

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We are utterly glad that you had a wonderful time at our resort, and also glad that you enjoyed the treks. Thank you so much for the wonderful comments and reviews on Trip Advisor. It would be out pleasure to pass on your kind regards to the staff and the chef. Please do come again, it was pleasure having you with us. Hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

The place and view is amazing. Wake up for the sunrise, it's worth of.

Room looks very nice but there is very bad kerosin smell from the repurposed wood of the bed.

Food and service was awfull. In the 4times cheaper place we get far better food and much warmer invitation. Never again. Not worth of money at all.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank davcz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Hello
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. Thank you for the comments on the rooms, however we apologize if you had an unfortunate experience, and that our services did not live up to your standards.
We have looked into the problems that you have mentioned and we are glad to say that everything is looked into by all departments.
Thank you nonetheless for staying at our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We only stayed for one night at 98 acres resort. It was the most beautiful experience ever. From the room we had the most magnificent view overlooking the top of the hills (e.g. little Adams peak) There were no mosquitos and the temperature was about 25 degrees.
If you ever come to Ella, you should try 98 acres for at least one night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tureh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Hello

Thank You so much for opting to stay with us, we are utterly glad you enjoyed the scenery and everything we had to offer. Thank you so much for the great review on Trip Advisor. Please do come again, it was a pleasure having you with us. Hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ella
1.1 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
1.4 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#8 of 11 in Ella
149 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 11 in Ella
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#5 of 11 in Ella
239 reviews
17.8 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
2,594 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 98 Acres Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 98 Acres Resort and Spa

Address: Passara Rd | Uva Greenland Estate, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Price Range: $215 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 98 Acres Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, Eco Friendly Boutique Resort built in a 98 acre tea estate with panoramic views.....12 villa type rooms, Large swimming pool, Restaurant serving Western and Sri Lankan food, Specialty tea menu, Heli Pad, Wifi Access, Bikes for Rent, Hiking and Biking Facilities, Wonderful Treks and Right in front of Ella's Main Attraction - Little Adams Peak. We do not provide Driver / Guides Accommodation but we are happy to provide you with contact numbers and information of guest houses / hotels in a very close proximity to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 98 Acres Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing