We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
98 Acres Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Certificate of Excellence
Paxos, Greece
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Stunning place”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for anniversary treat

It was poya day when we arrived so no alcohol! No anniversary gin & tonic! Ha ha we survived

UNBELIEVABLE View from room at sunrise, one of the best ever.

Very impressive resort with only 12 rooms. Staff rushed us a bit on check out, there was a golf buggy outside at 11:59 to collect bags but understand that new guests arriving but felt 'pushed' all the same.

You have to stay here if u fancy a little treat. If only to wake up at dawn for the tropical bird calls & to see the sunrise

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paxosconcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hi,
Thank you for deciding to spend your anniversary at our resort, we are so glad you had a wonderful time. Thank you so much for your humble thoughts and your review on Trip Advisor. We apologize if you felt a bit rushed at the checkout. We will inform your suggestions to the House Keeping department so they will correct their methods. We hope you enjoyed your anniversary and maybe next time hopefully the bar will be open and you can try out our signature cocktails !!! It was a pleasure having you at our resort. Hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    293
    85
    39
    18
See reviews for
255
794
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This was my second visit to 98 acres. This time we stayed at the resort. It still has a unique allure that prevails since its opening. The view of the surrounding countryside is simply breathtaking and the mist at night envelopes the resort in a peaceful serenity.

Rooms are spacious and generously equipped with a wide range of amenities. Surprisingly despite the cold climes outside the rooms were quite warm and cozy.

The restaurant offers a wide range of al la carte options and make yummy burgers.

All in all it was a great trip and will definitely return in the near future :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiran_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Hello,
Thank You so much for deciding to stay with us again! We are utterly glad you had a spectacular experience. Thank you for your Second review and we very much appreciate your humble comments. We will make sure the chef knows you loved the burger. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, it was our pleasure to have you. Hope you to see you again at 98 Acres Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

This is the place if you want to relax, look a something beautiful all the time, get a fabulous service - which is not servile, just very polite. The food was excellent, the bungalows full of air and everything is really good taste. The massages took place overlooking the teaplantages - we will go back!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Hello,
Thank you so much for deciding to stay with us. We highly appreciate your wonderful thoughts and your review. It's such a joy to hear you had a splendid stay at our Resort. We will make sure to convey your kind regards to the chef and our staff. Hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort. Thank you gain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Beautiful place. Worth for money. The view of the mountain "Punchi Siri Pada" is an unbelievable scene. You can even go on trail to that mountain too(an easy trail). All cottages are good but not luxurious. Beauty of the scenes are the gem here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SumithPrasanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Hi

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We highly appreciate your thoughts and your review. Hope you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you at our Hotel. Hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort.
And thank you so much for all the photos you have uploaded, they are lovely.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stayed in this luxurious hotel for 3 days very recently with my family. We got 2 spacious Deluxe rooms which were in a truly lovely location and has it's own private living area, while also feeling close to nature.

The location was great, surrounded by beautiful mountains with a cozy and comforting weather. The property is beautiful and kept very clean. It's built on a hill, so you get great views as you walk back and forth from your room. Even the bathrooms were clean and tidy.

The service is what makes the property stands out as the staff is beyond friendly and helpful. The food was also outstanding. Pool area was our favorite, most of the time we had it to our selves and the gym was also ok. Lovely spa which offered a range of herbal treatments.

I would highly recommend this place, nothing to complain about,
Thank you for a lovely stay ...

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raveesha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Hi

Thank you so much for deciding to stay with us. We hope you and your family had a wonderful time. We are absolutely grateful for your thought and your reviews. We will make sure to convey your kind regards to the chef and the staff. Its a pleasure to have served you. Hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo
Level Contributor
187 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Nestled among the Tea gardens
Nestled among the Tea gardens is this rustic but comfortable boutique hotel consisting of 12 units, a bar, restaurant and a pool. Spa and fitness center is a thoughtful addition though the spa services are on the expensive side. It is a good launching pad for a trek to the mini Adam's peak. Each unit has a lovely view of the tea gardens, the valley, the Mini Adam's Peak and Ella Rock. The restaurant offers a decent selection of dishes. A hit dish is the traditional Lamprais - basmati rice cooked with chicken masala and veggies and wrapped in banana leaf. There is also a tea menu offering various types of teas. In February during our two nights stay (bed and breakfast) we found that the weather turned to cold and breezy every evening. Days were warm. Over all a nice place - quiet, scenic and comfortable.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fulldistance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Hello
Thank you for staying with us. We hope you has a wonderful time. We appreciate your thoughts and reviews. We will make sure to convey your appreciation for the food to our chef. Hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed here with a group of 5 friends for 2 nights in January. The Weather was ideal at around 20 degrees midday. All the rooms had a fantastic view of the mountains. Mornings are ideal for bird watching.

There are several treks which start from the Resort. we tried two of them... one which is 30 minutes and the other a half day trek.

The rooms are spacious and very well equipped (even though we stayed in a standard room). the restaurant was great with a good selection of meals. Best to order early from the room as they will call you when its ready. in house bar has a very wide choice. The Management was very helpful and we were even greeted by the Owner of the resort...very personalized service!

Would definitely recommend and will revisit for sure!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shehanferdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Hello
Thank you so much for opting to stay with us. We highly appreciate your comments and your review. We are glad you had a wonderful time on the treks and the fact that you enjoyed the stay. We will convey your compliments to the management and all the staff. It was a pleasure serving you. Hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ella
1.1 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
1.4 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#9 of 11 in Ella
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 11 in Ella
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#4 of 11 in Ella
222 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#5 of 11 in Ella
142 reviews
17.8 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 98 Acres Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 98 Acres Resort and Spa

Property: 98 Acres Resort and Spa
Address: Passara Rd / Namunukula Rd | Uva Greenland Estate, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 98 Acres Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, Eco Friendly Boutique Resort built in a 98 acre tea estate with panoramic views.....12 villa type rooms, Large swimming pool, Restaurant serving Western and Sri Lankan food, Specialty tea menu, Heli Pad, Wifi Access, Bikes for Rent, Hiking and Biking Facilities, Wonderful Treks and Right in front of Ella's Main Attraction - Little Adams Peak. We do not provide Driver / Guides Accommodation but we are happy to provide you with contact numbers and information of guest houses / hotels in a very close proximity to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your 98 Acres Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing