We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“98 Acres.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
98 Acres Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“98 Acres.”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Excellent hotel if you want to chill out. Hotel in the middle of the Tea growing estate. View fron the balcony fantastic. The rooms very comfortable. Too far from the town centre. We enjoyed our one night stay.xx

Room Tip: All the rooms have fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 36basil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Hello

Thank you for opting to stay with us. We appreciate your comments and your thoughts. We hope you had a wonderful time with us. Hope to see you again at 98 Acres resort.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    312
    94
    41
    18
See reviews for
282
828
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moratuwa, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Itz our honeymoon stay @ 98 acres....had a unforgettable experiences at resort. so nice place..fantastic views, though it was a rainy season it not hurt us to feel the maximum...well trained staff..clean and comfortable rooms..thanks a lot for every staff @ 98 resort for the kind attention payed to us during our stay..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Hello
We are ecstatic that you had a wonderful honeymoon and thank you for choosing to stay at our Hotel. We highly regard your comments and your wonderful thoughts on Trip Advisor.
It is our utmost pleasure to convey your kind thoughts to the staff. We thank you again for your stay. It was a pleasure to have with us. Hope to see you again at 98 Acres resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

A small resort with lovely rustic looking'traditonal huts' perched on the side of the hillside. The views from the rooms and balconies are the real selling point as it would be hard to beat waking up to the sight of rolling hills and mist, with tea plantations in the foreground really.
Be prepared to wrap up, especially in the evenings, as it was several degrees cooler than Kandy where we'd been before. The large open restaurant at the top of the hill behind the accommodation was lovely in the daytime and for breakfast, but was rather cold and draughty at night. The food was okay but not the highlight here, but breakfasts were quite varied. As the resort is a little way out of Ella itself most people tended to eat at the restaurant, but a tuk tuk ride to the town wasn't an over expensive alternative if you want a bit more activity or choice.
Recommended for a couple of days for the location alone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodieang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Hi
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We highly appreciate your thoughts and reviews. We hope you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort.
It was our pleasure to have served you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We've heard about this beautiful place via a friend, and then saw the website and ever since we've been wanting to come here. We finally got the chance in January 2014 and booked for 2 nights 12th & 14th (it was a last minute booking so we couldn't get two consecutive nights.)

Every review about this hotel is true and honest - the location, rooms, services and almost everything about this hotel is wonderfully excellent!!!

The food is great - although there's little choice, but that didn't matter really at all. The staff is very friendly and helpful, well trained that even the minor staff attending the garden take a minute to greet us Good Morning with a warm smile.

The view the rooms offer in the morning - there's no words to explain how breathtaking it is. We were lucky stay in both ground/upper rooms and both views were simply amazing.

Travel tips: if you come here, don't miss a hike to Little Adam's peak and Ella rock, unfortunately we couldn't do that.

Hope to come here again.. and again. It's truly a heaven.

Room Tip: Room 111 and 112 would give an excellent view of both the Little Adam's Peak and Ella Rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chathuranganie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Hello,
Thank you so much for opting to stay with us. We are grateful for your wonderful thoughts and the reviews on Trip Advisor. It was wonderful to hear that you had a great stay. And we will make sure that the staff and the chef receive your kind compliments.
It was our pleasure to have served you. We hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort.
Thank you again for your Thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were so looking forward to this hotel, wanted an eco-friendly Sri Lankan experience. Pictures represent the exterior accurately. The views are fabulous, decor basic. Bathroom in our room had a bath with views overlooking the bed and mountain, which is glorious, But means entire bath open to bedroom. Drains in our son's bathroom smelt so much the window had to be kept open . Torn screens, dirty corners and lumpy pillows. Staff in restaurant and kitchen helpful, lots of western food.
Location is very beautiful, walking wonderful but in the middle of backpacking country.
Completely underwhelmed

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Hello
Thank you for your review and your feedback. We are truely sorry you did not like the interior and the decoration on our rooms. Most people love the interior and the Eco friendly amenities in our rooms. They especially prefer the open concept of the bathtubs, it has always garnered positive feedback, we are sorry that it does not suit your taste unfortunately. The matter of the drain would have been rectified easily if you had mentioned it to the Housekeeping staff. And please note that there is a separate Sri Lankan menu available with various Sri Lankan dishes. Its rather strange you did not notice it since it is given to everyone. Ella is a famous and preferred place by the backpackers, but its also a beautiful country side with lots of trekking and hiking spots along the villages and the jungle, you could thoroughly enjoy it even if you don’t happen to a back packer. Sorry we were not able to serve up to your expectations. Hope you had a great holiday in Sri Lanka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed in room 110, i could just sit on that balcony all day !!!!!, Wonderful view excellent climate. It really does give you the effect of "Refreshing Yourself" on a holiday. We had a 3 day trip in the upcountry and what a way to finish it off. Unfortunately we only got to stay there for 1 night as it was full ( No wonder), Most of the room amneties were made from recycled stuff, they had different types of tea which were complimentary. THe nights and the mornings are extremely cold. BUt for some reason we didnt mind them. Even though it was freezing cold i made it a point to jump into the pool before i left. My wife was not that keen on it as she was suffering after a day long hike !!! ah another point to appreciate the attentiveness of their staff the restaurant manager (Unfortunately i dont remember his name :-( , went out of the way to get us a tube of pain reliever cream to ease her pain.
The food was also excellent , everything was a multiple course menu, all were served hot and I should also appreciate the attentiveness of the waiting staff.
Everything about this place was positive, and i would definitely go there again.Again a wonderful experience

Room Tip: Rooms towards the far end are better, but all rooms have an equally good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niroshan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Hello,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We are glad that you had a wonderful time and utterly grateful for your thoughts and reviews on Trip Advisor. It would be our pleasure to convey your gratitude to our Restaurant Manager, the waiting staff, and the chef.
Once again we thank you for choosing to stay with us, and thank you for your kind reviews. We hope to see you again at 98 Acres Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at 98 Acres Resort, it was such a lovely expeirience from all aspects.Place was full of amazing views, awesome accommodation staff was really friendly and helpful ... and last but not least food was amazing.Love to go back again and highly recommended to any one who loves exploring...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rash D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ella
1.1 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
1.4 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#9 of 11 in Ella
145 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 11 in Ella
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,549 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ella
154 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 98 Acres Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 98 Acres Resort and Spa

Property: 98 Acres Resort and Spa
Address: Passara Rd | Uva Greenland Estate, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 98 Acres Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, Eco Friendly Boutique Resort built in a 98 acre tea estate with panoramic views.....12 villa type rooms, Large swimming pool, Restaurant serving Western and Sri Lankan food, Specialty tea menu, Heli Pad, Wifi Access, Bikes for Rent, Hiking and Biking Facilities, Wonderful Treks and Right in front of Ella's Main Attraction - Little Adams Peak. We do not provide Driver / Guides Accommodation but we are happy to provide you with contact numbers and information of guest houses / hotels in a very close proximity to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your 98 Acres Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing