We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
98 Acres Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
$233
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$44
$40
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$145
$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,687)
Filter reviews
1,687 results
Traveler rating
1,130
371
118
47
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,130
371
118
47
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea plantationadams peakpremium deluxe roomhoneymoon suitesri lankarestaurant staffamazing viewsstunning locationset menuhotel is situatedamazing placearch bridgehill countrystayed longertuk tukella gapbreakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
1,228 - 1,233 of 1,687 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

No doubt one of the best views from your balcony! Guest facilities are great, food served in Cafe 98 is somewhat disappointing. I was expecting more from my Sri Lankan set menu, whilst the Braised Tenderloin of Beef was tough.
Suggest you stay mid week when it's less busy and potentially less expensive. Book B & B and have dinner at the Roti Hut in Ella instead.

Room Tip: I believe room 101 has the best view down Ella Gap, but whichever you stay in, you will be spoiled with the view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yahava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

OK, so first off this isn't a bad place to stay at all. Far from it.

Service was excellent, nice welcome and treated us well throughout. View from the rooms is stunning, especially if you're lucky enough to have a clear day overlooking the hills and valley. Rooms large, everything you need in them.

I just found the room a little *tired*, as if nothing had been updated/replaced since the place opened. Bath was full of creepie crawlies, which put my wife off having one (which is one of her favourite things!), laundry basket hadnt been emptied from previous guest, lots of dead insects on the top of our mosquito net, slightly shabby bedding/towels...

All fairly minor gripes, but its an expensive place (pretty much the most we paid during our hols, and we stayed in some fabulous places), and so we came with high expectations, and just found that a little TLC was missing.

We booked room only by the way and advise others do the same- breakfast can be added there at no extra cost (dining room has great views) or can go into town where its cheaper.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j-sto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We did not regret booking in here for one night as was worth it for the views alone - wow. Though quite pricey and the food was not overly imaginative. Though is a relatively small resort (can sleep max 24 guests) we did not enjoy the personalised touch you experience in other boutique hotels in Sri Lanka. Worth a 1 night stay but no more.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhrls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Absolutely breathtaking views! Wonderful small hotel that feels a little rustic. I have never seen such an incredible view! The staff was very nice and helpful! A very special and memorable stay :)

One complaint: rock/waterfall shower kind of floods bathroom...we were fine with it but it's something they should work on.

We did the small hike nearby to Little Adam's Peak and it was wonderful! You can also walk to the nearby town through the tea plantations which is very nice!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

There are few words to describe the beauty of the surroundings at 98 Acres. From each of the modern but rustic looking accommodations, you have views of the adjacent Little Adam's Peak and many other distant mountains and rivers. Each room contains satellite television and internet access, but 98 Acres is one place you might never touch the computer or remote control. You can admire nature from your large balcony or patio; indulge in one or more of the many spa treatments (up to 5500 Sri Lankan Rupees); or participate in activities you can arrange through the resort, from tours of Little Adam's Peak to learning archery. Additionally, you can enjoy the amazing views with your meals and a drink at the open-air restaurant set high above the accommodations.
This place is 5 stars in my book, thanks to the location, polite and attentive staff, and over the top comfort. Visit Ella and stay at 98 Acres, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews