We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodation & Tour arranged by Superlink Tours”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
98 Acres Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Wow, arriving down via Kandy and in to Ella and stay at this resort, did not have any expectations to have the chance of staying at such a place. Ideal my family enjoyed it was not what i expected but way above what I had expected. Yes, the morning and evening tea in open area was amazing. You do feel relaxed after traveling and visiting many surrounding places. For couple ideal location for a few days to relax and reminiscence. Superlink Tours thank you for offering this location, its not what you could get in Singapore with a difference.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derreck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,127 - 1,133 of 1,513 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

A very beautiful resort with a breathtaking view,nicely designed cottages. Decent and well trained crew,restaurant on the top of the mountain with a welcoming mountain breeze,,ieal place to forget all the city life headches,we enjoyed every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exploringlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Superb place. One of the best locations visited. Staff if really generous and honest. Room views are really beautiful. Pool it too cold to use as the temperature in the hills is too cold. Food is good too. But nice to have more meal options to select. Also better if there are possibilities for some sports activities. Overall super nature resort!

Room Tip: All rooms are having an excellent view i guess. Can select top and bottom flow rooms as you wish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DinushaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel is in an incredible location overlooking Little Adam's Peak - and every hut benefits from the view. The rooms themselves are stylish and clean. The restaurant (also benefit from a spectacular setting) is good but bizarrely doesn't really serve any Sri Lankan food alongside its international fare. It's worth knowing that 98 Acres is about 2km outside the centre of Ella - about a 20-min walk during the day, but not a stroll you'd want to do at night as the road is pitch black. It's easy to get a tuk-tuk there and back though.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Hi
Thank you very much for your great review. And we are very Glad that you had a good time @ 98 Acres.
We DO have a wide selection of sri lankan food. Im surprised that you did not see them and I am truly sorry.
For all our BB, HB and FB guests we give both western and sri lankan options for all three meals. We get their preference way ahead. As an example we get the guests breakfast choice at the dinner of the previous day, or if they are in the room one of our F&B staff will go to the room and get their choice for breakfast.
In the Ala Carte menu we have a separate section for sri lankan food.

Thanks again for your wonderful review and hope to see you back @ 98 Acres soon !!
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Went here with a bunch of friends and was awe struck by the sheer beauty of the hotels surrounds. Love the unique cabinesque rooms and friendly service.

The food was yummy. The location though serene is a bit tricky to get to so call ahead and get good directions. :-)

A stay here was the perfect retreat from my busy schedule in Colombo

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiran_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at 98 acres. We had a beautifully designed room with uninterrupted views.....photos cannot accurately depict how breathtaking it was. The room was rustic and raw which in our view, perfectly matches with the surrounding environment. The bathroom was outstanding, particularly the large set in tub.The interior design was at a 5 star standard, with only one problem being the lack of a mosquito net (you do need one in Ella). These were being installed in all rooms as we visited, so big tick!

The resort in itself was so unique and we enjoyed every part. The service was unobtrusive yet of a very high standard, the food absolutely delicious (not sure what other reviewers are complaining about?, the Sri Lankan breakfast was outstanding, as were all the western dishes), the grounds & atmosphere wonderful as you are surrounded by highly manicured, beautiful gardens and of course the tea plantations and tea pickers.

Due to the time of year, it was quite foggy in the mornings, climbing Little Adams Peak proved difficult with the fog, but it wasn't a deterrent. In addition, the weather permitted us from using the pool, which we were disappointed about as it looked inviting!

Wonderful and highly unique hotel set in a perfect location like no other. The views are some of the best I've seen worldwide. Highly recommend 98 acres.

Room Tip: I requested room 101 and was lucky to secure this. It has the best and most uninterrupted views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kittycaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Hi There.
Thank you very much for your excellent review of 98 Acres.
We are very much glad that we served up to your expectations. And we are truly delighted that we could provide you with the best service. It is indeed nice to hear your comments and suggestions. We are installing mosquito nets at the moment. We have finished installing in all our standard rooms and installing in the deluxe rooms will follow ASAP.

Once again I thank you for giving us a wonderful and great review on Trip Advisor and hope to see you again @ 98 Acres soon !!
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed at the 98 Acres in December. Impressed with the view, and the rooms were spacious. But our good experience ends there.
Sadly the bathroom smelled musty. Lack of ventilation? The food was very poor quality for the money we paid and the desserts were tasteless (although colourful due to generous use of food colour).
Management were also rude to our driver, which to us was a very off putting experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jofrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Hi
Thank you very much for your review and I apologies on behalf of all my staff members in case if we did not serve up to your expectations.
But I can sadly say that this review is also based on a drivers influence/guidance. I have mentioned all the reasons for these in my previous replies so i will not mention anything here again.
And we rarely get bad comments for our food and deserts. We do not use excessive amount of food coloring at all. But since you have mentioned this, I will definitely have a chat with my chef about this.
I sincerely apologies once again.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.4 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 11 in Ella
193 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
1.4 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#8 of 11 in Ella
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ella
181 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
102 reviews
3.3 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#5 of 11 in Ella
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 98 Acres Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 98 Acres Resort and Spa

Address: Passara Rd | Uva Greenland Estate, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Price Range: $217 - $549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 98 Acres Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, Eco Friendly Boutique Resort built in a 98 acre tea estate with panoramic views.....12 villa type rooms, Large swimming pool, Restaurant serving Western and Sri Lankan food, Specialty tea menu, Heli Pad, Wifi Access, Bikes for Rent, Hiking and Biking Facilities, Wonderful Treks and Right in front of Ella's Main Attraction - Little Adams Peak. We do not provide Driver / Guides Accommodation but we are happy to provide you with contact numbers and information of guest houses / hotels in a very close proximity to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your 98 Acres Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing