We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 98 Acres Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
98 Acres Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ella
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The view from the hotel and position are stunning. The architecture is in keeping with the environment which makes it particularly nice. It was a lovely, welcoming place to stay and the staff were exceptionally helpful. If you don't mind not being able to buy an alcoholic drink - and we didn't - then the dining experience is great and staff were very keen to make sure we enjoyed our food and were well catered for. Particularly recommend the Sri Lankan food and caramel pudding! The rooms were spotless and the overall experience was magical. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Rooms all have lovely views - and the view is an essential part of the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    275
    78
    35
    18
See reviews for
234
741
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great resort. The best thing about it is the simplicity. It feels like the staff strives to make this your personal holiday home. You get the calm, serene, relaxing, breath taking and cozy atmosphere of a bungalow but with the facilities of a 5 star hotel. This is better than the busy big 'hotel' atmosphere which can choke the very life of a holiday.
The location is brilliant, the huts are amazing (the lighting of the roof was very cool, but with the stars being so bright a glass roof would be amazing.
I could hear everything that was happening in the room below me which made me question the level of privacy I had. This was very inconvenient. :/
Food is great, but it takes too long to be served which is not very desirable.
The service is fabulous. Even though I could not buy liquor at the location, a bottle of wine was brought from the nearest town(we paid for it then and there) for me and my wife, which left a lasting impression on us both. (I have never been served at any hotel in the manner that Kamal served me. He made a huge difference)
Design of hut is great, but no bubble bath facility :(
There needs to be more blinds to cut off the harsh morning sun and increase privacy.
All in all a great great great resort with a few teething problems to take care of.
Dear Management of 98 Acres, DO NOT increase size of resort as the simplicity of your resort is what makes it very special. The moment you try to expand, the resort will lose its winning essence.
Nothing beats the view!!!!!

Room Tip: Corner room has two balconies for the same price as the other deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dulika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Hi.
Thank you very much for your valuable review and feedback.
We are truly happy to her that you had a wonderful time with us.
We are taking necessary actions to prevent any sounds coming from the other rooms.
We have identified the reason for this and we will correct it very soon.

And of course we are not going for any size increases of the resort. As you said we also want to keep everything at 98 Acres Simple and Amazing.

Thanks again for staying with us and hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Spectacular setting sadly the only plus. For the price of 150 USD i have had great hotels across Sri Lanka. Not here. Somewhat lacklustre greeting. Room was 3* at best, but filthy. Worst (and coldest) food i have had the entire trip. Dining room staff very obliging but not much to work with. Extremely disappointing experience. Enjoy the view from the dining hall after a walk up little Adams peak and then keep walking. Grossly overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GNAUST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The view from the hotel is absolutely stunning and the hotel itself has got a lot of charm and lovely staff. The food is ok, though not exceptional nor very efficient (the wait for food can be very long). When we visited the hotel in August, the hotel did not (yet) have their alcohol license so we had to buy our own alcohol and could bring it to the restaurant.
We traveled with our two children and found that the hotel was not very "child-friendly". Though the staff is always there to help, they could not provide us with a baby cot and the restaurant, swimming pool, rooms etc. do not have very good barriers to avoid dangerous falls of running kids.
The rooms are very "authentic" and look nice, though they could be isolated better; we could hear the couple staying in the bungalow above us very well. Also, the rooms do show a lack of comfort and cleanliness.
We do recommend this hotel in the Ella-area and did spend two amazing days in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gregoshkosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Hi
Thanks for your wonderful review.
We are glad that you had a good holiday with us.
And thank you very much for your valuable feedback and suggestions.
We are doing our best to correct those issues that you mentioned.
thanks again and hope to see you again soon @ 98 Acres.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed for one night in this hotel that we found fantastic at first sight. The location is superb and the bungalows are externaly very nice. However, the rooms are not worth the price: the matress was too smooth and the duvet was not clean, it had some dark stains quite evident at a first glance. The bathroom that is very modern had the mirror broken. And the cups we had to drink tea were dirty in the inside too.
The next morning we were supposed to have breakfast: we had to wait for 45 minuts to have a couple of toasts and coffee served. The scrambled eggs we ordered were cold too.
When we checked out we were informed that our driver had argued with the recepcionist last night because he complained about the bad conditions the hotel offered him to sleep and eat( we had to pay for his meals, something surprising in a hotel of this range). When asking about more details, they admitted us they had only one room with 4 beds four drivers and that that night there were six of them. They then asked me to please write on a paper a good review of the hotel and of my stay there. I rejected to do so.
Oh! And they' ve got some bikes to rent ( that we thought they were for free, according to the room's price) but the price is once again excessive( 1 dolar/ hour).

I therefore don' t recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Albert_Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Hi there.
Thank you very much for you review about our resort.

First of all i sincerely apologies for any difficulties you faced during the stay.
I have informed the house keeping to look into every issue that you raised. I am truly sorry for the bad experience that you had with us. This is highly unlikely but you have mentioned it so we are doing our best to correct those mistakes.
The driver had and argument with our reception because he was asking for a commission for bring you guys to the resort. As a professional business organisation we do not give away under hand commissions to anyone for anything. Thats why this unpleasant incident has occurred. And i would like to mention that we do not have drivers accommodation at our property now but we are more than happy to suggest some good places very close to our property and if you really need to keep the driver at our resort you can use our staff quarters. And we do not provide drivers meals.

But we again apologies for the inconvenience caused to our guest because of this unpleasant behaviour of the driver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a fantastic resort !! i have never believed so much of many talked about 98 Acres - Ella, even my clients do give me feed back stating everything in 98 Acres isFantastic. last month we pass via 98 Acres. stop and wanted check my our selves... it was truly is fascinating, i think some would spend more to have the breath taking view of ella as such , even the tea & short snack that served was good. Very pleasing and friendly staff , mainly the warm welcome from a unexpected travel agents was treated well and assisted. i truly agree with my clients & friends about 98 Acres

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerome N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Hi
Thank you very much for your wonderful review.
It was a great pleasure having you with us and glad to know that we served up to your expectations.
Thanks for visiting us and hope you will come back to stay with us soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Really good location, food is OK and good walking trails. Rooms are very well made but the bathroom in our room was terrible. When having a shower water splashes all over and leaves the majority of the floor area of the bathroom wet which is rather disgusting, and the bidet shower was leaking as well. Hope the management will fix these issues.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Asela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
98acres, Owner at 98 Acres Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Hi there.
Thank you very much for you review.
We looked into the problems you have mentioned.
We have in fact found couple of bathrooms that had the same problem.
We have taken immediate actions to prevent water leaking from the shower area.
Thank you very much for bringing this to our notice.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ella
1.1 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
0.4 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 10 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
3.3 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#4 of 10 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#8 of 10 in Ella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ella Jungle Resort
Ella Jungle Resort
#4 of 86 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 98 Acres Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 98 Acres Resort

Property: 98 Acres Resort
Address: Passara Rd / Namunukula Rd | Uva Greenland Estate, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 98 Acres Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, Eco Friendly Boutique Resort built in a 98 acre tea estate with panoramic views.....12 villa type rooms, Large swimming pool, Restaurant serving Western and Sri Lankan food, Specialty tea menu, Heli Pad, Wifi Access, Bikes for Rent, Hiking and Biking Facilities, Wonderful Treks and Right in front of Ella's Main Attraction - Little Adams Peak. We do not provide Driver / Guides Accommodation but we are happy to provide you with contact numbers and information of guest houses / hotels in a very close proximity to the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your 98 Acres Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing