We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, great value.”
Review of Eeshani Guest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eeshani Guest Inn
Ranked #50 of 157 Ella B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent service, great value.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We cannot recommend this place enough. The rooms are very good, the food is great, but what makes this place special is the excellent service these people provide. We came by train and were picked up at the station, even though our train had a three hour delay (the owner waited for us the whole time). When we got to the rooms we were offered a welcome drink free of charge and had a lovely evening sitting on the balcony. The owner arranged a taxi service fora few ddays later for a very good price. When the driver cancelled last minute, the owner brought us himself, offering us several snacks on the way. All in all: it's a great deal and the people, especially the son, make your stay a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasperDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    32
    1
    5
    1
See reviews for
14
41
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sion, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a very good stay at this very clean and cosy homestay. The homemade curry was just great and the whole family was very helpfull for everything. Realy a place to recommand. It is also very good situated near the station and near the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed here in June 2013 and I have to say this family were some of the nicest people I've ever met. We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived (although unplanned) and the house and rooms were immaculate and very clean. It was the nicest place we stayed in during our time in Sri Lanka. It's a modern home in a great area and the hosts are more than helpful. I would stay here over and over again. 5 star treatment by 5 star people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at Eeshani on the basis of a positive review in the lonely planet but left wondering whether we should have read between the lines. This homestay is a bit like staying with in laws. I can understand some people might find that welcoming or homely but I found it uncanny. The fluffy toys, teddy bear motives and photos of anonymous Asian babies were all a bit much. Aesthetics aside the bathroom was impractical - there was no water pressure on the morning we left (none at all) and the shower wasn't properly plumbed so when the water did trickle it went down a drain in the corner of the room. On the positive side we enjoyed the dinner and met some nice travellers around the table.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in one of the rooms next to the living room. The room was very spacious for 2 persons, simple but nicely furnished, and clean. The bathroom was also quite big and clean. The family is very welcoming, knowledgeable about the sites/areas, and provided excellent hospitality throughout our stay. My girlfriend was coughing terribly by the time we arrived to Ella and they kindly prepared some herbal tea for her.

The guesthouse is located away from the main road ~ 5-min walk. It is easily accessible to the train station and the owner called us ahead of time to meet us at the train station and help us with our bags - a nice touch.

We had breakfast and dinner there - both meals were delicious, with plenty to eat, and a good value. For each night's dinner, the dishes were different, too.

Overall, we highly recommend this place as it was an excellent value and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spend two nights there, the room we stayed in is nicely furnished, with a big and clean bathroom (shower cabin!). The price was 4000 Rs. We loved the balcony, the garden is beautiful. Home made rice and curry was delicious! The owners are lovely peope, it really was a fantastic experience.
Eeshani is very close to the train staion, you just have to know the right shortcut. The owner is often waiting in front of the station with a board saying "Eeshani Guest Inn" and he will glady show you the way - at least this is how we got there.
The owners' son took us by car to Uda Walawe National Park and further to Mirissa for a fair price, let him know if you need to organise a trip or a ride somewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kasia_lach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The hague
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were looking forward to spend some nights in Ella. This guesthouse had a high ranking on tripadvisor so we decided to stay here for 2 nights. But left after one.
Alright, the family is very friendly and helpful but our room was next to the diningroom (in the livingroom) and because of that NOISY. Besides that the room is nothing really special. It feels more like living with a family. No privacy at all. They charge a lot for breakfast (which was good). We didnt have dinner.
I wouldnt recommend this place. Ella has a lot of hotels. You should be able to find a much nicer place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThehagueLieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.2 mi away
Rawana Holiday Resort
Rawana Holiday Resort
#71 of 157 in Ella
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beauty Mount Tourist Inn
0.4 mi away
Sita's Heaven
Sita's Heaven
#45 of 157 in Ella
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ella Nature View
Ella Nature View
#20 of 157 in Ella
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ella Mount View Guest Inn
0.1 mi away
The Rock Face Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eeshani Guest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eeshani Guest Inn

Property: Eeshani Guest Inn
Address: 22 / 3 Police Station Rd | Ambagolla Mawatha, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse 5 minutes walk from center of Ella and railway station, set in beautiful gardens, with 2 double bedrooms, 1 single, modern bathrooms, hot water. Home cooked breakfast & dinner available. WiFi. Common room with satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Eeshani Guest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing