We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lovely lovely”
Review of Eeshani Guest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eeshani Guest Inn
Ranked #46 of 152 Ella B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely lovely lovely”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely energetic couple, what a lovely but oh so quirky living room and what great, great food (all home made). Definitely a great place to stay when in Ella, very worthy of all the great reviews! They are building three extra rooms on a second floor, which is great, as long as they are able to stay the personal place they are now.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LVerweyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    32
    1
    5
    1
See reviews for
13
41
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have enjoyed a lovely time in this unique guesthouse. Thanks to the overwelming hospitality of the elderly couple (and their helping sun) it felt like we were part of the family. Four wonderfull nights with perfect homecooked breakfasts and curry meals.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raflew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Eeshani in January. It's a lovely guesthouse with the sweetest elderly couple owners who welcome you right into their home. It's worth the trip just for Sumana's cooking alone! We enjoyed some of the tastiest food of the trip here, amazing dinners and breakfasts. Their son is also often around to help and is a nice, helpful guy. Our room was a nice size with an en suite bathroom, all very clean. They also have hot water although the water pressure on the shower isn't the best. This is minor though. It's a very quiet, chilled out guesthouse so not somewhere to stay if you want to stay out late are looking for something more lively. We really enjoyed our stay here though and would recommend to our friends.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PhiF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The owner was king enough to pick us up at the train station. The walk is only 5 minutes, but it's reassuring.

On arrival, we were welcomed by the elders, which were adorable throughout the stay, and felt like being in a chalet.

The room was nice and spacious, nicely furnished, and "Sri Lankan" quiet. The bathroom could have been a little more clean, but still correct.

The owner is a businessman, but is of great service. He welcomed us with tea, gave explanations to the surrounding sights, and arranged a scooter rental for us.

Clearly recommended!

Room Tip: The rooms next to the kitchen may be more noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M-A_et_Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We can only say: stay here, and enjoy all the food they make! It is only a few minutes walk from the station and the central area of Ella. The rooms are big and clean.The garden is beautiful and if you are lucky you will see the giant squirrels running around. The family is very welcoming and want to give you a real Sri Lankan experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent two nights at Eshani Guest Inn and we were glad that we had the chance to make an amazing experience there. The family (adult son and his parents) is very lovely, friendly, and attentive. The rooms are clean and cozy. This guesthouse offers a small balcony to chill after a long day of trekking in the hills and the view from there is spectacular. Moreover, it was a big pleasure to have breakfast there. The family took care of all our wishes and adjusted their services and food to our individual needs at any time. If you become a guest there you will see how detail-oriented the hosts are. Hence, if you are looking for an affordable room with amazing service, clean rooms, and a fantastic atmosphere, then Eeshani Guest Inn should be the number one address in Ella.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kon1cz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a great two nights at Eeshani homestay. If not for a need to move on would have liked to stay here longer. Wasanti and his parents were fabulous hosts and anything from the smallest thing was no problem at all. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsydub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.1 mi away
The Rock Face Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Nimsara Homestay
Nimsara Homestay
#16 of 152 in Ella
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rawana Holiday Resort
Rawana Holiday Resort
#69 of 152 in Ella
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brilliant View Home Stay
0.0 mi away
Sun Top Inn
Sun Top Inn
#48 of 152 in Ella
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beauty Mount Tourist Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eeshani Guest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eeshani Guest Inn

Property: Eeshani Guest Inn
Address: 22 / 3 Police Station Rd | Ambagolla Mawatha, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse 5 minutes walk from center of Ella and railway station, set in beautiful gardens, with 2 double bedrooms, 1 single, modern bathrooms, hot water. Home cooked breakfast & dinner available. WiFi. Common room with satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Eeshani Guest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing