We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitable place to stay”
Review of Ella Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ella Inn
Ranked #53 of 157 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hospitable place to stay”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

My friend and I stayed here by a lucky chance when our tuk-tuk driver sent us here because we asked for a cheap option of where to stay. Having been traveling on a budget and staying in cheaper guesthouses, we were thrilled when we got here to see that although it was an affordable option, it was also a very clean, friendly, and pleasant place to stay. Malith was such a great host and made sure we were always comfortable and taken care of. The food was excellent, especially the breakfast. Even better, there was a living room common area to hang out and eat in. The rooms were clean, with hot water, and felt like home, and the garden out lovely. The entire family here was warm and friendly and made us feel at home. Would stay here again for sure if I was back in Ella. Great value for the price, and you get to meet a wonderful family as a bonus. Great home away from home for long-time travelers.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nycolestap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malith0779100899, Owner at Ella Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you Nicole and Leah!!!you rock girls!!!see you soon! xoxo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    33
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
8
54
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Ildefonso, Bulacan, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2012

a big thanks for trip advisor for advertise great guesthouse like this. my family and i have a great stay for a couple of days on ella. the people are so freindly specially malith and harith. ella have a good ambiance fresh air, clean sorroundings and good food. my family decide that everytime we visit sri lanka ella will be our official house to stay...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malith0779100899, Owner at Ella Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
thank you jhonny!!!see you With Playstation again! ^_^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Found this through trip advisor and so glad we did. Incredibly welcoming, friendly and so helpful, Harith and his family were fantastic hosts. Breakfast in the garden is a great start to the day in Ella. Food cooked by mum was lovely, would definitely stay here again. And a great place to see England win a test match at last!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malith0779100899, Owner at Ella Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
thank you Dan & Billy!!!you are warmly welcome to Ella!!good luck for you and family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We arrived in Ella without any idea of where to stay. Then Malith and Harith came to us and suggested their guestinn. We immediately fell in love with the place and it's nice garden. The amazing hospitality of the family that runs the inn makes you feel like a part of them. Just like relative visiting. We had the pleasure to get invited to celebrate the traditionnal Sri Lankan new year with them, it was such a great experience. So, without hesitatiion, we strongly recommand staying at the Ella guestinn to anyone coming to Ella.

Room Tip: Only three rooms at this small inn, everyone is good and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louislysanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malith0779100899, Owner at Ella Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
thank you louise!had a great time with you on new year!!!see you soon!good luck with your bicycles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed in this little guest house for 4 nights and it was our favourite one during our whole trip through Sri Lanka. The guest house only has 3 rooms which makes it definitely feel as a home stay. The family is very friendly and helpful in all kinds of ways. We had breakfast and dinner here which was very good and on request they also provided lunch packages when we went hiking in the area. There are many guest houses in Ella but because this one is just off the main road and has a large private garden it seems like the best choice to go when you're visiting Ella.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malith0779100899, Owner at Ella Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
thank you Linda!Come back to little heaven ELLA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2012

If you are a traveller, this family run guest house is your home. Malith and Harith are not owners just, they make you feel like you are a relative who comes from abroad. We did have the pleasure to meet the mum and the sister in last day of our stay as well.
Ella is a great destination for a young couple like us but this place added extra value to it. The breakfast was the best in sri lanka in their botanical garden.
They provide all the information that you need to know about trekking routes and the extra info that you can not find in Lonely Planet.
We will be going back to our friends house in Ella again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caglar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malith0779100899, Owner at Ella Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
thank you caglar!give my kind regards to mary!visit again guys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

After a week at Mirissa Beach we wanted to experience the less humid air and sights in the hill country. We had been recommended to Ella Guest Inn by Dutch travellers we met in Negombo. This is a guest house and not top range hotel. The advantage being you feel 'part of the family' and much less expensive when travelling for a long period. We had a double room with private bathroom and hot water (not common in Sri Lanka). Being older we did find the bed a little uncomfortable with quite a thin matress but sure enough when we mentioned it, Harith soon arranged for another two matresses for our old bones. As the guesthouse is convenient for both trains/bus and small centre of Ella. It doesn't have a 'high' view like many other guest houses. However, it suited us much more to be able to have breakfast in the lovely garden rather than a balcony. Breakfast being 2 eggs of choice, toast Jam butter and fruit plate. We paid a little more for Curd which is so fresh to go with our fruit. We were so impressed with the lovely family that we asked to leave our large bags whilst we ventured by train from Ella to Kandy and ancient sites for a week. We returned and spent another 3 days visiting a nearby tea factory (by bus) and Little Adams peak, walkable from Ella. It is best to phone for directions of where Ella Guest Inn it is on Police Road (nearly opposite the post office) as no sign. We hope to return with the rest of family next year.

Room Tip: only two rooms have private bathrooms and of course are a little more expensive. the room with sepa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juergli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malith0779100899, Manager at Ella Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
thank you lady Barbara!!!you are simply lovely couple!done third time on march!!looking forward for the fourth!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.2 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ella
154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ella Nature View
Ella Nature View
#21 of 157 in Ella
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ella Mount View Guest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Rock Face Guesthouse
0.2 mi away
Beauty Mount Tourist Inn
0.2 mi away
Rawana Holiday Resort
Rawana Holiday Resort
#76 of 157 in Ella
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ella Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ella Inn

Property: Ella Inn
Address: Malith De Silva | Police Station Road,Near post office, Ella, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Ella Guest Inn, we are focused on providing a great service with the highest level of atmosphere – we’ll do our best to meet your expectations.With a variety of offerings to choose from, we’re sure you’ll be happy staying with us. We hope to see you again! There’s much more to come! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ella Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing