We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice log cabins, though walls are bit thin”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Little Folly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little Folly
Ranked #9 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Ella
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice log cabins, though walls are bit thin”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights after the great reviews found on tripadvisor. On arrival we were expecting cake, but where not given any :( but had to order and pay for it.
The cabin were really nice, though the walls between the 2 are paper thin. The Owner did draw a map for a walk around the region, and it was quite nice.
The Owner asked us if we wanted to visit a tea factory, and he said there was one he would recommend. He said he called them first to see if they where working, and they said yes, but upon arrival found out the factory was not working as the day before was a public holiday and no picking was done. The tour was still good, though we where unable to appreciate the full experience.
On leaving here, there was a 10% surcharge on the bill for the included breakfast's, as he said the service charge was not included, which is the first time we have come across this despite having had breakfast included at every other place.
Overall a nice place, but did not live up to the reviews given.

Room Tip: go for the log cabin over the standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roshnivyas v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    40
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
18
68
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay in Ella. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The home cooked food is also fantastic. The location is great very close to little Adams peak. The owner is extremely friendly and very helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauralouclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

If Ella is a little corner in Sri Lanka, Little folley is a little Corner in Ella. Slightly apart from the rest but on the way to Little Adam's Peak, it has two gorgeous cottages made of wood and surrounded by flowers. The rooms are extremely clean and you get a welcome juice and cake when you check-in. Both are not to be missed as the guesthouse has a reputation for being the best cake shop in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilSeriedipendente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and really would highly recommend it!

A party of 4 girls we got a log cabin to stay which was perfect and helped with keeping costs down as we are students. The cabin was really nice - good size, clean and comfortable.

The owner was amazing - he made us feel like family and even gave us a lift to the train station as we were running late for our train - he also drew us maps to help us along on our walks.

It's a great location to go on walks from and close enough to walk to the central strip of Ella with all the restaurants.

The cake was very nice also and you should definitely try the lemon one!

I would definitely return here! Excellent guest house!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kkemp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in one of the cabins. The room was immaculatly clean and well furnitured. The owner was very helpful and yes, the cake is delightful! The only drawback is the sound coming from the other adjacent cabin. But we couldn't be bothered....

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mfreriks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Tucked away up the hill from the main junction, this is a cozy, friendly place. Moist cakes are excellent too. Our family of 4 (2 adults, 2 kids) fit into the cabin well; an extra bed was provided.
Book early, there are only a few rooms, although 2 more cabins are bing constructed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fallfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I loved my stay here. I was put in one of the cabins and, although there are slight soundproofing issues between the two, I didn't lose any sleep or peace and quiet over it. The cabins are spacious with comfy beds and mosquito nets and the whole place has a super chilled vibe. It is also conveniently located for Little Adams Peak (and for cake afterwards- they serve delicious ones!) The owner just couldn't do enough for me- he was superb!

Room Tip: the log cabins are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.7 mi away
98 Acres Resort
98 Acres Resort
#1 of 11 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ella Flower Garden Resort
0.4 mi away
Zion View
Zion View
#11 of 145 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Green Hill
Green Hill
#28 of 145 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ella Jungle Resort
Ella Jungle Resort
#4 of 92 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ella Rock House
Ella Rock House
#5 of 145 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Folly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Folly

Property: Little Folly
Address: Passara Road, Ella, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Little Folly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing