We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mesmerizing view at The View”
Review of The View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The View
Ranked #25 of 169 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We loved our stay at The View! We enjoyed our terrace with incredible views of Ella Gap. We loved their delicious eggplant curry, their grilled prawns, as well as their rotis and kottu rotis and sauces. Laxman, the manager, is very helpful and he made sure that we were very comfortable. The entire staff is friendly and helpful. The View is a little walk out of town and we enjoyed being out of the town center. We walked into town for some dinners, just to try the various restaurants in town.

Room Tip: Numbers 2 and 3 on the main floor were quieter. 9 has the best view and is quiet. It is worth splurg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skyelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 352 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Just a short walk (15min) from train station. It was a shame that we could not admire the view from the hotel terrace as it was very misty. The person who received us and took payment was very unfrendly. Towels were not clean. Breakfast could be better if you want to walk little adams peak o to got to ella rock.
By car or tuk tuk will take more time as the road is very narrow up the hill.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Francisca2012T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This guesthouse is one of the greatest we had in Sri Lanka. The staff, the view, the food, everything was really really 10+. I recommend everyone to visit the temple next to the view (+-200 walk) and have a short chat with the monks. Visit The View!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucasEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

As per the name, you cannot fault the view from this hotel which is just divine. However, as a result, it is a little isolated and difficult to find. Its about a 10 min walk to town and you need to walk along an in use railway, which is a little scary when you are not used to it! You will need to go into town to eat as I wouldn't eat here. The included breakfast was miserable - cold toast with super sweet jam. The room was very basic and there were ants crawling up and down the walls. You need to be a tap whisperer to get the hot water to run - lots of jiggling with no rhyme or reason to why the hot water starts to flow. The bed and pillow was acceptable - just. As we stayed just before christmas, there wasn't much choice. It was a nice place to relax in the circumstances.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sarebarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I got here late at night and the driver had difficulties finding it - it is up a narrow and steep unlit road. The staff don't seem switched on and are disorganised. Hygiene is lacking so I did not trust eating there. The room was basic with lots of insects. The bathroom was of a similarly low standard and the hot water was erratic.

I woke up to have the pleasant surprise of a wonderful view but it does not make up for the basic deficiencies. I recognise it was cheap but they could do much to improve without spending lots of money - just get the basics right!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PebblesFlintstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful view!
From the hotel you could see the waterfalls, the Ella rock and the little Adams peak!

10 Minutes walk to the city, it's a perfect place to enjoy Ella's landscape and relax.

Great rooms, great food.
Friendly staff that are always there to help.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank genguay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is magic!

The view: you have one of the most beautiful view of Sri Lanka! You feel like flying!

The rooms: are realy big, wood furnitures, and a very good princess bed! The bathroom is also big and new.

The food: you have a diversity of meal: chinese food, Sri Lanka food..lot of juice etc. It s not expensive and delicious!!!

The staff: great! Luxman (the personne in charge of the hostel, not the owner) is AMAZING! Always smilling, always available to give us advice! Thank you Luxman!

To sum up: if you stay in Ella you have to go to THE VIEW!

We have spent around 60€ for the night, the dinner (meal, average etc.) and the breakfast!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Plushlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.1 mi away
Ella Mount View Guest Inn
0.1 mi away
Ella's Edge Resort
Ella's Edge Resort
#19 of 169 in Ella
286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ella Mount Relax Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Homes
Country Homes
#10 of 169 in Ella
335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ella Nature View
Ella Nature View
#22 of 169 in Ella
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zion View
Zion View
#12 of 169 in Ella
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View

Address: Kithalella Road, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range: $18 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The View 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Place to stay & relax whilst taking in the majestic scenery of Ella ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing