We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort & relaxation...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The View
Ranked #29 of 145 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, nova scotia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfort & relaxation...”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Lovely room, amazing view, delicious Sri Lankan food, helpful staff...nothing but praise from us for this reasonably priced room. Each day we set out on long hikes and looked forward to returning to a welcoming place that catered to our needs...beer, food, advice for the next day & a good sleep.

Room Tip: Location is more appealing if you use the railway tracks to get around!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seaspray3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    100
    40
    15
    17
See reviews for
55
139
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Ella without booking ahead for a room for the night and turned up at the view. We were welcomed straight away and shown to a lovely room which opened out into the garden and straight ahead was the view down Ella gap, amazing. Comfy bed, lovely friendly staff, good food, we really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alexa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I loved my stay at The View! Laxman and the staff took excellent care of me, in every possible way - answered all my questions, helped plan all my activities in Ella and also helped organise my train tickets and accommodation for other stops. I find it makes all the difference when nothing feels like too much trouble and people are so generous with their time and care.
The room was gorgeous - the bathroom was spotless, the four post bed a dream, and a full wall of ceiling to floor windows overlooking Ella gap. Simply gorgeous.
Although it's set up in the hills, the walk to the Main Street or railway station was super easy + only about 5-10 mins max. I even walked it at night (if you have a torch) but a tuk tuk is cheap + easy too if you prefer.
Not only would I stay again, I'd stay longer!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I have just positive emotions after our stay in The View Ella. We came to Ella by train and it was already dark and a guy from hotel meet us on the railway station, that was really nice that we didnt need to find a hotel. They give a big room on second fllor with one big and one small bed. Room was very clean and had a nice view from our balcony. We had a dinner in a hotel, but cant say it was good. Rice was cold and curry was worse curry in my life and i tried a lot of curry. Next day we woke up at 5 to go to Ella Rock and missed a normal time for breakfast, but hotel manager was nice to give us breakfast already at 11 o'clock. Breakfast was simple but good. I think its a perfect place to stay in Ella, very close to city and railway station, close to Ella Rock, has nice clean rooms and a price is good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morrigan9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has the most fantastic view and atmosphere you can imagine. After driving down at a narrow passage we suddenly reached this hotel. Very high service level by the friendly staff. The manager makes his guests feel at home. We (two adults and three kids) were served a very nice meal and the manager helped us to find acommodation near Yala. The short stay in Ella was one of the best experiences at our roundtrip in Sri Lanka.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sorenhusted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We booked this hotel because of the advertised view (and still being in walking distance to village center) and really the view was fantastic. We stayed for three nights in room #9 on top floor which was very large and clean. In addition, food was great (rice and curry recommended), all personnel was pleasant and the manager was very helpfull in organizing our plans and departure to the coast.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DPtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ella, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

We had been traveling in Sri Lanka for almost two weeks before we found this oasis. Our train arrived in Ella three hours late. It was dark and we were hungry when we arrived at the hotel. The staff were waiting for us. They quickly ushered us in, offered us a drink, showed us our room and then sat us down for the best Sri Lankan meal of our trip. We ate most of our meals here and we were very pleased with the food and the service. The room was clean, comfortable and had a spectacular view. There was no AC but we didn't need it. The ceiling fan did the job. Our only regret is that we didn't spend more time here. Good value for your money. If you want a nice place to enjoy Sri Lanka, stay here. Don't let the rough, uphill road put you off. That's the norm. A tuk tuk will get you there! The staff will work hard to make this an enjoyable place to visit.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cshoredart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.3 mi away
Ella Nature View
Ella Nature View
#20 of 145 in Ella
144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ella Rock House
Ella Rock House
#8 of 145 in Ella
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zion View
Zion View
#13 of 145 in Ella
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ella's Edge Resort
Ella's Edge Resort
#25 of 145 in Ella
248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Green Hill
Green Hill
#28 of 145 in Ella
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ravana Heights
Ravana Heights
#54 of 145 in Ella
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View

Property: The View
Address: Kithalella Road, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The View 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Place to stay & relax whilst taking in the majestic scenery of Ella ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing