We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no good”
Review of The View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The View
Ranked #30 of 163 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

bed view. no clean. long time waiting food. many bugs. sometimes problem showers room (NO. HOT WATER )

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hyunji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for The View
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 337 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night while visiting Ella. The View was like a 5 star hotel after the ones we had previously stayed at the start of our travels. Amazing views, very friendly staff, a modern clean room with a lovely balcony and French windows and doors. Very new and modern tiled bathroom. Only a short walk from ella Main Street and 200rs in a tuc tuc. Breakfast was really good. The only downside was no AC but apart from that I would highly reccommend

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ontour13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The View is a nice place to stay, nice food. The staff is gud too. The only bad thing was we had booked the top room and after arriving we got a room downstairs jus near the reception lobby, we could hear every passer-by talks. The bed in our room was not at all good. Because of the passer-bys n the bed we had a bad nights sleep. Although Mr. Laxman was sorry about the whole mess. Otherwise a nice place with a beautiful view.

Room Tip: Donot go for the room near reception lobby.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolskun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stunning view, best place we stayed in 3 weeks of travelling. Very friendly staff with great reccomendations about what to do in ella. Immaculate rooms, very tastefully decorated. Nice food which can be eaten overlooking the view. Would advise paying the 1500 rps for a guided walk up ella rock - well worth it!

Only thing missing was a fan in the room so can get stuffy at night

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livelaughlove12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at the View Ella for one night and absolutely loved it. We had one of the rooms up the very top and it was just perfect!. The staff are very friendly and helpful too. We've been in Sri Lanka for one week now and stayed in many different hotels amd the View was definitely the best place we've stayed at so far. We would have loved to have had another night here but unfortunately had made other plans. Hopefully we will stay here again in the future. I would highly the Viewto anybody visiting Sri Lanka!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms up the top! They are fantastic!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

A very homely place to stay. The staff is very helpful and very friendly. Rooms are clean. The view of the mountains out in the garden is fantastic. It really carries the meaning "View". We were there only one night. We booked-in around 12.30pm and we had to leave the next day as we were proceeding to Nuwara Eliya. Oh ! how we wished we could stay one more night.The next time we visit Ella this place would be our first choice. We are sure to stay more than one night in this hotel "View".

Room Tip: Rooms in front are very good specially Room No4
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerY9712CJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

A wonderful place to stay, amazing views out across Ella gap, lovely clean, spacious rooms. The staff were all very helpful, in particular Laxsman, so helpful and thoughtful, also a great wealth of knowledge on a variety of places in Sri Lanka, he really made the difference to our stay.

Couldn't recommend The View highly enough!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cambo_Guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh R, Front Office Manager at The View, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

thank you for the your cooperation for the our hotel, it will great partnership of the business

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
0.1 mi away
Ella Mount View Guest Inn
0.3 mi away
Ella Nature View
Ella Nature View
#21 of 163 in Ella
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ella Gap Panorama
Ella Gap Panorama
#28 of 163 in Ella
305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ella Rock House
Ella Rock House
#10 of 163 in Ella
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zion View
Zion View
#11 of 163 in Ella
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View

Address: Kithalella Road, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range: $41 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The View 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Place to stay & relax whilst taking in the majestic scenery of Ella ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing