We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The View
Nearby Hotels
$160
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$604
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveler rating
164
132
54
24
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
132
54
24
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsella gaprefreshing poolsri lankatuk tukfour postershort cutadams peakeggs and toastbudget accommodationtrain trackstwo nightslovely roomshort walkcold beeramazing locationbreakfast is servedthe hotel manager
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
262 - 267 of 398 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We booked this spot in advance, and for three nights, however on arriving were disgruntled to discover that the hotel was a building site! The owner never bothered to tell us this when we booked - obviously knowing that the hammering and drilling would put us off (as it had obviously done to other guests). When we complained, he told us it was only till 5pm in the afternoon! Well, so much for sitting and relaxing in the garden and reading a book during the day... However, the owner had lied: the building noise continued till 10pm. Oh well. The room was clean, and given the other options we saw in Ella, the rooms were not bad (not fantastic either). In fairness, one member of the staff, Shiva, did try to make our stay convivial. However, be warned: the scary new monstrous building addition the owner is hatching is awful. It doesn't fit in with the charming bungalow style ethos of what was there before.
On a note about Ella in general: There is a lot of building work going on around Ella - and it's all terrifying stuff - concrete monstrosities carved out of the mountains - certainly not what tourists want: most of them will land up being pokey, damp, cold, characterless rooms with views (so often what we saw in the Indian Himalayas). Sadly the natural charm and beauty of Ella is going to be destroyed by these man-made horrors. Visit Ella before it becomes another Dharamsala with concrete boxes dripping down the mountainside.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wandel_gogga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The View. Stunning place, views to die for, you can see little Adam's peak, Ella gap, Ella rock and rawana Ella falls, just from standing in their garden. The rooms are beautiful, four poster beds, toasty blankets, French doors that lead onto patio and big bathrooms with hot water, and very clean. Definitely best place we have stayed in Sri Lanka and we have stayed in lots.Here for four months. Oh and the staff, lovely and very helpful. We stayed two nights and would have loved to have stayed longer but the beach beckoned.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sammysmurf71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Three nights at the view - to say it's OK sums it up.

View fantastic (in the morning/afternoon before the mist rolls in).

Room and bathroom comfy and clean on arrival but weren't cleaned once during our stay-towels and sheets not changed and had to ask for more loo roll. No mozzie nets and plenty of room for them to squeeze in through gaps in ceiling-odd since this place is newly built. In fact construction is ongoing and noisy - feels like The View shouldn't be open yet.

Service terrible-we had one breakfast here, didn't get what we ordered. Charged for welcome drinks on departure.

Loved Ella and it's easily accessible with scenic 5 min walk. Get up tuk tuk up the hill-it's steep and unlit at night.

Cheap ish - 4,400 rupees a night room only. Still don't think you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlejennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

When you sit on the small chairs in front of the bungalows the view is simply amazing! A very quiet and relaxing place - only about 10 minutes to walk down to the city.

The rooms are new and clean, with high ceilings and hot water.
There are 4 rooms to rent at the moment - they are currently building additional rooms and a restaurant.

The staff is great! The young guy that was responsible for the service was always friendly and very fast! He took us to Ayuveda, served the breakfast and drove us around with the Tuktuk.

After travelling and hiking through the hill country - this is the place to take a break and spend some time!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eva c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Its all about the View, I went to the place with my wife and we stayed for two nights, First night we had to stay all alone, Nobody to take care of us, But the second day they managed to switched on some lights but still no one at the hotel at night, The attention to the gust is poor,
The charges are reasonable,
The View is fantastic,
Room is clean
The foods was good
The Shuttle service to the Railway station was really helpful to us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews