We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in Ella”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Forest Paradise - Ella
Ranked #57 of 152 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best value in Ella”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed 4 nights and the guess house reached our expectations. The price was less than similar guest houses in the area. Staff were friendly and helpful including the owner. Yes, he is very business like but we have no complaints. If you want to be away from the Main Street give the Forest garden a try.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flashpackers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    48
    8
    8
    6
See reviews for
10
66
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stay away from this place. The owner is rude and has nothing but dollar signs in his eyes. He wasn’t helpful in the slightest. One night, we went to his house which is inside the accommodation area and knocked on the door to ask him a question. It was only 8pm, but he was very annoyed we disturbed him and extremely rude. Not exactly quality customer service! When he showed us to our room, he told us how to operate the shower to get hot water, but whenever we used the shower there was none. We were charged tax on our food at the restaurant, which seemed like a fake way for him to make more money to be honest, as no other restaurants we ate at in the area did that. Also, he told us when we arrived that he would put us on a private bus from Ella to Matara (thirty minutes away from Galle, our final destination). The ticket price was a little higher than other bus journeys, but we were happy to pay it as it meant we would be guaranteed a seat for a long journey, something that is often impossible in the crowded Sri Lanka buses. Two other pairs of people who stayed at the accommodation got the bus with us. When it pulled up, we immediately noticed it was a regular public bus and was crowded with people. The ticket guy on the bus kicked two locals out of their seats so two of us could sit down, got another two to sit on the baggage rack which has no back support and then made two of the men stand for about two hours. I have no problem standing on a bus like everyone else, but it was all a joke. We paid extra money to be on a bus where we would be guaranteed seats. Only a few of us did, but some locals had to be embarrassingly kicked off their seats to make way for us which wasn’t fair on them either. It’s obvious that the owner of this place is a bit of a swindler who will tell you anything to make an extra buck. You’re much better off giving your money to an accommodation that deserves it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharonwinters14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful room, gorgeous food what more could you ask for? Nelly (the owner) was very helpful and informative. It is a very peaceful and tranquil place to stay, surrounded by the sounds of nature. It was my 2nd time here and I would definately be back a 3rd time!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rosalind B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The place is up quite a steep hill, but not far from the bus stop - a 5-10 minute walk. The advantage is it is in very quite surroundings, you only hear the sounds of the forrest at night. The owner - Nelly - is very nice, good English, trying to be helpful. It is in the cold part of Sri Lanka, ask for an extra blanket for the night. The food is ok, breakfast quite big, for dinner it's probably better to walk down to the town center - there is a couple of nice cafes/restaurant buzzing with life, while the guesthouse restaurant is deserte and not very inviting at night.
The rooms are big, clean, could use a wardrobe though, the shower has warmish water, not hot though. Technically you get your own little house, you can sit on the porch, nice.
We got our clothes washed there and that's something I wouldn't recommend - they were hanging on the line 15 mins after we gave them to the staff - so I don't know how they washed them, they weren't clean and one of my t-shirts was torn after. Also they gave it back to us damp, there's no chance the clothes would dry without a dryer which they obviously don't have.
The train station is about 15-20 min walk, Mini Adam's peak about an hour (very nice walk and not very exhausting, great views of Ella rock on the way). We also took the train to Haputale to see Lipton Seat - doable in 1 afternoon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jitka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at Forest Paradise. The staff was very friendly, however when we asked them to arrange a taxi the next morning for worlds end the price was extremely high. So you're better off booking somewhere else! The room was nice, however it was difficult to keep the mosquitos out of the room because the sides of the roof were open. The location is just outside the main street but is walkable since there is not that much traffic. Overall this was a very good room with friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miekesv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This simple review is only to describe the manner in which the owner of this guesthouse made me feel, not to desribe the rooms or services. After approaching the owner and finding his price range was too high for my budget, he offered his neighbor's place, at a cheaper price, and it was still too pricey I thought. He ended by saying it was a good price with wifi and hot water. Half an hour later, after finding less expensive but not as nice places, I returned to his neighbor's perfectly decent place with nice ppl. When I asked about wifi they went to ask him, so I walked over as well and this man shouted at me like I must be some "typical" tourist in his mind, saying Im causing trouble, making up wifi story, and am bad news since I want "600". After roaming this expensive town for an hour with my backpack at nightfall, well, he made my day a pretty bad one. Its a shame when locals look at you like youre just after the cheapest place and dont understand that maybe travellers do have restraints. In any case I can only assume hotel owners in this town have colluded on prices to fix them so high! This ref is to let ppl know that they will prob just be seen as walking pocketbooks and not ppl....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2013

we have had a great few days here starting with a welcome arak with Nelly the owner, he is a funny and amazing character, he helped us get great prices for all our local trips and for a taxi to our next destination, the food is good and he can organize anything you need, Ella is a great little town with friendly locals, spectacular views and great hikes, i would suggest to anyone to come and stay with Nelly at Forest Paradise and check out Ella for a few days of hiking and relaxing, and dont miss a tour of the Tea factory.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.5 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
0.5 mi away
The View
The View
#28 of 152 in Ella
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ella Rock House
Ella Rock House
#8 of 152 in Ella
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ella Mount Relax Cottage
0.0 mi away
Lizzie Villa Guesthouse
Lizzie Villa Guesthouse
#117 of 152 in Ella
69 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brilliant View Home Stay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Paradise - Ella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Paradise - Ella

Property: Forest Paradise - Ella
Address: Passara Road, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Forest Paradise - Ella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing