We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rachael Tasmania Australia”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Green Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Hill
Ranked #27 of 146 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
“rachael Tasmania Australia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

we really enjoyed our stay and the view was breathtaking..we walked to little Adams peak and enjoyed our walk past the tea planations. We had an unforgettable meal freshly made just for us, and the best meal we had had is sri lanka. Podi was very helpful a lovely host. Thankyou

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    80
    20
    12
    9
See reviews for
50
148
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

One of the best views ever. The people who own the place are very polite, helpful and great cooks. Its suprisingly quite and really close to the center of town. Take note: they recently changed their email adress to: "greenhillella.srilanka@yahoo.com"

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 265Monique265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in the guesthouse with my parents and thoroughly loved the place.

Location was excellent - we walked to small Adam's peak from the guesthouse, it's a 5 minutes walk via the shortcut to the town centre, and the place face directly into the Ella Gap, which brings out the second highlight -

The view was stunning. We had a great time taking in the beautiful view of the Ella Gap from the open corridor in front of the rooms, and from breakfast balcony

Owner was the nicest and most helpful person I have met in Sri Lanka. I actually missed the train stop in Ella. The owner called me when he heard the last train has left Ella, and instructed to get off at the next station. Then he sent his brother to pick us up from a tiny stop in the middle of nowhere. The whole time during our stay he was extremely kind and helpful, spoke great English and provided most useful information.

The food was excellent. Breakfast included a lovely fruit plate. The other dishes made to order are all very delicious and takes like home made (which it is).

The only small thing is that the shower water wasn't very hot late into the night (but perfect during the day) - unless I didn't use it in the right way..

All in all it was an amazing experience and I'd highly recommend to anyone staying in Ella!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Springyezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Loved this place. You really get a personal experience as it's run by a young small family. Podi, the host, cooks amazing food and his rooms were clean and spacious. The balcony area is a great space to chill out as well.
Podi was such an accommodating host, and helped us plan our trip a little too, making great recommendations and arranging transport for us at good prices.
The view.....what can I say... it was the best view we had all 3 weeks of our trip. It's high up in the basin so you see all the valley area, Ella Rock, Little Adam's Peak and the lush green plantations.
You do have a 5 min walk into the forest to Ella town, but it's wasnt a problem at all. That's how you get the amazing views rather than overlooking the town itself.
Thank you Podi for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

My stay at Green Hill could not have been better. The accommodations are clean, modern, tidy and fully functioning. The rooms have comfortable beds with mosquito nets provided, the bathroom has a modern sink, toilet, and spacious shower with hot water. The location is perched on a cliff which gives an incredible view of the surrounding area. You are able to see both Ella Rock and Little Adam's peak along with the terraced farming and the idyllic scenery of the valley floor below. It is a short walk (no more than 5 minutes) to the town of Ella, which allows you to exchange the horns and exhaust of the town for the magnificent scenery. The relaxing veranda is such a great feature with its cool breezes, vantage point, and hacienda feel. The host and owner (Podi) is top notch as well, trustworthy, kind, helpful, and friendly. He is a talented cook and the dishes he creates are delicious!

If you are looking for a place in Ella you will not do better than Green Hill. Book it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BR0DEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Green Hill is a short 5 minute walk from the lovely village of Ella. Green Hill has stunning views of the Ella gap with two large balconys to relax on. Rooms are large, clean and good value. Podi (the owner) was in Colombo during our stay but rang on several occasions to check everything was alright and to see if he could help. We were well looked after by the staff anyway.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IamG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was such a great find and I'm so glad we stayed here. Podi was so accommodating and could not have done more to make us feel welcome. He helped us organise all our excursions at a reasonable price and even got us a car to Colombo. We stayed in the upstairs room (first one on the right). It was clean, comfortable and had good hot water.

We ate there one night as well and it was fantastic! Podi even invited us to the kitchen to show us how to make some of the dishes. We went out the other nights as we wanted to experience the other restaurants and unlike other places we stayed at, Podi did not pressure us to eat in.

Sitting on a the balcony at the end of a day full of walking with THAT VIEW and a drink is truly a pleasure. There is a shortcut to town about 5 minutes through the forrest and taxis were cheap enough to take at night.

Generally speaking, I found Sri Lanka more expensive than other Asian cities and bearing this in mind, Green Hill is great value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mascara46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.7 mi away
Ella Nature View
Ella Nature View
#20 of 146 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ella Rock House
Ella Rock House
#9 of 146 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lucky Star
Lucky Star
#10 of 146 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ella's Edge Resort
Ella's Edge Resort
#26 of 146 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ella Mount View Guest Inn
0.3 mi away
Zion View
Zion View
#12 of 146 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Hill

Property: Green Hill
Address: Passara road | Sapumalthanna, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we're happy to say that our ongoing constructions already finished and our restaurant is now available for you. specially quiet, friendly nature to spend your holiday in a serene location with the fabulous views ever. And also with a treat of delicious sri lankan cuisine. Enjoy every moment while setting your eyes on both the sun rise and sun set.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Green Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing