We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New rooms are amazing! And so is the food and the view!”
Review of Green Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Green Hill
Ranked #32 of 157 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“New rooms are amazing! And so is the food and the view!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We arrived in Ella after a long drive and were happy to finally find the guesthouse - it's a little off the beaten track but there is signage once you're on the right road. Upon our arrival we were told that our room wasn't ready so we left our luggage and wandered off to town for lunch and a massage. When we got back they were still working on the room, so we sat down and enjoyed the amazing sunset. That was when Podi turned up and told us that the room was actually just being finished and we would be the first to stay there. Once we got into the room we were so happy. The new rooms are private from the dining area with a lovely bathroom. We had two lovely nights at Green Hill, including Christmas. We were shown such lovely hospitality and had the most amazing food. This is the perfect place just to chill out and enjoy the view or go for a few hikes around Ella Gap. Thank you again Podi and all the best with the baby when he or she arrives this year!

Room Tip: The new rooms downstairs are great and offer a little more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnotherJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    80
    20
    12
    10
See reviews for
51
148
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Lovely place to stay, very friendly owner, amazing views and good food. It's a little off the beaten path but Podi will make sure you make it there. We stayed during the construction period and I imagine the place will look great once it's all finished.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed in early December. Incredible views from the verandah down through Ella Gap. Podi is a lovely guy, is very accommodating and is keen to make sure you enjoy your stay. The food is great. When we stayed there were only 2 rooms, the finishing touches were made to the new rooms (including a family room from memory) which look very nice.
It's a short stroll down to the main street but feels secluded and is very quite.
One of our favourite places in Sri Lanka. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TellesJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong / New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Contacts:
+94 77 91 92 93 7
+94 57 205 00 22
greenhillella.srilanka@yahoo.com


First we moaned that we have to take a tuktuk to reach it, but it's worth the 150 rupies from town center. And once you've checked in, the nice young couple also tell you about the shortcut by foot to reach Ella. Which is just 5 minutes by foot.

The guesthouse is very basic, but nicely maintained and clean. The rooms themselves don't have a view, just to the veranda, but once you step out to the rain-proof balcony you'll see Ella Rock, Little Adams Peak and the valley between them.

We paid 4000 for a double room and were quite happy. Would have loved to stay some longer, but our time frame was set in stone.

A few words to the negative reviews of some other guests you might find. This is here is a guesthouse run by a newly wed, young couple who try to accommodate you as best as possible. This isn't the Ritz Carlton and the location is a small village in the mountains. So, you shouldn't expect all food options to always be available, since they don't buy on stock, but if you let them know in advance, what you want, they'll go to town and get your ingredients. And for the booking mishaps I read: 5 minutes ago I witnessed how some other guests, three entitled French princesses, cancelled their booking out of no reasonable reason and our hosts tried to accommodate them as best as possible. Even helping out with their next move, etc.

And yes, I'm sitting on the huge balcony right now and typing this via the free WIFI.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluehamster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had booked this place for our 3 night stay in late November of this year. Unfortunately when we arrived there was so much construction work going on with the new rooms that we felt it was impossible to stay. Undoubtedly the views are spectacular and I am sure that when the rooms are completed this will be a fantastic spot but it would not be enjoyable at the moment. Podi was very apologetic and even offered to help us find alternative accommodation. Do go there just not yet….

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nickyg0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
podiella, Owner at Green Hill, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hello,

First of all I'd like to thank you for spending your time on writing a comment on my place.How good or bad they may be we are ready to accept all of your comments as all of them do a great job in helping us to improve ourselves.

I accept that we had some constructios under going on the days of your supposed stay.But we cannot agree with you to say that we made you dissapointed. We didn't hesitate to tell you that we had some constructions going on and guessed you wouldn't mind the noise as it wasn't there for all the time . And many of the other guests stayed with us - before you and after you as well -during the construction period. And I don't think it's fair for you to tell it was so noisy because you were here only for less than 5 minutes - just to see the place only. It'd be reasonable to say so if you stayed here and we did the constructions continuously to disturb your relaxing time while staying here - which actually didn't happened.

And also we didn't force you to stay with us and left it for your choice to stay or not. How ever I don't think that we made you dissapointed as I offered you to help in finding some other nice place too.

However all my constructions are over now and I have newly built , very comfortable two large family rooms and I'll update their photoes on my page as soon as possible.

I hope that we'll see you again at my newly built balcony facing the fabulous views of Ella Gap.


Regards,
Podi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narnia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The views from this place (double 3,200Rs without breakfast) are really beautiful. If you’re looking for a place to relax, sip on a cup of tea and read a book, this place will cover all that. The rooms are a bit on the damp side but still comfortable. Showers are very hot. The host is lovely and he will offer clear instructions on how to get to Little Adam’s Peak and Ella Rock (it’s up to you to follow them).

Eat in town if you’re on a budget; the food served at the guesthouse is very good but costs about double what you pay in town. We got charged for our welcome tea + service charge, which we thought was a little cheeky.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank gnotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My friend booked with Green Hill after reading all the fabulous reviews.
We originally booked 2 nights in Dec. But after a change in itinerary, we asked if it was ok to cancel one of the nights and retain the booking for the other night. This was done about 2-3 weeks before the assigned date. Podi replied to say that it was ok and he will reserve the room for us for that one night. Our email was very clear and Podi's reply was very clear too that he would reserve the room.

However, when we reached Green Hill on that day, Podi said that he didn't have a room reserved for us. Even after my friend showed him the printed confirmation email, he said that he thought that he emailed us to cancel but he must have forgot. He had another guest staying for 4 nights instead and he wanted to cancel our booking.

Then he told us to go and check with his brother who was managing Sita's Heaven (luckily it was a few min walk from his place). He said that Sita's Heaven had a vacant room. Podi asked us to tell his brother to call him when we reach Sita's Heaven. Shouldn't he have called his brother first to inform him that we were coming when in the first place he was the one who screwed up our booking?

We were pissed not because he passed us over the other guest who is staying for 4 nights. We were pissed because he did not seem apologetic at all. Granted, he did offer to pay for our tuk tuk if we were to go back to town and stay there. But overall, we just didn't feel that he was apologetic at all. If he did notify us beforehand that he would prefer to have the guest with 4 nights, it would have been ok because we could have just looked for another guest house. No big deal. But the worst part is arriving at any guest house (worst is if it's secluded like Green Hill) with your heavy backpacks only to realise that the booking was screwed up not by any fault of yours.

So to the other guests who have changes in itinerary, or changing dates when booking with Green Hill (or probably any other guesthouse), just make sure you double check with the guest house again a week or a few days before your booking. Or maybe if you are staying for more than 1-2 nights, it would be ok. For those who are staying only 1 night, be careful as you might have your booking cancelled when he has other higher-value guests. We probably should have done it, but it sure didn't occur to us - booking dates and informing guests of cancellation shouldn't have been a major issue for Podi since there are only 2 rooms.

The only reason why this still garnered 2 stars instead of 1 star was that we got to see the view, which was really fabulous. Eventually, we stayed at Sita's Heaven, which we got a better room with a similar rate as Green Hill.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mikayap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
podiella, Owner at Green Hill, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Hello,

thanks for your comments.
I'd like to clarify the facts for you - what happened and what didn't happen in real. I agree that you booked our place for 2 nights around one and half months ago. So we were keeping the room for you for both the nights and refused all the other room requests we got for the same days - and some were for even higher prices than you. We assured the room for you even without a deposit. Then just 2 days ahead of your supposed stay, you wanted to cancel one night and stay only one night here.Then we emailed you saying that if you want to cancel your one night here in such a short time it'd be better if you could cancel both the nights -then at least we could look for another booking for the same 2 nights those were meant to be yours - but we really don't know you checked your mails or not. I suggest you to be logical about our situation here as well - not only yours - as we are running a business for living here.

However we were nice enough to offer you some another place to stay also. Because of the situation you made for us by being so irresponsible and cancelling your bookings in such a short time notice, we planned to request for the advance payments from the other guests who had bookings with us -though we know it causes more trouble to all the other trustworthy guests.

May be you can just think twice of the situation you make for the hosting place- when you book a place for the next time and cancelling it for your sudden change of plans.

thank you
podi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#9 of 11 in Ella
144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ella Nature View
Ella Nature View
#21 of 157 in Ella
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ella Mount View Guest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ella's Edge Resort
Ella's Edge Resort
#22 of 157 in Ella
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ella Rock House
Ella Rock House
#7 of 157 in Ella
201 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ella Jungle Resort
Ella Jungle Resort
#5 of 117 in Ella
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Hill

Property: Green Hill
Address: Passara road | Sapumalthanna, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we're happy to say that our ongoing constructions already finished and our restaurant is now available for you. specially quiet, friendly nature to spend your holiday in a serene location with the fabulous views ever. And also with a treat of delicious sri lankan cuisine. Enjoy every moment while setting your eyes on both the sun rise and sun set.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Green Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing