We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Planters Bungalow Ella
Ranked #19 of 163 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Planters Bungalow is a tastefully refurbished villa. Upon arrival you very quickly notice that John, the host/owner, has good natural design sensibilities. He wasn't finished with all his refurbishment plans but it's well on its way. The fact that it's a work in progress only adds to the appeal leaving you wondering what it could look and feel like in a couple months time.

There are several rooms and John let's you take your pick of what's available. All the rooms offer their own private entrance. I think they're all connected to the main building but you'd never guess it with the clever design. There is an actual detached cottage (which was amazingly a horse stable in a previous life) for those looking for more seclusion and privacy.

Planter's has its own veg garden and a variety of fruit trees on the premise. This organic produce usually makes an appearance in the lovely meals he serves up on his pretty verandah.

Breakfasts are gorgeous. A heap of fresh tropical fruit with local yogurt/curd, followed by a traditional Sri Lankan breakfast spread (curries and flatbread). I'm pretty sure he'd be happy to do a fry up for those wanting eggs.

Dinner was also great. I'd recommend trying to eat there even if you're not staying! John does a ridiculously good pumpkin soup. I wish we stayed longer just to see what else he'd serve up.

If there was a downside to Planters it would be the location. It's not in Ella proper and the views of the Gap are somewhat obstructed. However, there are lots of cheap busses and trishaws that traverse the route to Ella so it's not a problem getting transport whenever you need it. There's no pool either but one can't reasonably expect that from a place currently priced under $50 usd a night.

I would recommend this hidden gem to all discerning travelers.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonhommeAndDauphine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
There are newer reviews for Planters Bungalow Ella
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 244 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2011

About 10k outside Ella, only a minute or two from the A23 but tucked away is this delightful conversion of a old planters bungalow. The English owner has wonderful design sense and has combined the old with the new to create a very comfortable and personal home from home. The bedrooms are all designed with a different colour theme – on this visit I stayed in the ‘yellow’ room which has a 21st century bathroom looking out at a buddha who graces a shallow fish pond. John, who always seems to be about the place is most congenial and, if asked, is more than happy to share his experiences of SL good and bad and provide good local travel advice.
He is a well travelled chef and the food ( b/fast and dinner) which is tailored to the preferences of the guests is wonderful – there is not a very wide choice for the dinner menu but the food is freshly cooked and there is always lots of it. Similarly b/fast is a feast offering Sri Lankan dishes and all the usual western options - yoghurt and fresh fruit and juices from the tropical garden etc. The Sri Lankan staff who tend to serve the meals are all very charming and helpful.
This is a great place to chill out and experience a bit of comfort after a sojourn in a cabana on the coast or after some tiring driving in the interior and is a good base for a number of activities in the interior. I have stayed here twice in the last few months and I would thoroughly recommend it as would many of the people who have stayed here, judging from the guest book.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

this is a wonderful guest house, clean, quiet and full of the right ambience! If you plan an extended stay near Ella stay here you wont regret it, John is the host with the most and will offer you the most relaxed, enjoyable stay possible in Sri Lanka.
Thanks John for a wonderful experience, we will definitely reccommend and definitely come again!
cheers

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SriLankaMonkeymayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Bighopes37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank javiprimo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Une vue splendide sur les montagnes.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sophie-Eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saminda R, Owner at Planters Bungalow Ella, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Etienne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saminda R, Owner at Planters Bungalow Ella, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
3.3 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
2.8 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
3.5 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#8 of 11 in Ella
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 11 in Ella
183 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ella
161 reviews
3.4 mi away
Zion View
Zion View
#11 of 163 in Ella
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Bungalow Ella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Bungalow Ella

Address: Ella | 10 Mile Post, Uva- Karandagolla Ella, Srilanka, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range: $101 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Bungalow Ella 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique location where you can relax, in true hill-country style. The climate is rated as one of the best in Sri Lanka - cool evenings and warm days offer a respite from the heat of the coastal resorts and is enjoyed by many Sri Lankans as well as foreign visitors. We are high up here at 1000 metres surrounded by the vast panoramas of the Ella Gap. Karandagolla is slightly lower down than the cooler tea gardens of Badulla giving us a more tropical air and richer variety of exotic plants and fauna. There is much wild country to explore on foot. Many and varied excursions can be arranged. The more active may engage with nature by climbing Little Adams Peak or visiting our local organic tea plantation. Alternatively you can just chill out and enjoy the fine food and comfort of the 'Bungalow', sip chilled drinks on the verandah of an evening, stroll in the grounds or slump in a hammock! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Planters Bungalow Ella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Bungalow Ella Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing