We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot, great host, great food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Planters Bungalow Ella
Ranked #18 of 163 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Loved our time at Planters Bungalow, spent only one night there which in hindsight was not enough, it was a year ago that we stayed but was just thinking about our trip to Sri Lanka and wanted to write a review to reccomend this place. John (I Think this was his name) was a fantastic host, the dinner was excellent and the breakfast the following morning was absolutely superb, one of the best meals we had on our trip. Woudl definately visit again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guv1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
There are newer reviews for Planters Bungalow Ella
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 243 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

A beautiful guesthouse in superb surrounding. The warm welcome of john, the charming host, and his staff makes you feel at home. Delicious breakkfast and dinner are a treat you can't resist. If buddha could choose, he would spent the night here. If travelling with children, max the dog will be their best friend.
Roel, Marie, Remi, roman from belgium.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marieroel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed for three nights in February.
John is a charming if somewhat eccentric host. His and has staffs cooking is truly a delight. The meals with the rest of the guests in the evening gave you an opportunity to see what others had been doing on the island.
The dishes are all shared amongst the guests so you get a wonderful variety of amazingly authentic Sri Lankan delicacies.
The walk up the hill at the back of Planters is wonderful, great views plenty of wildlife and Max the dog will show you the short cuts and look after you. He was great company.
The beds are a bit hard and the plumbing leaves a bit to be desired but it is trill a wonderful place and one we have very fond memories of.
It is well worth a visit as a few other reviewers pointed out it is a long way from Ella but on saying that there is not much worth seeing in Ella anyway.

Room Tip: The cottage didn't look very big. Our room around the back was secluded and OK.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiitscharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We spent two weeks touring Sri Lanka and Planters Bungalow was the best value of all. The setting is lovely. The decoration is beautiful and the food one of the best we had in the island.

It has few rooms and we shared dinner with the rest of the guests. We had a lovely time, chatting with the people, sharing experiences and John joined and shared his view of the country. We had a great time there.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
Thank crammarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

If you want style and comfort without paying silly 'Boutique Hotel' prices then Planters Bungalow could be the place for you. A little difficult to find but worth the effort.

Delightful, individually and stylishly decorated bedroom with private bathroom and a lovely sitting-out area under cover with comfortable day bed/lounger all set in a fabulous garden with fish pond, tended lawns, wild areas with monkeys, sitting out areas, bird song and butterflies. Bliss !! No grand views but you'll see all those from the road so no need.

John Geoghegan runs this tight ship and welcomes you warmly. He's charming and chatty and has obviously put a lot of thought into the comfort of his guests. A delicious 'fusion' dinner was served on the verandah overlooking the garden with candle light and ghekkos. Breakfast was equally good and oh so plentiful !!

Only niggle - small problem with the water supply to the bathroom - it was there and it was hot but it took a long time to arrive !!

Tip: Don't leave your flip-flops outside overnight as one may vanish !! We suspected Mr Max, one of John's furry and very friendly companions !

Worth every penny and our 'find' this time in SL. Wish we could have stayed longer !

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bootsanall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Positives: great food, good location and lovely gardens

Negatives: our room had no hot water and the toliet was broken

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GNGR2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Spent two nights there in late March with partner and another cole. Truly an experience for the memory bank - location, accommodation, cuisine and John the patron. We arrived at night in the middle of a violent thunderstorm - not recommended as it can be difficult to find and last stretch of road is in need of repair. But we were greeted in a very friendly helpful manner by John and his attentive task.
Rooms were excellent - spacious and in a wonderful garden setting with spectacular views in all directions. Dinner on the verandah was first class using all local ingredients, afterwards we were joined by John a true raconteur although somewhat idiosyncratic! All in all N evening to remember.
Breakfast was another treat with all local dishes. Quantity set us up for the day.

As a hideaway break for 3-7 days I would highly recommend it. Also as an excellent base for touring the surrounding hill/plantation countryside.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleggan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
2.8 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
3.3 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
3.5 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#8 of 11 in Ella
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 11 in Ella
182 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ella
161 reviews
3.4 mi away
Zion View
Zion View
#11 of 163 in Ella
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Bungalow Ella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Bungalow Ella

Address: Ella | 10 Mile Post, Uva- Karandagolla Ella, Srilanka, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range: $101 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Bungalow Ella 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique location where you can relax, in true hill-country style. The climate is rated as one of the best in Sri Lanka - cool evenings and warm days offer a respite from the heat of the coastal resorts and is enjoyed by many Sri Lankans as well as foreign visitors. We are high up here at 1000 metres surrounded by the vast panoramas of the Ella Gap. Karandagolla is slightly lower down than the cooler tea gardens of Badulla giving us a more tropical air and richer variety of exotic plants and fauna. There is much wild country to explore on foot. Many and varied excursions can be arranged. The more active may engage with nature by climbing Little Adams Peak or visiting our local organic tea plantation. Alternatively you can just chill out and enjoy the fine food and comfort of the 'Bungalow', sip chilled drinks on the verandah of an evening, stroll in the grounds or slump in a hammock! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Planters Bungalow Ella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Bungalow Ella Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing