We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Planters Bungalow Ella
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Feelin'good Resort(Ella)(Great Value!)
$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$604
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$240
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveler rating
188
61
33
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
61
33
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyellow roomswimming poolsri lankasecret waterfalltuk tuknice poolwonderful settinghill countryfruit treesset menuhuge bathroomthe ownerbird liferelaxing stayvery special placeoverlooking the valleyother guests
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 293 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2012

If you want style and comfort without paying silly 'Boutique Hotel' prices then Planters Bungalow could be the place for you. A little difficult to find but worth the effort.

Delightful, individually and stylishly decorated bedroom with private bathroom and a lovely sitting-out area under cover with comfortable day bed/lounger all set in a fabulous garden with fish pond, tended lawns, wild areas with monkeys, sitting out areas, bird song and butterflies. Bliss !! No grand views but you'll see all those from the road so no need.

John Geoghegan runs this tight ship and welcomes you warmly. He's charming and chatty and has obviously put a lot of thought into the comfort of his guests. A delicious 'fusion' dinner was served on the verandah overlooking the garden with candle light and ghekkos. Breakfast was equally good and oh so plentiful !!

Only niggle - small problem with the water supply to the bathroom - it was there and it was hot but it took a long time to arrive !!

Tip: Don't leave your flip-flops outside overnight as one may vanish !! We suspected Mr Max, one of John's furry and very friendly companions !

Worth every penny and our 'find' this time in SL. Wish we could have stayed longer !

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bootsanall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Positives: great food, good location and lovely gardens

Negatives: our room had no hot water and the toliet was broken

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GNGR2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Spent two nights there in late March with partner and another cole. Truly an experience for the memory bank - location, accommodation, cuisine and John the patron. We arrived at night in the middle of a violent thunderstorm - not recommended as it can be difficult to find and last stretch of road is in need of repair. But we were greeted in a very friendly helpful manner by John and his attentive task.
Rooms were excellent - spacious and in a wonderful garden setting with spectacular views in all directions. Dinner on the verandah was first class using all local ingredients, afterwards we were joined by John a true raconteur although somewhat idiosyncratic! All in all N evening to remember.
Breakfast was another treat with all local dishes. Quantity set us up for the day.

As a hideaway break for 3-7 days I would highly recommend it. Also as an excellent base for touring the surrounding hill/plantation countryside.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleggan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed here for three nights and have to say that the food was some of the best I have ever had. The breakfast was so plentiful it was crazy, I stuffed myself and still couldn't get through it all! The dinners were a mix of sri lankan flavours and western techniques and were all top notch. John is a great host and we had a very relaxing time. It is a 15 min tuk tuk ride from Ella town but we never had problems getting into town. Our room also had a massive lounge which I couldn't believe was all for us. Really enjoyed the stay.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank James81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Everything about this place was delioghtful: the architecture, the gardens, the decor and above all the cuisine and the company of John who with the help of his Sri Lankan staff has made of this place a real gem. The food was an inspired fusion of western and Sri Lankan styles and plentiful, after which he helped us all put the world to rights in a gently alcohol-fuelled way. Highly recommended especially if you fancy something a bit different.

Only slight criticism is that the beds were a bit small and not all that comfortable - and the dog bit our driver!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stonesheygate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews