We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Ella Gap Panorama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ella Gap Panorama
Ranked #29 of 163 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Highly reccomend this place, it is very personal and local, it has stunning views and Amazing homecooked food, we will be back here for both. they even have their own little private garden dug into the cliff face.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views of waterfall.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluem0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
There are newer reviews for Ella Gap Panorama
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 305 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

The views from this place are simply amazing. But the rooms are awful. They are very old and worn, with heavily stained walls (squashed bugs) and disgusting bathrooms. There were red ants crawling EVERYWHERE, including in our bed. So much so, that I asked to change rooms, which we did. But the second room wasn't much better. I understand that the doors/windows are open without screens...and that insects are inevitable...but there's no excuse for the mold in the bathroom and the inches thick dust on the fan, which was our only source of air flow since there is no a/c. (pics attached). It just seemed like no one cared enough about cleaning...especially at breakfast the next day where there were dead cockroach looking things under the table.

THE GOOD:
amazing view

THE BAD:
not clean
moldy bathroom
ants crawling in bed
very unfriendly staff

THE SWINGERS (you may like, others may not)
no a/c
no internet

Would NEVER stay here again or recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twaterwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upuliman, Owner at Ella Gap Panorama, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Reviewer
We would like to give you our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you had to face during your stay with us. We were out during the time of your stay and we are really sorry for not being able to attend to the issues immediately. However we have attended to all the matters you had highlighted in your review upon our return and made sure it will not be experienced by any other traveler who wish to patronize our guest house in future, we have also advised our staff to make sure that this will not be repeated in the future. We may not be able to completely eliminate all bugs but will make sure that we keep all windows closed when guests are not in to avoid any creatures getting in to the room. We appreciate that you brought these issues to our notice so that we could avoid this being experienced by other travelers.
Thank you
Nimal Weeraratne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My family and I stayed here for two nights after basically running through Sri Lanka. It was perfect. We arrived in Ella for the sole purpose of taking the train back to Colombo. We arrived in the afternoon just in time for the first rain of rainy season. It was so relaxing to sit in our room and look at the the lighting over the valley. And the same happened the next afternoon. Coming from the desert, those two days of rain were wonderful. Yes there are a few bugs and geckos but they are just there to make one feel welcome. The owners wife keeps an excellent garden in the front of the building. There are beautiful little purple rumped sunbirds flying all around. The owners wife even took my wife and niece into the kitchen and showed them how to cook Sri Lankan curries.

Room Tip: Get the top floor room with the big bay windows! It looks right out over the valley.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikelynn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This place has magnificent view, and the welcoming staffs and the food were terrific too. I just wasn't so keen on the bed room, it's big enough, but rather old and worn out. Insects from outside flying in, the bathroom is like a eco-system for them, the window was broken so I could not shut them out. While sleeping, I noticed some "lights" were flying around, was a little frighten thinking it was a visitor from the twilight zone (lol), turned out to be some fire flies visiting my room, well that was a unique experience. One night in there is more than enough.

Room Tip: You must try and shut all the windows in order not to have flying insects into your room
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank la_speranza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

On a recent trip to Sri Lanka, we stayed at this charming hotel. The view was spectacular. The hotel was clean and the staff friendly. The food was some of the best we had in Sri Lanka. If staying in Ella, this is worth staying at and it is reasonable in price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front with a view of the mountains.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jubliladaviajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

High above the town, this guesthouse has the most magnificent view. The rooms are pretty basic but adequate. Unfortunately we were there over the new year period and had power blackouts for a large majority of the 2 days, plus the noisy men that sat up all night drinking and smoking didn't help. All this of course no fault of the guesthouse.
The staff are great and very hardworking. Breakfast is basic but dinner was delicious. Great curry. For those that like a drink be forewarned. They do not serve alcohol so bring your own.
The gardens are very pretty with lots of birds. You can probably get nicer places in Ella but this is reasonable for the price and the view...wow

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenorNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The view here is absolutely breathtaking. After 4 days, hadn't got over how great it was. Amazing food, lovely staff and comfy, basic room (one whole wall was a giant window so we could enjoy the panoramic view the whole time) Thank you so much for an incredible stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.3 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ella
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
0.2 mi away
Ella Mount View Guest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The View
The View
#28 of 163 in Ella
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ella Nature View
Ella Nature View
#20 of 163 in Ella
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ella's Edge Resort
Ella's Edge Resort
#21 of 163 in Ella
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ella Gap Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ella Gap Panorama

Address: Kithalella, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range: $68 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ella Gap Panorama 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ella Gap Panorama Guesthouse, is Located 230km from Sri Lankas Capital City Colombo & 85km from Mattala International Airport. The Panorama Guesthouse is within close proximity of Ella town located on a picturesque hill side facing the magnificent Ella Gap and Ravana Falls, off the Ella - Kithalella road. With 7 guest rooms, the Guesthouse is a serine hideaway in the hill country of Sri Lanka. The restaurant of the Guesthouse specializes in authentic Sri Lankan cuisine prepared with the freshest ingredients sourced from the area. A Sri Lankan rice and curry meal is something you should not miss on your visit to Ella Gap Panorama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ella Gap Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ella Gap Panorama Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing