We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, friendly staff”
Review of Ella Tea Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ella Tea Garden
Ranked #114 of 165 Ella B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 12, 2010

The staff here were very helpful and gave us advice on places we could visit in Ella and how to get there, what time of day to go etc. They had a cute little Daschund puppy that I fell in love with too.
The view of the mountains from our room was amazing. The room was 3800 rupees/night for a double room. The only downside was that there was no aircon or even a fan! It didn't end up being a problem at all though, as the weather in the hill country is pretty cool, especially at night.
They also have driver's quarters and meals at no extra charge, if you are traveling with a driver/guide.

Recommend while you're in Ella, to do the 2 hour walk to Ella Rock- the view is amazing! Also, Little Adam's Peak, and Ella waterfall are nice places to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theekshna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 177 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2010

Went in to this place after an terrible experience in "Grand Ella Motel" with a worst possible welcome at "Elle Motel"

But in "Tea Garden" staff was so friendly and and cheerful. They showed us the rooms and gave us the selected room. The view from the hotel was great and one of the best views you can find around Ella.

After selecting the room we went to see one of the nearby waterfalls and when we came back, the rooms were ready and the waiters brought teat to the sitting area just outside the room, where we could experience the sundown from high above the ground while enjoying a tea.

Food and rooms was ok for us and had hot water also. Rooms were average but value for money.

They made the breakfast also the way we wanted.

This is a good place to stay at an average price.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nirmana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

For 4000 SRL (with breakfast) we experienced a pleasant stay with a fantastic view at this guest house. The rooms were nice - if dimly lit - and the beds comfortable, bathrooms however slightly grubby and without hot water. The guys who manage this place are excellent cooks. They are also extremely helpful and will provide solid advice on how to plan your day.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin_Chillinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank mumina72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank H W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Volgens mij hebben alle kamers een mooi uitzicht!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nootuitespel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank yoyoturlututu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
3.7 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#5 of 11 in Ella
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Side View Inn
Green Side View Inn
#106 of 165 in Ella
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Floating 2
Floating 2
#87 of 165 in Ella
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
59B Rest Inn Ella
59B Rest Inn Ella
#30 of 165 in Ella
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ella Highest Inn
Ella Highest Inn
#121 of 165 in Ella
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ella's Edge Resort
Ella's Edge Resort
#20 of 165 in Ella
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ella Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ella Tea Garden

Address: No. 11 Wellawaya Road, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka (Formerly Tea Garden Holiday Inn)
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range: $21 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ella Tea Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tea Garden Holiday Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing