We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for a night”
Review of Ella Tea Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ella Tea Garden
Ranked #110 of 152 Ella B&B and Inns
London ,UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“ok for a night”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Simple place to stay, pleasant staff, comfortablish beds but could do with a overhaul, showers cold and bathrooms not great but passable for a nights stay. Not cheap as should be for standard but nowhere in Ella is

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jowwoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    39
    46
    29
    19
See reviews for
25
91
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The hotel is on the hillside and you need to climb some stairs to reach the hotel. Once you reach the veranda, you'll enjoy a nice few. The room was small, there was mould in the bathroom. The shower was leaking. The bed was comfortable. It was ok for one night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ella hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Arrived here after a long journey from Galle on the south coast and was confronted by a long trek up step steps to the guest house. We were quickly shown to our room which was small and not very clean round the edges. The bathroom was well past it's best and, to be frank, needed a thorough clean. Someone needed to get down on their hands and knees and give everything a good scrub. I know high humidity causes problems with mould but that's no excuse for the black round the edges of the shower doors and tray. There was only cold water in the basin so my husband had to shave in the shower, which in itself was rather difficult to operate.

One of the reasons we picked the Tea Garden was because of the good reports on the cooking. We have no grumble about the breakfasts, they were excellent, but the dinner we ordered on the first night was not at all what I expected. The food was not very hot, looked unappetising and I had the distinct feeling it hadn't been freshly cooked for us although we'd ordered it well in advance.

However the staff were very friendly and helpful when planning what to do and see.

Positives:
Friendly staff
Stunning views
Excellent breakfasts

Negatives:
Cleanliness especially in bathroom
Room cleaning and bins emptied only once during 3 night stay and then only because we asked.
Ongoing building work in some rooms
Evening meal

Conclusion: if the Tea Garden is going to advertise itself as as having "12 luxury rooms" it seriously needs to improve cleanliness and facilities.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
357 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Almost all the rooms have some view of either Ella or the Ella gap. Of all the rooms, room 07 probably has the best setting. It has a huge veranda and the bed is set to see the sunrise. Breakfast is tasty and more than enough to feed an elephant. Ask for a Sri Lankan breakfast one day in advance.
Some issues to consider:
1.The stairway to the hotel is very steep. If you have to carry heavy bags, this could kill your back.
2. Despite having carried my own bags all the way to the room, the person who showed me to my room insisted on a tip for carrying my bags. Huh? I carried it myself? Okay, then a tip for unlocking the door and showing the room. Huh? What is there to show?
3.Door frames are made for asians. If you are taller than 180cm expect to bump your head.
4. Showers are terrible. If you open the hotwater to realease anything more than a few drops of water, the teperature immediately drops to icy cold. Okay Sri Lanka is hot but Ella can become quite cold at night.
5. Pillows are rock hard! Don't even bother asking for a softer pillow. They are all hard!

PS. The dog (Rexie) makes a good companion for any lonely (or not so lonely) traveler. Real cutie!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario1547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Nice clean rooms with mosquito nets, balconies that look over to Ellas gap, clean bathrooms (although no hot water).

Breakfast was included and was really tasty - lots of warm toast with butter and jam, fresh fruit selection, tea and coffee and a choice of eggs. Couldn't have asked for more!

Also, the staff there were more than happy to help us organise our sight seeing around Ella - showing us a map of the area, telling us which buses to get, and even calling up a tea plantation to see if it was open to visitors. They also let us keep our bags there for the day.

Could not fault this place at all, everything was perfect, even down to the little friendly sausage dog!

Room Tip: Try and get one that is on the second floor with a balcony that looks over the amazing views of Ella...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lily_bell-51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Arriving at tea garden as the sun was setting, I thought I'd reached heaven. Amazing view, nice room, friendly service and good location. Great breakfast included also. Only negative, bathrooms need some work

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a great overall stay, the view outside our room was beautiful. You could see the Ella gap with mini Adam's peak in the left and Ella Rock on the right. We requested Sri Lankan breakfast the night before and the food was exceptional. Amari was happy to cook something different for us every time and it was probably one of the best during our stay in Sri Lanka. Climbing mini Adam's peak took about 1 hour and I would strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 102 that was 4000 LKR per night for 2 people. No need for AC during our stay, begi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EveBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.2 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
0.3 mi away
Brilliant View Home Stay
0.2 mi away
The View
The View
#27 of 152 in Ella
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ella's Edge Resort
Ella's Edge Resort
#24 of 152 in Ella
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ella Rock House
Ella Rock House
#8 of 152 in Ella
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zion View
Zion View
#12 of 152 in Ella
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ella Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ella Tea Garden

Property: Ella Tea Garden
Address: No. 11 Wellawaya Road, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka (Formerly Tea Garden Holiday Inn)
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Tea Garden Holiday Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing