We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ella Tea Garden
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveler rating
44
41
46
29
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
41
46
29
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsholiday inn for nightsviews of the mountainsplace to stayclose to townrajuhillmongooseteaterracehoneysri
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 179 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Booked with booking.com and paid a horendous price. Views are nice, but the rooms are not acceptable!!! Door didnt lock properly, dirty sheets, pillow was black of dirt, bed too short, towels dirty, holes in the mosquito net, breakfast ok, but not good enough for this price. Really bad experience!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

fantastic stay here at tea gardens. the trek from the station up the hill and stairs was totally worth it, the view is incredible (ella rock and mini adams peak). the staff were so lovely, a family-run business, very attentive helpful and cooked the best curry we had on our trip! rooms were nicely decorated and spacious. definitely try to get one up the top floor for the killer view. highly recommended getting up early for the trip to ella rock - breathtaking. wish we could have stayed here longer!

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eanddbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We (a friend and I) arrived at Ella having had a few days on the south coast, and were ready for a couple of days in the famously spectacular Hill Country. Ella itself is small and well-equipped but touristy on Sri Lankan terms (I'll review the town separately), and the Tea Garden was the perfect base for us to explore it.

Without having booked ahead, we opted to try the Tea Garden first based on a single entry in Lonely Planet which made it sound like an interesting choice. There was a reference to the amazing views - a reference which didn't really do it justice. Having been led up to the highest point in the inn, the balcony outside our generously-sized room faced directly toward Ella Gap, with Ella Rock to the right and 'Buddha's Knuckles' to the left. It was breathtaking.

The room was clean and comfortable, and, as I say, a good size. The bathroom was functional with a decent shower which warmed up after a while. Outside our room we had a couple of sofas from where you could comfortably drink in this stunning landscape, and downstairs below us were other rooms and a beautifully set-out garden.

The hotel manager was one of the most friendly, helpful and useful hosts we met all fortnight. He was also a cracking cook - the breakfast (fruit platter, roti and omelette) was the ideal preparation for a good morning's walking. His rice and curry evening meal was also as good as any other we had (except for one particular place in Sigirya). He recommended walks, places to eat, places to drink... We were extremely lucky to have his help.

All in all, Ella was the highlight of my trip and the Tea Garden, with its views, warm hospitality and decent standard of accommodation, was a huge contributor to this.

Room Tip: If you can get the room at the top, overlooking Ella Gap, take it! We were charged 4,500 rupees - not cheap for round there but perfectly reasonable.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Despite some negative reviews here on TripAdvisor, we booked this hotel for 4 nights for our stay in Ella and were positively surprised. The hotel is situated on a hill with a beautiful view of the waterfall, Ella Rock, and little Adam's peak from the terrace. Probably the best thing about the hotel is the food. Ella itself, in my opinion, has some of the best curry in Sri Lanka, each order comprising of several different vegetable curries, dal, and a small meat curry, if that is the main order. The manager at Tea Garden Holiday is a great cook, and we enjoyed eating there. We also participated in a cooking show he offered, where he showed us how to make the different types of curries. Breakfast was also good with a choice of an omelette or Sri Lankan breakfast, fresh fruits, freshly brewed tea or coffee, and curd and honey as desert.
The location of the hotel is great, around 100m from the center of town, but far enough from the road to be nice and quiet. The rooms themselves are basic but fine. There's no air conditioning, but there's a gap between the walls and the roof, and with the windows open, so there's enough air circulation to keep the place cool. Room service, like in most places we stayed in Sri Lanka, is on demand.
The place is great for anyone who came to Ella to appreciate the nature and the food and is a great starting point for hikes to the nearby hills and tea plantations.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris_clz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

we have covered a lot road to find this paceful and beautiful place.
when we were climbing the road, i spotted this lovely house but dared not to go. based on experience, this kind of hotel with great location and beautiful construction would asks beyond what we can afford. so we went on looking around. it happened one hotel was closed and that little hotel offers the position that the serviceman of Tea Garden Holiday Inn can say hello to us.
so we were moved by the house and the not-so-expensive price.
this can be considered as the best view hotel during our trip in Sri Lanka.
recommended to everyone!
food is great and the dining room is fantastic.
the owner of Tea Garden Holiday Inn loves animals so much that they set a rice platform for birds and squirrels!

Room Tip: upper floor is better, and there are also two room seperate from the main building.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews