We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place we stayed in Sri Lanka”
Review of Ella Tea Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ella Tea Garden
Ranked #108 of 173 Ella B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 4, 2012

For us this was the best place we stayed in Sri Lanka. Excellent view, nice couche in front of our room, the best place to relax with our children after travelling around. And the children loved Renske! Don't expect too much comfort but enjoy the view, the peacefull surroundings and the food!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Jedidja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 179 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff in a awesome setting but it was the most expensive place we stayed in during 3 weeks of travelling in Sri Lanka and was missing simple things like hot water, electricity sockets and bins.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

One of the best places i ever visited in the country.Must visit town in the country.Excellent view.Food is little bit hot.But you can order western food as well.Good service. Specially the Manager Krish. Hope to visit nest year as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travemads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was the best place we stayed while in Sr Lanka (and we stayed in 9 different guest houses). Ella itself is stunning though lots of building work going on so it may lose some of its charm. The Tea Garden has a lovely garden where you can sit facing a fabulous view, enjoying the best cup of tea ever. The rooms and bathroom were fine, the place very clean, and the staff friendly and helpful. We only stayed one night but could happily have stayed for longer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newton447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

One of the best views we had in Ella area.
We had been there for 3 days. The staff was so busy with new management so we hand mix experience in there, but I can say in near future guest will be enjoyed the tea grand INN very well.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Senaka A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights. The rooms are nice, the view was great and the food was pretty decent. Unfortunately the manager? was very pushy and basically forced us to tip him, he had been quite helpful, but always tried to add extra charges to what was on our bill, and would not give us change until we asked an even then not the full amount! Also would not recommend getting laundry done here, they charge a fortune and my clothes stank, had to re-wash everything!!! Unfortunate because the family were nice and the location was brilliant

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Devilled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I got a large triple room near the dining area. The room had a strange triangular shape but that allowed them to fit in an extra bed. We stayed for 3 nights and didn't have any bedbug problems. The bathroom certainly needed to be cleaned/renovated but we weren't shocked by it. The cook was on vacation so we ended eating dinner at the Rawana Guest House right next door (which is AMAZING!) We paid 3500 rupees for the triple room. I really enjoyed the view and bird watching and my kids loved to play with the dog. The dining room certainly wasn't "filthy" as another reviewer put it but there was a family of birds living in the dining room. The wi-fi worked well in the dining room but not so well elsewhere. Great location - close to town and quiet at night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LannaAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
1 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ella
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 11 in Ella
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#8 of 11 in Ella
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ella Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ella Tea Garden

Address: No. 11 Wellawaya Road, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka (Formerly Tea Garden Holiday Inn)
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range: $23 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ella Tea Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tea Garden Holiday Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing