We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best...”
Review of Ella Tea Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ella Tea Garden
Ranked #122 of 180 Ella B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was the best place we stayed while in Sr Lanka (and we stayed in 9 different guest houses). Ella itself is stunning though lots of building work going on so it may lose some of its charm. The Tea Garden has a lovely garden where you can sit facing a fabulous view, enjoying the best cup of tea ever. The rooms and bathroom were fine, the place very clean, and the staff friendly and helpful. We only stayed one night but could happily have stayed for longer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newton447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 179 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

One of the best views we had in Ella area.
We had been there for 3 days. The staff was so busy with new management so we hand mix experience in there, but I can say in near future guest will be enjoyed the tea grand INN very well.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Senaka A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights. The rooms are nice, the view was great and the food was pretty decent. Unfortunately the manager? was very pushy and basically forced us to tip him, he had been quite helpful, but always tried to add extra charges to what was on our bill, and would not give us change until we asked an even then not the full amount! Also would not recommend getting laundry done here, they charge a fortune and my clothes stank, had to re-wash everything!!! Unfortunate because the family were nice and the location was brilliant

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Devilled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I got a large triple room near the dining area. The room had a strange triangular shape but that allowed them to fit in an extra bed. We stayed for 3 nights and didn't have any bedbug problems. The bathroom certainly needed to be cleaned/renovated but we weren't shocked by it. The cook was on vacation so we ended eating dinner at the Rawana Guest House right next door (which is AMAZING!) We paid 3500 rupees for the triple room. I really enjoyed the view and bird watching and my kids loved to play with the dog. The dining room certainly wasn't "filthy" as another reviewer put it but there was a family of birds living in the dining room. The wi-fi worked well in the dining room but not so well elsewhere. Great location - close to town and quiet at night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LannaAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Really didnt enjoy staying here. Booked two nights and although cheap (35 USD pn) I'm not sure it was worth it. Friendly staff but being greeted by cockroaches wasn't very enjoyable. Breakfast was ok as was the location but I'm sure there are better places in Ella to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TucksBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We arrived here 'on spec' in March 2012, very tired and keen to find a room. We were given a family room and the views from the balcony/garden outside were spectacular. However, during the three days we were here it became increasingly apparent how unkempt the rooms were. We are fairly open minded and seasoned travellers (particularly in our youth) - now with a four year old child - but the bathroom was actually dirty and the mattresses and pillows did not bear inspection. These things become unacceptable when you are older and paying 4000 Rs a night. The staff were friendly enough and always kind to our son (as all Sri Lankans were), but the hotel needs a really good brush up in my opinion. Some french travellers we met stayed at Rock View, which we visited and was much cleaner.

To be fair though, the staff were helpful, breakfast is OK and they were helpful enough. It just needed to be much cleaner.

Room Tip: Check the cleanliness very carefully before agreeing to a room. Also, laundry was very expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlostatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

After spending one night at this revolting place my friend got up and his whole body was covered with bedbugs’ bites. The room IS dirty, the bathroom has not been cleaned for ages (I had to clean it myself and I realised afterwards that the bathroom colour is not brown but pink!), the communal breakfast area is filthy and the whole place transmits a could-not-be-bothered aura…still they wanted 35 US$! Avoid it!


P.S.: Accommodation options in Sri Lanka are, in out perspective and compared to South-East Asia, neighbouring India, Central Asia and even the Middle-East, bad value for money. Prices increased enormously over the past two years and expect to pay 50€-60€ for a double and get just an average room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnTheRoad150301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.2 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ella
188 reviews
1 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#5 of 11 in Ella
249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#8 of 11 in Ella
163 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ella Jungle Resort
Ella Jungle Resort
#13 of 144 in Ella
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ella Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ella Tea Garden

Address: No. 11 Wellawaya Road, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka (Formerly Tea Garden Holiday Inn)
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range: $26 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ella Tea Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tea Garden Holiday Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing