We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad”
Review of Ella Tea Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ella Tea Garden
Ranked #110 of 152 Ella B&B and Inns
Brighton UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good and Bad”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We arrived here 'on spec' in March 2012, very tired and keen to find a room. We were given a family room and the views from the balcony/garden outside were spectacular. However, during the three days we were here it became increasingly apparent how unkempt the rooms were. We are fairly open minded and seasoned travellers (particularly in our youth) - now with a four year old child - but the bathroom was actually dirty and the mattresses and pillows did not bear inspection. These things become unacceptable when you are older and paying 4000 Rs a night. The staff were friendly enough and always kind to our son (as all Sri Lankans were), but the hotel needs a really good brush up in my opinion. Some french travellers we met stayed at Rock View, which we visited and was much cleaner.

To be fair though, the staff were helpful, breakfast is OK and they were helpful enough. It just needed to be much cleaner.

Room Tip: Check the cleanliness very carefully before agreeing to a room. Also, laundry was very expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlostatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    39
    46
    29
    19
See reviews for
25
91
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

After spending one night at this revolting place my friend got up and his whole body was covered with bedbugs’ bites. The room IS dirty, the bathroom has not been cleaned for ages (I had to clean it myself and I realised afterwards that the bathroom colour is not brown but pink!), the communal breakfast area is filthy and the whole place transmits a could-not-be-bothered aura…still they wanted 35 US$! Avoid it!


P.S.: Accommodation options in Sri Lanka are, in out perspective and compared to South-East Asia, neighbouring India, Central Asia and even the Middle-East, bad value for money. Prices increased enormously over the past two years and expect to pay 50€-60€ for a double and get just an average room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheRoad150301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ella hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bankeryd, Sweden
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

The guesthouse was located on a hillside with a beautiful view over Ella gap. Our room was next to the balcony so we almost had it to ourselves. The room was alright but don't expect too much from the bathroom. The guesthouse is located a few minutes walk from the other restaurants and cafés in Ella. But all you need is to sit and enjoy the view while sipping on a cold beer or the excellent papaya juice...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPC494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ry, Denmark
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Personnel very helpful, good food and excellent views - however the male owner (?) / person agreeing rates and receiving payment was only interested in MONEY. Not a good "asset" for the guest house.
Not mosquito net over the 3rd bed

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteenDam48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We are very disappointed in this guesthouse, it is our first big disappointment in 3 weeks here so far. Our room is at the top of the house and has a spectacular view from the terrace. However the room is dirty, no surfaces have been wiped for years, the floor is gritty with dirt and the bathroom is very poor. The shower drains the wrong way and since the floor in the room is so dirty when we walk into the wet bathroom our bare feet make mud pies every where. After two nights I asked for a change of towels (no room cleaning here) and the female whom I assume is the manager, tore the wet ones out of my hand and threw two clean ones at me, never speaking. A tip -- DO NOT get your laundry done here, they throw it on the roof, don't even make an effort to wash the things properly first and give it back worse than you gave it to them. All this for 5000 rupees. There must be better places in Ella!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dabers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Ella is beautiful and this hotel has an outstanding view of the mountains. The room was reasonably clean (cold- not enough bedding) shower wasn't the greatest and toilet ok. not sure if Ella was overpriced...or this guest house, but we payed 4500 Rupees here...where we normally have payed less than half for a guest house like that- though we got stuck and could not find other accomm....all the rest was dampy and dark- least this accomm had window/ lighter room.
Mattress wasn't too bad- comfy and clean though VERY noisy! Everytime one of us rolled over, it woke the other! Bathroom window wouldn't close- which let mozzies and moths in all night. There was also a TERRIBLE toilet smell coming from down stairs/ over the back of our balcony past our room.
Owner/ staff member tried to overcharge us for our room/ bill..and then attempted to keep our change on top of that! There was a younger manager/ worker who appeared to be kind and quite helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harry0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, France
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Very nice view on mountains.
When you arrive in this hotel (the way to go there by car, is dangerous with little rocks on the road), at first it seems nice and comfortable. In reality, not at all : the staff is not nice, not smily. They told us we can have dinner in the hotel until 9pm : we arrived at 8:30 pm and the didn't want... We were not happy at all because we asked them before.
Moreover, the price is expensive and the rooms are not very clean (the bathroom : awful) and not nice inside.
The breakfast was good and with fresh fruits.
It is close from the town, you can go by foot.
There is a place for guides.

(It was my second time in this hotel : in 2008, it was clean, with good prices and a nice staff, i was very disappointed, only the view didn't change).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tongsetsrilanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.2 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
0.3 mi away
Brilliant View Home Stay
0.2 mi away
The View
The View
#27 of 152 in Ella
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ella's Edge Resort
Ella's Edge Resort
#24 of 152 in Ella
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ella Rock House
Ella Rock House
#8 of 152 in Ella
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zion View
Zion View
#12 of 152 in Ella
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ella Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ella Tea Garden

Property: Ella Tea Garden
Address: No. 11 Wellawaya Road, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka (Formerly Tea Garden Holiday Inn)
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Tea Garden Holiday Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing