We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and amazing hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ella
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waterfalls Homestay
Ranked #3 of 152 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and amazing hospitality”
Reviewed May 2, 2010

We stayed here for five nights with our three young children and all five of us agree that it was the best part of the holiday. We chose it because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor and agree wholeheartedly with all reviews. It is notable that no one has given it less than full marks.
The kids found plenty to amuse themselves from playing with the dogs and cat to watching the monkeys and fireflies and swinging in the hammock.
Karen and Martin seem well integrated into the local community and I think that you get a better perspective on local customs. We were there for the Sinhalese and Tamil New Year and got to participate in some of the local traditions. They are a font of knowledge about the local area and Sri Lanka as a whole.
As everyone else has raved about the food, there is little more to add. Definitely the best place to eat. Kamal and Karen are wonderful cooks.
We felt like we were saying goodbye to old friends by the end of our stay and hope to go back someday to visit them again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheplam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    36
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
105
332
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for two nights during our honeymoon and were so happy that we chose this place. Karen and Martin were so welcoming and made our stay special. Kamal (the cook) showed us how to make vegetarian curries whilst I wrote down the recipes - it was like staying with friends we'd known for years!
The food was out of this world - the best we had whole trip. We only ate there one night and really wish that we'd eaten there the first night too as their food was much superior than what we ate back in Ella town. Breakfast was fantastic too - Kamal made us hoppers as I'd never heard of them before (I highly recommend them!).

This is really a great, friendly place to stay and we'd love to return there some day.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meleth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SriLankaMonkeymayhem, owner at Waterfalls Homestay, responded to this review, April 28, 2010
Wow. Thanks heaps guys for your lovely review, it helps us tremendously! we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us....especially considering it was your honeymoon! we enjoyed your stay here with us also. Hope the recipes work! maybe see you again, till next, have a wonderful married life! cheers, Karen, Martin Kamal and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Yes, Waterfalls Homestay is as awesome as all the reviews say it is! We stayed for three nights, and regretted not arriving earlier. Karen is quite the hostess, allowing guests into her home with no hesitation, or awkwardness. We felt VERY welcome - Karen even invited my wife along and let her try on saris with evryone! That's hospitality!
Kamal is an outstanding cook, and every meal was very tasty!
Set in a beautiful location, overlooking the waterfalls, this was the relaxation we were looking for! Being summer, and with Ella seeing little rain, the waterfalls were only a trickle when we arrived. We were pleased to get rain, and then the waterfalls roared! Was like sleeping with the AC on (noise-wise, LOL).
We were very very very happy with our stay at Waterfalls, and will be happy to stay again (and recommend everyone to stay there)!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mustardstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

We booked for one night at Waterfalls Homestay on the strength of the reviews on Tripadvisor and can only say that the superlatives already lavished on it are more than justified.
A stunning, 'hidden' location, wonderful ambience and the warmest of welcomes all contributed to a stay that was short in terms of time, but one that will stay long in the memory.
Our only regret was being locked into an itinerary that didn't allow us to extend our stay, as it was far too brief.
We cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiDeserter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SriLankaMonkeymayhem, owner at Waterfalls Homestay, responded to this review, April 28, 2010
Hi and thank you very much for the wonderful review...it helps us no end! we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here, that is the biggest compliment by far! ps your review doesnt give much away as to who you are....any clues?
cheers and many thanks,
Karen and everyone here at Waterfalls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Waterfalls is one of those places you hesitate to recommend to everyone. It is the type of gem you want to keep to yourself. But since Karen and Martin, the owners are such incredibly nice people I wish them lots o succes in their business.

Martin and Karen have built a beautiful place in the hills just outside Ella. It is their home and they have 3 guestrooms to share. Staying with them is like staying with friends having great conversations, enjoying beautiful food in a paradise like surrounding.

Martin is a colourful character with whom it feels like you have known him for years after a few drinks and a lagte evening. Karen is a talented cook who has a very strong hospitality gene. She is the type of person that calls around to find you a room if you turn up unexpected and she is full.

Waterfalls is one of the cheaper places we stayed in Sri Lanka and definately the nicest. A very homely room with ample space for us and our 4 year old daughter.

This the place we miss now we are back home.

Marcel & Petra

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

I just returned from 3 weeks in Sri Lanka and two nights in The Waterfall Home Stay. It was a highlight of my trip. Karen the owner was the most gracious host. I started my days with a delicious breakfast and spend my days hiking, reading with the most beautiful view of the nearby waterfall, meditating, relaxing, drinking and just enjoying the beautiful quaint town of Ella. This is the best place to stay in Ella and I enjoyed every moment! I also had dinner every night with Karen and her cook Kamal and learned a bit about Sri Lankan cooking.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wurldtruvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

I cannot recommend this place enough. The food is superb - all cooked fresh and tailored to your requirements, the views are breathtaking and you are made to feel at home with some fantastic hospitality. If you're visiting Ella, then this is the first place you should try. There are some fantastic walks nearby and the view from the outside dining areas is breath-taking. The owners are Australian and well-travelled themselves and they certainly understand what travellers want. Stay here and you won't regret it!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newts13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ella hotels
1.3 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
3.7 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#4 of 11 in Ella
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 11 in Ella
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#5 of 11 in Ella
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chamodya Home Stay
Chamodya Home Stay
#1 of 152 in Ella
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfalls Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfalls Homestay

Property: Waterfalls Homestay
Address: Watagodawaththa, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfall Homestay perched on top of a hill, directly in front of a waterfall, surrounded by jungle makes this one of the most stunning places in Ella to stay. Choose from three beautiful rooms, two with 180 degree views and one with french doors opening on to a large veranda. Relax on the sundeck and watch the monkeys playing in their jungle garden while Kamal, one of the best cooks in Sri lanka, prepares your meals for you. Waterfalls is a piece of paradise and only 1.5km from the town of Ella makes it definitely worth venturing of the beaten track for. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waterfalls Homestay Hotel Ella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing